Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,834 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 1,301 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Devananda D

2. Apr. 2020

Its really useful and helpful.. It increased my basic knowledge and gave a vast idea at higher level on the topic..

von Sampreet R

18. Juni 2019

Excellent Introduction to Cancer Biology. The language and teaching style is so easy to follow. Excellent material.

von Marcelo

10. Juni 2018

Muy buen curso, muy nutrido. Los profesores explicaron todo de manera muy profunda. Lo volvería a hacer si pudiera.

von KAVIIN A

5. Juni 2020

This course module of oncology is really well planned and very easy to learn for the students. Thanku coursera..!!

von OJASWI B

2. Juli 2021

An excellent Course! to get an Idea of different types of cancer, the properties that define them and treatments.

von Laura B S

29. Sep. 2020

Excelente curso, una herramienta muy importante para intervenir en diferentes procesos a las personas con cancer.

von Ravisha G

7. Juni 2020

A course highly recommended to individuals who have a keen interest in exploring the basics about cancer biology,

von Ornela B

24. Jan. 2018

The materials, the structure and the pace of the program was excellent. A great introduction course about cancer.

von Febiana R D

10. Jan. 2018

I'm biologist but I never scrutinize the cancer things. This course make me understand basic knowledge of cancer.

von Diya S

19. Okt. 2021

Great course. Lots of tricky terms if you are not from the medical background but its worth learning everything.

von Niraj K

4. Sep. 2020

A great course for beginners who are interested in pursuing their carrier in cancer research and cancer biology.

von Dehigahawattage S W

8. Aug. 2020

A great cource! The flow of the cource and the explanations were superb. I loved it a lot. Thank you very much !

von Arnob M

24. Mai 2020

All the chapters of this course is good but the imaging chapter is not good and the tutor can not teach us well.

von Piyush S

29. Aug. 2018

This course is very good for beginners and generating interest in this field. Would love to recommend to others.

von Menaka R

18. Juli 2020

Lecturer explain everything as detaily I am enjoying throughtout the course and learn more than what I expected

von ANU S . B

16. Juni 2020

Really it was very helpful to gain lots of knowledge to start up my Carrier in this field. Thank you very much.

von Thalia D P d V

13. Mai 2020

Curso perfeito, de todos os cursos que já fiz foi o que melhor me explicou, aprendi muito a respeito do câncer!

von OLUWAJIMI E D

11. Mai 2020

Very elaborate, straight to the point. I strongly recommend it to whosoever want to learn about cancer biology.

von Vincent E A

9. Juli 2017

Excellent course, It will be very hard for them to outdo themselves on another course. Honestly, wonderful job.

von María F D L V

17. Juni 2020

Really interesting, I'm a medical student and all this information is actual and relevant. I loved the course.

von MANOJ K M

16. Juni 2020

It was a very helping course to understand all basics of cancers, very well explained, content is very useful.

von Thenmozhi

23. Juli 2020

Wonderful experience learning materials and quizzes were nice. Enjoyed and learned a lot about cancer staging

von Aishwarya.L

12. Juli 2020

Well I have learned many things regarding cancer and different types of cancer and how should we treat cancer

von Sudhamani R

1. Juni 2020

The course was very interesting and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed it. All the instructors were amazing !!!

von patrícia d s

8. Sep. 2021

Curso maravilhoso com uma didática exemplar , parabéns para todos os envolvidos na realização desse curso.