Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,499 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

1201 - 1225 von 1,256 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von ZIHAN X

27. Apr. 2019

Repetition can be reduced.

von M F

7. Mai 2016

Clear and enjoyable course

von kevin j

1. Sep. 2017

very useful and informing

von ARSH B

21. Apr. 2020

very informative course

von Prithika.S

25. Aug. 2020

The lectures was good

von Ziad A

9. Apr. 2020

very exciting course

von Emome T

29. Sep. 2020

Arigato gozaimasu

von SALEEKHA P K T

22. Juni 2020

An awesome course

von monika b

20. Mai 2017

excellent , good

von Haripriya V

13. Juni 2020

good experience

von Marian M

31. Aug. 2020

great course

von Xufan G

25. Nov. 2021

写下您的评论(可选)​

von vaibhav j

22. Juli 2020

good course

von Ahmed A R T

8. Juli 2017

good course

von Haowen T

23. Aug. 2017

very good

von Mawuli A

9. März 2022

5sta

von K U S

20. Nov. 2020

Good

von Alagammai s

8. Aug. 2020

Good

von Patrina L

10. Juni 2016

I found this course useful and appropriate in the material offered and the assessed questions as an introduction and an update in cancer biology for CPD purposes. It is rather disappointing that the final grade achieved is not printed on the certificate. For A$65 to join the course and not have the full information such as the hours involved and the final grade achieved makes it very disappointing not to reflect the effort I put in as well as tricky to include this course as part of a CPD program.

von Gerald V

22. Mai 2016

I wish that the classifications of the major cancer groups were more descriptive. concerning the treatment for different types of lung cancer for example. Nothing is mentioned about childhood cancers or the area of lymphomas. I realize that this is an overview of cancer but cancer cell biology and current treatment practices based on immunologic findings were not given the coverage they deserve.

von Monica S

3. Sep. 2020

The course has seemed very interesting. It is well structured in my opinion and I want to thank the laboratory collaborators for their dedication and commitment, but ... it is a shame that the questions I asked in the forum are lost in limbo (no one ever answered my requests): If you have No one will solve any doubt for you. Anyway, thanks for the opportunity.

von John M

18. Aug. 2020

Very inconsistent level of commitment. Some sections were very simple, then the fifth section was just a long list of drugs for different cancer types, without any explanation as to why they work for these different types. Not a rich learning experience.

von רוחמה ל

14. Juni 2022

Thanks for the course I learnt a lot and I hope this will help me with doing natural language processing of medical documents connected to cancer. In some cases diving into small details like specific drugs is not helpfull for an introdution course.

von Daniel N

2. Sep. 2016

Very good introduction. light-weight explanations.

Better animations and videos could enhanced the learning process.

questions are too easy.

Needs more complex tasks to integrates the different sections together.

von Lukas P

16. Apr. 2016

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.