Chevron Left
Zurück zu Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) von Hebräische Universität von Jerusalem

4.9
Sterne
2,280 Bewertungen
696 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

RQ

Feb 15, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. I feel much more knowledgable about the lower-level workings of computers now. I hope at some point Coursera offers the second part of the course.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 686 Bewertungen für Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

von Nikita S

Mar 08, 2018

That was a very good course which helped a lot to understand how does exactly computer insides are working. Great starting point for any beginner.

von SATYA K R

May 11, 2020

A Very useful and inciting course based on one of the great inventions by man. Got my curiosity related to computers satisified with this course.

von David L

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course, I really enjoyed it, I recommend to all who wish to understand better about the computational architecture from its foundation.

von Yao-Ting L

Apr 23, 2016

I think this is one of the BEST class on coursera.

Instructors use a very efficient and easy way to teach the essence of computer architecture.

von Ian W

Apr 21, 2019

Wow what an amazing course, very good lectures, very good curriculum. One of the best courses I've taken even including my 5 years at college.

von w w

Jul 08, 2020

it is an execllent course, full of joy.

and I recommed the author to develop a more deep courses cover a modern cpu design and a unix like os

von David G C

May 13, 2020

Me hizo cambiar la manera de ver la enseñanza.

Muchas Gracias gracias a los profesores Shimon y Noam, así como su equipo de colaboradores.

von Liu X

Nov 01, 2019

This is the best basic computer lessons I have ever entered. When I finished building a hack computer, I felt proud and exited. Thank you!

von Itai S

May 20, 2018

As a seasoned programmer I took the course with my 16 years old son and we both got a deep low-level knowledge and an amazing experience.

von Antoine N

Oct 08, 2016

It was a great experience building a computer hardware from first principles. I am wondering if I can build this architecture on an FPGA@

von Mathias D

May 23, 2020

I had a great time and some sleepless nights in this course. I was able to refresh old knowledge and gain a lot of new detail knowledge.

von Dean P

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot. from how a computer is built to actually making one myself. i hope i can learn more in the second course in the series.

von Eden E

May 18, 2016

This is a concise overview of computer science. If you could only take one course in this whole field. This would be the course to take.

von Matthew G

Oct 23, 2016

Great course to understand how the computer "black box" works at a fundamental level. Looking forward to the 2nd half of this course!

von Simon J

May 24, 2020

The course is excellent. Well structured, well paced. It taught someone who has been in the industry for many years some new tricks.

von Wilson R d A

Nov 04, 2016

Amazing course, with the perfect ratio between depth and abstraction. For me the computer is no longer a magic box that does tricks.

von Henrique S C

Sep 03, 2016

Fantastic course. I recommend it to anyone who not only want to know how a computer works, but want to build one out of transistors.

von knig

Jan 26, 2019

Awesome well explained course with super cool assignments! <3 it and will take the second part of the course as soon as I have time

von Юрий

May 18, 2017

This course is magnificent! Got tons of fun and knowledge! It hard and challenging. I'll recommend this course to all, who learn CS

von Jani P

Feb 26, 2020

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken. The course will challenge you but you will at the same time learn so much!

von Mark

Jul 16, 2017

A very well put together course with excellent course materials. Thank you Noam, Shimon, and the team -- I learnt loads from this.

von Serjey G I

Oct 18, 2016

Fantastic course! Everything you've ever wanted to know about the computer is taught here! Cannot wait to start the second part!!!

von Flermflorm

Jun 15, 2020

Seeing what's going on under the hood makes life so much easier! This was an absolute godsend, thank you for putting it together.

von Michael A M

Mar 21, 2020

I can't describe how great this course was. For anyone wanting to learn how your computer actually works. This course is perfect.

von Nenad S

Jun 09, 2019

I loved this course, thanks to the instructors who paid great attention to details and made sure that every question is answered!