Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,828 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH

17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

15. Okt. 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 1,300 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von Abhijit P

27. Apr. 2018

Extremely simplified explanation such that a non-bio background Computer Science Engineer can even understand the causes. (By the way I am learning to apply AI to cancer detection)

von Mohammadreza G S

15. Juli 2022

This course was so fantastic for me. As I was expecting, my knowledge about cancer, my favorite field of study, is now at a higher level. Special thanks to Dr.Pienta and his team.

von Caroline S d A

8. Juni 2020

I learned a lot in this course, it was better than I expected. It will help me in my study area and I hope I can improve my skills at university with these knowledge I've earned.

von Aishik S

28. Juli 2020

In this course I learned many things about cancer like cancer treatment and prevention process like therapies and chemical agent, surgery and clinical trials and Many more thing

von Abdullah A S

28. Sep. 2019

Very informative, absolutely loved it. Strongly Recommended to anyone interested in Biochemistry, Cancer research or to anyone looking to learn more about this particular field.

von Kanhi R V

27. Okt. 2022

the course was very important to me.i increased my knowledge about cancer,it is very easy to understand. i heartly thanks to all the team and coursera. thanks and love you all

von EDEN J A

14. Nov. 2020

I was able to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in identifying common cancers, their diagnosis, progression and treatment. This course is very relevant and helpful to me.

von Luiz A R C

1. Aug. 2020

Excellent course, clear and complete lectures, accessible language, actual and scientific information based on robust evidences, connected to practice. Completely recommend!!!

von Nivedha M S

27. Juni 2020

The course was amazing. l got to learn and appreciate the different types of cancer and the various concepts associated with it. It was a very satisfying experience. Thank you

von Abykhair M

17. Aug. 2020

It is a very useful course for beginner. It can act as a stepping-stone for someone who wants to start learning about cancer or pursuing a profession in cancer-related fields

von Rao Z K

11. Jan. 2023

It was an amazing experience with the great researchers at the Johns Hopkins University. Thank you Coursera for providing such an outstanding platform for the curious minds.

von Aryesh A

8. Jan. 2020

A very good course to understand cancer and what are the possibilities in future to fight against it.I enjoyed this course very much.Thank you for letting me do this course.

von Usama A K

1. Juni 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

von Augustine U A

21. Aug. 2022

Very instructive and engaging content.

I would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in histopathology, cancer biology, molecular biology and precision oncology.

von ALEJANDRO E F O

3. Aug. 2020

I liked this course because give the basic principles to understand the biology of cancer, I like the points of view of researchers, doctors and nurses, it helped me a lot.

von Lena N

22. Jan. 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

von Nafisa N I

18. Mai 2020

What an amazing story-teller the course-creators are! I have learned and enjoyed a lot. Highly Recommended for anyone who wants to further their career in Cancer Research.

von Pierre G

21. März 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

von Angela V M S M

5. März 2021

Loved it, really easy to understand everything and the teachers were really nice and explained everything very well. I'm happy I took this course, I really learned a lot

von Dmitri V

17. Nov. 2020

Easy to follow, maximally informative and professional. All lectures connected to each other finding the balance between simplicity and specificity. Thank you very much.

von James M

21. Feb. 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

von Vedanti R K

15. Dez. 2021

Thank you so much for this valuable learning experience. I am so grateful to Coursera and Professors of John Hopkins University, this has been such a wonderful journey.

von 文迪 黄

7. Apr. 2021

Very informative lecture. From my personal perspective as a high school student it is a well-designed and a little challenging course. I enjoy this learning experience.

von Ramana M S

25. Jan. 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues

von Sarah Y

4. Okt. 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.