Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus and Optimization for Machine Learning

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus and Optimization for Machine Learning von National Research University Higher School of Economics

3.8
Sterne
65 Bewertungen
17 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Hi! Our course aims to provide necessary background in Calculus sufficient for up-following Data Science courses. Course starts with a basic introduction to concepts concerning functional mappings. Later students are assumed to study limits (in case of sequences, single- and multivariate functions), differentiability (once again starting from single variable up to multiple cases), integration, thus sequentially building up a base for the basic optimisation. To provide an understanding of the practical skills set being taught, the course introduces the final programming project considering the usage of optimisation routine in machine learning. Additional materials provided during the course include interactive plots in GeoGebra environment used during lectures, bonus reading materials with more general methods and more complicated basis for discussed themes....

Top-Bewertungen

Filtern nach:

1 - 17 von 17 Bewertungen für Calculus and Optimization for Machine Learning

von Roger S

Feb 16, 2020

I am sorry to point this out but this is course is my most frustrating Coursera expierience until now. The content is quite high level and requires a quite solid mathematical background. Unfortunately the lecturer's language and presentation capabilities are so poor that I found it really hard and sometimes impossible to follow the content.

von Ronald S

Jun 16, 2020

This course is a great example, why people fail in math.

The teacher babbles stuff, which may sound simple for someone, who has studied the language of math extensively - yet he is talking to an audience, which didn't do.

The necessary vocabularies he introduces quickly in the "it's trivial" manner, which gave math professors already a bad reputation in university.

That combined with a strong accent and an uneasy way of talking, creates a very unpleasant experience.

I cannot even tell, if the material is difficult - I only can tell, that the teacher does a REALLY bad job teaching it.

von Francesco R

Feb 22, 2020

Atrocious experience with the answers parser in the mandatory quizzes.

von k v r

Apr 12, 2020

very poor presentation

von Richard A

Jun 02, 2020

I found out the material is good but unfortunately the instructor often gives really bad explanation which bring me to somewhat lost during the course. But this course covers essential calculus that people need

von Vasily K

Jun 16, 2020

Sometimes it's hard to understand lecturer due to poor English (a lot of "Basically..." or "That's kind of nice.." is really annoying).

von Yadhukrishnan

May 30, 2020

its very hard to follow his lectures as well as his writeups and also its very difficult to understand his way of teaching and language.

von Noel L

Apr 11, 2020

Informative but approach employed to teach material was somewhat abstract.

von Adam B

Jun 03, 2020

Professor is almost inarticulate and the initial class reeks of hucksterism.

von wonseok k

Mar 23, 2020

good course and lecturer.

it is nightmarish that there are no more his courses currently.I'll be waiting for his new courses.

good contents.

but somewhat challenging(especially for last programming assignment)

good peers(hints from forum is not a direct answer but very useful)

von Cristian B

May 11, 2020

A really good course for refreshing basic math and understanding the reason why Gradient Descent is used

von Pascal P

Feb 24, 2020

Good introduction, effective as a refresher.

von Amir

Jun 18, 2020

The system does not take correct answers due to not being written in a certain way, which confuses and makes that we spent a lot of time repeating the exams. The final project requires some knowledge of python and the guide is a bit confusing, so you need to support yourself from the forum.

von Enrique G F

May 04, 2020

Many of the subjects were not presented as clear as some of the subjects, in other courses for the same specialization

von Carlos M V R

Jul 05, 2020

Explanations of the topics are not always clear, but sometimes they are. I think the teacher could do it better in respect to the explanations of the topics. This topic is important to understand optimization for data science and it would be nice to get more help in forums because most of the time questions take a lot to be answered. Last project was interesting because of the experiment.

von ANSHIKA M

Jun 25, 2020

The concepts are not explained clearly. The instructors English is too bad and its too hard to understand.

its very frustrating.

von Nicat Q E

May 04, 2020

çox pis