Chevron Left
Zurück zu Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) von Hebräische Universität von Jerusalem

4.9
Sterne
3,307 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top-Bewertungen

AI

13. Juni 2021

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

MM

17. Feb. 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

Filtern nach:

951 - 975 von 1,004 Bewertungen für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

von Ben D

15. Aug. 2020

A thoroughly enriching and illuminating tour of the fundamentals of computation. After completing this course I am now able to better understand how computers function which provides a tangible benefit when writing software.

von Kit B

21. Nov. 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun and I'm looking forward to part 2.

It can be a little tough to simply write HDL though and without the Nand Game (nandgame.com) I would have found this much more difficult.

von Manogna

6. Apr. 2017

The course was very informative and interesting , I had a tough time doing the assignments but it was worth learning.Definitely a interesting insight into the building blocks of a computer.

von jaume

15. Jan. 2022

It's such a cool way to learn the subject! Although the lectures and the teachers were great, some assignments were difficult, even burdensome. Anyways, I really recommend this course.

von Aniswar S K

19. Mai 2019

Great course to know about the fundamentals about the hardware of the computer is built. Though most of it is abstracted out, you still get a better picture than just doing programming

von Sanjeev S

17. Aug. 2016

one of the best courses one can take to understand how computers are build from ground up

The course is organized in such a way such that its very easy to understand and relate

von Edwin H

20. Nov. 2016

Fun course to take. Makes you realize how much we depend on abstraction in our world. A few notes on documentation (your own code) and version-control would complete it...

von Jonathan G

27. Mai 2021

Very informative book, although does not seem to go into great depth. The projects were not super difficult either. A great way to start learning how computers work.

von ECS038_ A

1. Juli 2022

This course has touched all the aspects of creating a computer from digital logic to a game emulator. Thanks to the instructor for bringing such course

von Sergio J G O

19. Apr. 2021

Muy interesante, me gustó mucho. Sin embargo, siento que en las tareas más difíciles debería haber otro tipo de apoyo. Pero en general, excelente curso.

von PLN R

15. Feb. 2019

It is an amazing course for people at any level!! The instructors go right from basics, until the high level stuff. Definitely recommend the course!

von R.L C

13. Feb. 2017

participation by the professors in the discussion forums , would in my opinion get this 5 star rating, overall a very innovative & fun course

von Rashed A

1. Aug. 2022

Interesting course, it's cover the base of computer architectures and help me understand whats going under the hood. Totally recommend it

von Wyler Z

24. Sep. 2017

Good, but not very challenging. If you wanted to learn you could but if you were just doing it for the grade you could skate by.

von Ayaz A

9. Feb. 2022

So much infromative interesting and knowledgeable course also the instructor is so nice and the way of teaching is always good.

von Luís F A M

29. Nov. 2020

I wish the memory part was a little bit deeper and that we developped the registers from the nand chip as well

von Edniz L d S

11. Okt. 2020

Falta os textos dos vídeos em português do Brasil.

The texts of the videos in Brazilian Portuguese are missing.

von Ehud K

2. Feb. 2017

very interesting, constructed well and in escalating difficulty level.

cons: hard to debug using the emulators

von Fabrice B M

31. Mai 2017

I loved how you guys explain things and make them look very simple...that is awesome! Keep up the great work

von Lee G

8. Sep. 2017

Good course, very challenging. I find the resources to be a little bit outdated in their presentation.

von Axel B

27. Juli 2020

Un très bon cours, même pour quelqu'un de familier avec la logique et l'électronique numérique

von Prudhvi V R M

7. Mai 2021

A Great course, which gives you the best way of introduction to building a computer.

von Hebert B

18. Mai 2020

It will be free to send homework! in some parts of the course i can't send anywork

von Tony Z

30. Juli 2018

The course is well-organized. Could be too elementary for advanced participants.

von Pablo J R Y

29. Aug. 2020

Es un buen curso para iniciar el entendimiento de como funciona un computador.