Chevron Left
Zurück zu C++ For C Programmers, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für C++ For C Programmers, Part A von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.4
Sterne
707 Bewertungen
168 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for experienced C programmers who want to program in C++. The examples and exercises require a basic understanding of algorithms and object-oriented software....

Top-Bewertungen

RH

Oct 17, 2016

Just right for programmers seeking to update their skills to the new V11 C++. I recommend getting the book by the author that helps along with a text or Coursera course on Algorithms.

DB

Jan 05, 2020

A great course for beginners to learn C++ programming. Excellent presentation of the educational material by Ira Pohl. I highly recommend this course for everyone to learn C++.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 167 Bewertungen für C++ For C Programmers, Part A

von Apoorv R

Jun 24, 2018

Good introductory course to C++ basics.

von Sahil k s

Jan 22, 2020

It was a great learning experience.

von Keerti R k

Jul 23, 2018

good and nice for programmers

von Monarth S

Nov 04, 2016

Very Nice Course...

von Sourabh S

Apr 28, 2019

can be better

von SAPTARSHI D

Jul 07, 2019

Good course.

von Nayan k

Aug 18, 2018

nice course

von Sayan M

Jul 14, 2018

Excellent

von Ramani k

Jul 18, 2018

good

von Richard D

Jul 10, 2017

The course provides good information, but I would not say it was the best-designed. The lectures were informative and the programming assignments were challenging, but I wouldn't say the really related to each other as much as I'd like. I would think that the important thing for C programmers moving to C++ would be to learn the exact syntax for how things are done in C++. At times this was lacking. The flip side was I didn't feel that the extended explanations of basic CS algorithms such as Minimum Spanning Tree and Shortest Path was necessary. I knew those algorithms earlier.

But my biggest complaint was the basic inattention. I felt like the course was on auto pilot. At one point a submission of mine was returned. I asked the forum for some kind of assistance or explanation from a mentor and no reply was given. I re-did the assignment and it was accepted but there was still little comment. And at the end of the course, my final assignment was only checked by two graders instead of three.

Was any human actually supervising things? I saw no evidence. Discouraging.

On the whole the least impressive of the four courses I've taken so far using Coursera. Which is a shame b/c it's arguably the most important to me.

von Julien

May 04, 2016

The course content is good. But it needs some polishing...

Major comment:

The assignment submission/review process should be improved. Grading system is not clearly defined at the time of submission. Some grading question are inherently subjective "Is the code at least somewhat efficient?". But even for inherently objective questions "Is the code correct?" (as does it give the correct answer" the staff does not provide the correct answer... I think the staff should create some automated review for what is objective: does the code compile? does it yield the correct answer? is it efficient enough? (Just like many other courses on Coursera) And only when it passes the automatic review, use peer grading for coding style. Finally there a lot of confusion with the deadlines.

Minor comments:

Lucky Coursera has an option to play twice faster! Not that the content is too easy, but the talking ... pace ... is ... hum... very ... ... slow. Also how come for a programming course the slides with code are so poorly formated???

von Nayef C

Dec 20, 2016

Do this course for the assignments and to have something that keeps you on schedule. But be prepared to do your own research on topics.

The professor goes off on pointless tangents forever. C is also supposed to be a prerequisite but then he ends also ends up explaining basic C (prefixing his explanation with you should know this). He then goes into these very specific, typical academic-style examples that he spends time talking about them (again pointless). And then very little time is left to explain the actual new C++ stuff, and he explains it assuming you kind-of know what he's talking about. So you'll have to stop the video and look up the topic online.

von Bingen E

Jan 13, 2017

It accomplishes the main goal: help with the leap from C to C++, but:

- It's damn slow. I had to use the 1.5x or 2x speed all the time, and I'm not native English.- The format of the slides is really ugly (e.g., those bullet points in the code)- No lecture notes are provided- The references are to his (expensive) books instead- No source code of examples is provided either- Graph theory is interesting, but out of scope. Waste of time for those who already know it are not interested in and just want to learn C++. It would be better to provide references for optional reading or reviewing.

von Michal K

Nov 29, 2019

Do not need C understanding to finish that course, Professor tries basically to scare everyone, but you can do that course with no programming background (you WILL struggle a bit) and easily if you have any programming background. Not much C++ learning, mostly Algos. HUGE amounts of mistakes, there is no thorough errata, you have to guess what the hell is happening and what is correct.

von harry l

Aug 14, 2019

i must admit that i thought i would gain some more basic knowledge on c++

some namespace discussions , oop , special pointers etc.

the exercises were hard but... no real grasp of the c++ advantages.

i don't think i'll enroll to part B at this moment but im sure am encouraged to keep on learning this language also because of this course, and that's the reason for the third star i gave.

von Deleted A

Mar 07, 2018

This was more of a "Learn Dijkstra's Algorithm using C++" rather than a "Learn C++" class. I felt like the lectures were more focused on algorithms (Dijkstra's, graph theory, etc) rather than learning about the features available in C++ and when to use them. Additionally, the homeworks were pretty lopsided, with some weeks being very lightweight and others being very intensive.

von Juanhao Z

Apr 10, 2017

I thought at first according to the title of this course, that it should be an intro for c programmers. But it is more like a brush-up for already c++ programmers. Be ready to take some other course or reading parallel. Otherwise the homeworks are absolutely interesting and suitable for new-comer. It would be better if more videos with more details could be made.

von Ahmed E

Feb 01, 2020

the course lacks concentration on c++ as it most of the time considerate on graph algorithms instead of c++ features and STL I was hoping to finddd more details about C++ 11 and 14 features with examples and assignments

von Derick R

Aug 30, 2017

Too much focus on implementing Graph algorithms and too little about actually learning C++. The homework assignments time allocation (2 * 2 hours) is by far not enough to be able to complete the assignments.

von Guilherme M F

Oct 19, 2016

The course presents the topics in a non-linear manner. It should be called "Learning graphs with C++"

von Tanushree v

Jul 20, 2018

good course but trainer doesnt go in deep

von YC X

Jun 10, 2019

Not that detail.

von Tuo L

Oct 22, 2017

I gave this course two star for taking my responsibility. The course is bad designed. The homework has less clue and you may only find 50% or less related knowledge from the lectures. The final quiz is ridiculous (too many questions about number calculation and I cannot believe there are questions like what did D. Ritchie B. Stroustrup E. Dijkstra L. Euler do or invent?!!!). It seems that the professor or his assistant did not put too much effort into providing this course. Though I learned something from it and it pushed me to learn several c++ skills, in a google searching way.

von Parinay

Apr 05, 2016

- Assumptions about the student are not clear, before starting the course.

Instructor examples are not practical in all contexts.

Jump to dijkstra in very second week, without clarity on major C++ concepts and examples, is too much an expectation from the student switching from C to C++ for the first time.

Confusion with deadline for assignments.

too many lectures during later week courses, as if the effort is to crunch everything in that week and complete the course.

If its spaced properly with examples and problems over few more weeks, it would help.

von Dimitris K

Jan 14, 2019

The video sessions are nice and very informative. However, the examples in the videos are a "toy" compared to the assignment of implementing a Monte Carlo simulation for Dijkstra's algo. The directions in the description of the assignment are very poorly written and the specs are blurry and difficult to clarify by yourself. The MST assignment is much easier, but still the directions are not well prepared.