Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,499 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 1,256 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Jinia R

31. Mai 2020

Thank you so much all the doctors. This course has been very beneficial for me and also encouraged me to look into this field more deeply.

von Giovanna O L

29. Juli 2020

Very excellent course!! I loved and appreciated it so much! Congratulations for making and disponibilizing this content around the world!

von Jelizaveta T

14. Jan. 2021

Thank you! It was my favorite course. The information was provided in the most interesting and understandable way. Everything was clear.

von Aashley K N M

23. Aug. 2020

I enjoyed this course . It will serve as a good foundation as i tackle my pathology unit , particularly the topic of cancer. thank you !

von Lucy P

3. März 2018

Very informative on the basics of cancer biology and treatment. If you already know about cell biology most of this course will be easy.

von María A Q S

24. Feb. 2021

I loved this course, It's fantastic the form that the teachers explain the Cancer. It's important to my personal and professional life.

von Pau G R

21. Feb. 2020

Me ha parecido muy didáctico y muy útil para comprender mejor lo que es el cáncer, la metástasis y como podemos tratar esta enfermedad.

von Joanna K

6. Feb. 2017

Great explanation of basics of cancer biology. It helped me a lot in understanding of the process of metastasis and cancer development.

von Alvina L

27. Aug. 2017

Informative, in-depth and engaging. I enjoyed the use of a visual presentation as it allowed me to process the new information easily.

von Lalita K

6. Juli 2017

I enjoyed the course. I wish it had been more in-depth in certain areas but I understand that there are extensions to various topics.

von samiksha g

19. Mai 2022

This course has provided me with the foundation that I needed and lacked in order to pursue my path in the field of cancer research.

von Antonius B

16. Juli 2017

Very very interesting and well explained. I can recommend this course to everybody who wants to get an easy introduction to oncology!

von Salasiah B A

18. Juni 2020

Thank you Coursera & to all the lecturers involved. Very informative and I definitely will appreciate my certificate of this course.

von Amritha M V

27. Feb. 2019

Loved it! I learned a lot more regarding this field and it has totally encouraged me to continue with my passion of cancer research.

von Aliki S

31. Jan. 2021

Very interesting course, helped me understand more about the biology of cancer and the 7 Hallmarks of Cancer. Thank you Coursera !!

von sumer s

19. Juni 2020

this course is very helpful to understand the depth and basic knowledge about lethal cancer disease.

thank you too much to all team.

von Teton A

20. Okt. 2019

Truly academic, very suitable for newcomers to oncology research. Provide necessary background knowledge for the field of research.

von 이소희

10. Okt. 2019

The course was very nice and I get information about the cancer very easily. I really recommend this course to someone who wants to

von Lakshmi V

12. März 2020

This course was truly amazing and i enjoyed learning every minute of it. The concepts were very intriguing and beautifully taught.

von Priyanka R

7. Feb. 2019

Being a medical graduate I can say that the topic was explained in a very effective manner, with an organized flow of information.

von Vishnu V N

1. Sep. 2020

The course was informative and the lecturers are knowedgable too. After completing this course I have learned a lot about cancer.

von Renugadevi K

4. Mai 2020

it was really interesting to listen to your videos. ur videos are easy to understand for the beginners and with much information

von MUNAGALA H

12. Sep. 2020

its very informative and useful to all students who are interested in cancer i like cery much thanking for offering this course

von Deleted A

20. Aug. 2017

I especially enjoyed learning about the treatment of cancer (week 6) and the statistics related to cancer occurrence and death.

von Bhattar S A

30. Mai 2020

A great course to have a complete knowledge about the various aspects of cancer. happy to be a part of gaining good knowledge.