Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,496 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

1126 - 1150 von 1,256 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Amy C

13. Apr. 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

von Jose A d A R

8. Jan. 2021

Content is tailored to the general audience but a some lectures are spoken at a very high pace, which I though made it a bit difficult to catch all the information.

von Roberto L D

8. Apr. 2017

It was a great course form my favorite university, thanks very much for giving us this types of courses, I would like to be tested as a free course, but I coudn't

von Dr. A B

22. Okt. 2019

This is a great course for those interested in gaining more basic clarity on this topic. I would recommend it to all with a need for more information on Cancer.

von Helen L

31. Juli 2017

If there is a more detail description about that different kind of the six most common cancers that would be great. The 10 hallmarks of cancers are very useful.

von stephanie a

18. Juni 2020

very good and insightful course.it has helped me a lot to gain understanding of basics in cancer biology even though i am an undergraduate biochemistry student.

von Matthew B

13. Juli 2020

The information in this course is great. I only wish the assessments were more comprehensive and challenging to test your true understanding of the material.

von Ranim A Z

13. Mai 2020

screening and treatment parts were hard for me because I'm not a specialist, yet the course is a perfect introduction for non-specialized interested people

von James R

16. Nov. 2020

This course is a great introduction to the disease of cancer. An update to this course would be wonderful as it was completed in 2016. Very interesting.

von Sudarson B

17. Nov. 2019

It is a basic course to get you interested in the field of cancer biology. Suitable for undergrads and above. The course delivered on what they promised.

von Alexander J S

14. Sep. 2019

I did a module, just like this during my undergraduate days. Whilst I found it quite basic and just a refresher, the content is well presented and clear.

von Khin S O

23. Nov. 2016

This is very interesting course of basic of cancelling pathway and the biology of cancer that can fundamental to the study of research of cancer. Thanks.

von Humera S

23. Juni 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

von Ummi C

16. Aug. 2016

The class was clear and concise. I was hoping to get more challenge and in depth explanation but it is indeed an introductory class.

von Aditya A D

2. Apr. 2020

Tougher assignments and a final exam consisting of dummy experimental data to test the knowledge of the students would be welcome!

von Deleted A

9. Juli 2017

Its a good course that outlines the basics of cancer biology. Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding cancer.

von Syed S A

23. Aug. 2020

Should have two separate modules. from Week 5.

One for MBBS students and technologists. One for Higher Academicians

von Dr. S C

16. März 2022

Excellent. All the speakers have very nicely elobarated concept of cancer biology. It was a very good experience

von Kazi T

2. Feb. 2019

Some content could be a little more informative and rigorous. "Intro" essentially meant seeing the surface only.

von Michael L

27. Juli 2017

It's a great introduction course for cancers. Both contents and quiz are bit too easy and lack of challenges.

von 梁金大一

3. Sep. 2016

I mean, I am really fond of Biology and the Biotechnology, I think I will really appreciate this opportunity.

von Gopal B

31. Mai 2020

The course was very helpful and I gained a good source of knowledge from the best teachers around the globe.

von Renata Z D

1. Mai 2017

El curso es muy educativo sin embargo me hubiera parecido importante profundizar un poco más en cada tema.

von Neal B

2. Aug. 2020

This course helped me expand my knowledge and understanding of cancer. The course is good for beginners

von Wenxin W

6. Sep. 2018

may not just simply read the powerpoint. I wish more details and emerging researches to be taught.