Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
Sterne
6,208 Bewertungen
1,221 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top-Bewertungen

AH
17. März 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI
13. Jan. 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 1,208 Bewertungen für Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

von ruiyun s

11. Juli 2021

Thanks so much ,it's really hopeful to achieve my career. All professors taught better than my professor in school.thanks for giving me this opportunity to me.

von CICERO S L F

5. Aug. 2020

Uma ótima oportunida com professores renomados e que sabem ministrar o conteúdo em conjunto com as aulas... Uma nova forma de d se aprender, excelente escolha!

von Lillian L

4. Dez. 2017

Very good course. Although I didn't purchase the certificate, I still learned a lot. I would recommend it to anyone interested in cancer and how it is treated.

von Heather H

12. Mai 2021

This was a wonderful course. The lecturers were engaging and the content was so interesting. I would now like to do some more pre-med courses now. Thankyou.

von Fiona M C

24. März 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. Definitely felt I was using my brain again and would love to go into the cancer research field after doing this course.

von Bo K J

21. Feb. 2021

Professor Ken Pienta and his team really provide me inspiration and they are so talented in teaching as I in high school could fully understand the lectures!

von SWAROOP G M

19. Aug. 2020

The course was very informative and best for those who want to know the basic understanding of cancer, its classification, imaging types and treatment types.

von Amara T

30. Juli 2020

this course taught me alot of interesting stuff and I do recommend it for anyone who wants to get a better understanding of cancer, and what it is all about.

von Ayesha A

21. Apr. 2020

I found this course very helpful and informative. Any student from life science background can easily understand this course. I highly recommend this course.

von mohadese z

5. Jan. 2022

The course was taught very basically and many of my questions were answered. I was very satisfied with the quality of teaching because it was informative.

von Chetana M

9. März 2021

This one is one of the best course to get a very good knowledge of cancer and its molecular basics. the videos are quite well detailed. all over awesome.

von Sana F

14. Apr. 2021

The course is very brief and gives you knowledge in every area Cancer from statistics to genetics and treatment. It has greatly helped me in my project.

von Stephen o o

11. Juni 2020

The course instructors were very awesome I understood them perfectly this made me to really want to know more cancer as a biochemist in research field.

von francisco f

14. Jan. 2022

excelente curso donde las tecnicas aprendidas se pueden poner en funcionamiento debido a que son de actualidad, gracias por la formacion y informacion.

von Işıl B

26. Dez. 2020

I'm an undergraduate student and I chose this course because i want to develop my cancer biology skils. Thank you very much, it was a great journey! :)

von SANDRA M S

16. Mai 2020

This course is really useful.You will get info about cancer from grass root level if you are new in this field.Attend this course guys,it will help you

von Jardson O

9. Okt. 2021

Congratulations to the team of scientific educators who developed this course. It is an exquisite and very complete work. I recommend it to everyone!

von B M T I

7. Juni 2020

This was really good and knowledgeable also.It really helps me to learning new things.Anyone who're interested on cancer,he'll enroll this.Thank You.

von Thirza H P v ' S

26. Jan. 2020

It was an awesome course to do, I learned so much and the learning material was handed to me in a interactive way. Which made it easy for me to learn

von Mahmoud A

30. Apr. 2017

this is a really good one and of course I had a very good time during the course and really great thanks to the educators of the course and coursera

von Riya J

7. Sep. 2020

It was well taught and I was able to understand a lot more than basics of cancer. Thanking all those who took an effort in providing the knowledge.

von Agasthya S

9. Aug. 2016

A very good primer on the most common cancer types. I hope to see a more advanced iteration of this course for those who want deeper understanding.

von Gerda S

7. Mai 2018

Very good explained and slides that are very helpful. I learned a lot in a course with quite short lectins. Very appreciated to get the course in

von Vanessa L

24. Feb. 2018

This was a very interesting course and well put together I enjoyed the lessons and the variety of information about the existing types of cancer.