Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,834 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 1,301 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Sarah Y

4. Okt. 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.

von Shafi A T

29. Aug. 2019

It is a very informative and fundamental course for beginners aspire for cancer biology.Instructors are pretty good and explain the topic very well.Highly recommended

von Anjana v

1. Apr. 2020

it was really a helpful class for me as a biotech student and i would like to have more classes in other areas.it help me to learn much more deep into cancer biology

von Jamyang P

19. Aug. 2019

The entire lecture and construct of the syllabus was very simple and informative. I recommend others to kindly look up to this course and have a informative session.

von Erin S

7. Juni 2020

Absolutely worth it - boosts my CV yet fulfils my desire to know more about this topic! It helped me with learning content for my next year's modules in university!

von Patricia R

25. Dez. 2021

I can believe how much a learn about Cancer, I understand now not only about cancer also specifically what areas i am interested. Thank you so much, great course!

von Percy C M A

14. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed with this course. It was a tremendous knowledge I´ve learned. Thank you for their times. It was very helpfull to me to understand what is cancer.

von Ruchi G

22. Mai 2020

I have learned many things on the topic of cancer and I think this course gave me more knowledge about cancer and it's risk factor and prevention and treatment...

von NAVYA B S 4

14. Juli 2020

Really loved the entire course. It makes even a person who doesn't have any knowledge about the subject understand the concepts very well. Excellent explanation.

von Bharti D

26. Juni 2020

Very interesting course! Lecturers explained all the course materials very well and made it very engaging through examples and illustrations. Highly recommended!

von Bishnu B

6. Mai 2020

It's great detail of knowing even for out of profession person. Learnt much about cancer, how it thrives and risk it tenders.

I am grateful for this opportunity.

von sachin m

30. Juni 2017

Very Impressed by the course content and the way the course was handled by the course instructors. Would like to take courses offered by Johns Hopkins in future.

von Omar S

30. Dez. 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!

von dr. a

28. Okt. 2020

Thank you very much for the important and useful information. And please send me the scientific content, book or pdf, so that I can not refer to it at any time

von Mahmoud E

20. Apr. 2020

This course took me from zero knowledge about cancer to a broad understanding of this disease, its causes, treatment, and screening methods. Highly recommended!

von Monica M

18. Mai 2017

Well put together! Great variety in experts leading the course. Amount and level of information shared was just right. I think everyone should take this course!

von Shruti S

11. Feb. 2017

Thank you so much for providing such a interesting course, especially thanks for financial support, I will be always there for courser, cant forget the great he

von Ogunparisa E

22. Sep. 2021

This course as really explained to the simplicity about introduction of cancer which has widening my knowledge about the cause of cancer and it will be treated

von Xie R

11. Juli 2021

Thanks so much ,it's really hopeful to achieve my career. All professors taught better than my professor in school.thanks for giving me this opportunity to me.

von CICERO S L F

5. Aug. 2020

Uma ótima oportunida com professores renomados e que sabem ministrar o conteúdo em conjunto com as aulas... Uma nova forma de d se aprender, excelente escolha!

von Lillian L

4. Dez. 2017

Very good course. Although I didn't purchase the certificate, I still learned a lot. I would recommend it to anyone interested in cancer and how it is treated.

von Heather H

12. Mai 2021

This was a wonderful course. The lecturers were engaging and the content was so interesting. I would now like to do some more pre-med courses now. Thankyou.

von Fiona M C

24. März 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. Definitely felt I was using my brain again and would love to go into the cancer research field after doing this course.

von Bo K J

21. Feb. 2021

Professor Ken Pienta and his team really provide me inspiration and they are so talented in teaching as I in high school could fully understand the lectures!

von SWAROOP G M

19. Aug. 2020

The course was very informative and best for those who want to know the basic understanding of cancer, its classification, imaging types and treatment types.