Chevron Left
Zurück zu Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court von Universität von Lausanne

4.9
Sterne
315 Bewertungen
97 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

Top-Bewertungen

AM
20. Feb. 2021

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

SS
2. Dez. 2019

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 96 Bewertungen für Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

von Abhishek U A

29. Apr. 2020

It helps your analytical thinking and logical reasoning.

von Caroline

21. Jan. 2019

This course is a great introduction into the hierarchy of propositions and our duty to the court as expert witnesses. It discusses in length the importance of reporting two alternate hypothesis in a balanced and transparent manner. It also drills home the risks involved, and uses several real life case studies to demonstrate what happens when science isn't followed or communicated correctly – that is, the associated dangers of misrepresentation and misinterpretation of results by both practitioner and judiciary. If you're skeptical and still questioning the importance of improving current state reporting and testimony (particularly within the pattern matching disciplines), then watch the interviews of victims affected by high profile erroneous fingerprint identifications (McKie/Mayfield). It not only humanizes what we do, but reminds us that we have a duty to the court, to the science and to public safety. It was a great privilege to be taught by leading forensic practitioners! Their collective wealth of knowledge is evident and I admire the large amount of behind-the-scenes work that would have been put into producing this course. I highly recommend this to people interested in strengthening forensic science, and I look forward to the next installment.

von Jan D K

30. Jan. 2019

Well done Christophe, Alex, Tacha and Franco. The explanation regarding the different cases was very interesting to read. I wasn’t aware of all the impact and only know part of the stories behind the forensics.

This course is also very interesting to non-scientists and I am curious to see if the prosecutors understand the concepts of it. In our common previous experience, I was very disappointed in our attempt to explane the ENFSI guideline to Eurojust.

I look forward to see more of the same stuff here on coursera. Take care, Jan DE KINDER

von sandro s

3. Dez. 2019

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

von Courtney B

4. Apr. 2020

An excellent course; particularly for law students with an interest in pursuing criminal law and broadening their understanding of the applications of forensic evidence in the field.

von Gowtham A

9. Mai 2020

This course helped me in various aspects of forensic science with interesting case law and overall i made use of quarantine Productively

Thank you

von BOUZAID

12. Jan. 2019

Cours vraiment intéressant, qui a un intérêt autant pour les scientifiques que les magistrats, et permet de mieux comprendre l'interprétation des données scientifiques en forensique. La forme du cours est idéale : des vidéos courtes et qui reprennent plusieurs fois les notions importantes. Merci aux créateurs (des pointures du domaine forensique) du cours et vous qui hésitez encore, lancez-vous !

von Coreen S

13. Apr. 2019

Great Course, learned a lot on evaluative report writing and how forensic science should speak to the course. However, it would have been interesting to see how offender profiling in a expert witness context should speak to courts.

von Merisa C

3. Jan. 2019

Beautifully designed course, interesting and on point lectures, creative and motivating lecturers. Loved included real cases. I enjoyed very much taking the course. Thank you for such constructive and helpful course!

von Cobus-Henry S

29. Apr. 2020

Excellent content offered by pioneers in the field of scientific experts and how evidence is to be presented in courtrooms worldwide.

von Bill P

21. März 2019

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

von Victoria

6. Okt. 2019

Gives you a strong framework about what considerations a forensic expert has to consider with respect to the evidence vs the court.

von Gaston P

11. Jan. 2019

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

von NKOSINGIPHILE T

1. Sep. 2019

Nice and interesting course indeed!. Lot of skills I have acquired and I will be aware of mistakes that we normally do.

von Jenny O

12. Aug. 2019

Very interestin and well presented course.

von Flavio L R

24. Mai 2019

Great course with much useful information.

von ABHIJIT R

19. Apr. 2020

Excellent Course

von Alexis M C

7. Jan. 2019

It is a course to pay close attention because of the type of information taught. Forensic Statistics was difficult for me. I did learn a lot and believe I could use this information in my own Criminal Cases here in Yucatan, Mexico.

von Maria C F L

26. Aug. 2020

Difficult but interesting course. Topic (but then its math) is still a little abstract. Discussion could be clearer.

von ADAMS M

21. Feb. 2021

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

von LYNELLE T W Q

11. Juli 2020

One of the most well-structured online courses I have taken so far! The objectives and learning points are clearly emphasised every lecture and overall this was a great course.

von lelievre

14. Nov. 2019

cours très pédagogiques, formats adaptés, contenu adapté à la pratique, à conseiller! et à appliquer en pratique!

von massimiliano s

2. Jan. 2019

I found in this course all the things that one forensic scientist must be aware about! Thank You

von Dan C

24. März 2020

excellent. I learned a few things that I was unaware of. Good teaching and excellent examples.

von Felix A K O

17. Nov. 2020

VERY HELP AND I WILL RECOMMEND TO ALL, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE FIELD OF INVESTIGATIONS.