Chevron Left
Zurück zu Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court von Universität von Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
180 Bewertungen
53 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Dec 03, 2019

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

JR

May 27, 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 53 Bewertungen für Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court

von Yohana S

Jan 03, 2019

Very nice course

von MURTAZA M

Sep 11, 2019

Great

von Alexis M C

Jan 07, 2019

It is a course to pay close attention because of the type of information taught. Forensic Statistics was difficult for me. I did learn a lot and believe I could use this information in my own Criminal Cases here in Yucatan, Mexico.

von Marvin J D V

Jul 27, 2020

I would like to congratulate the teachers and the University of Lausanne for making their knowledge available to the world. As a Latin American, there remains a feeling of uncertainty because "the fallacy of the prosecutor" and the "fallacy of authority" are what serve to base a judicial decision, ignoring the fact that there is a universe of probabilities that must be studied, included and evaluated in a case.

I think that if in this region we deepen in the way you evaluate and make "speak" Forensic Science, much of the scientific literature that we still use will have to be examined and rewritten.

Thank you very much for this excellent experience. Congratulations to the teachers and all the team who worked to connect our senses to the "new world" of Forensic Sciences.

von Vaishnavi C R

Jul 04, 2020

Very well explained. well organised videos. It was great to have the interviews watched with the people directly linked to the cases, to know their point of view. Forensic science is infallible is a myth and care has to be taken to combat the wrong doings in the analysis and evaluation.Well presented and can be recommended. Thank you so much

von Devika E

Jun 25, 2020

Before I was learning this I thought that , forensic evidence is the ultimate certainty that a person committed a particular crime but now I am aware of what are the things that can go wrong and how to analyse a forensic report.

Thank you so much for such an initiative to enlighten students from all over the world

von Vivienne H

May 21, 2020

This has been an extremely enlightening and interesting course. Well constructed and delivered, so everyone can learn at their own pace, within a structured environment and supported by experts who were accessible if you needed further help or clarification. I would definitely recommend it!

von Ademola A

Jun 24, 2020

It's just wonderful, the case studies even made it better and more relatable. I'm glad I found this course, I wonder how long I'd have continued with some strange beliefs acquired from CSI movies if I hadn't enrolled in this course.

von Jasrah N S R

May 27, 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

von LYNELLE T W Q

Jul 11, 2020

One of the most well-structured online courses I have taken so far! The objectives and learning points are clearly emphasised every lecture and overall this was a great course.

von Maria R G C

May 31, 2020

Excelente! no solo el diseño y estructuracion de las actividades semanales, sino el esmero en la presentacion de las entrevistas. Uno de los mejores cursos que he reazlizado.

von Trisita P

Jul 06, 2020

exceptionally well crafted course which is a must for every lawyer to become a good prosecutor or a unstoppable defence lawyer.

von angela s

May 23, 2020

This is a wonderful course applicable for all branches of forensic medicine and science. I can highly recommend it

von Vaishnavi B

Jul 04, 2020

Great learning experience during Covid -19 situation. The course was well structured . Thank you

von Dato' D Y

Jul 08, 2020

Must be very critical in interpretation of forensic results and do not make assumption.

von Maryam

Dec 30, 2019

Amazing and full of alot of learning.Thank you team of university lausanne

von Daniel L J

May 17, 2020

A total eye opener into DNA Forensic's and what a truly amazing course.

von Usman G

Jun 05, 2020

Very Informative & Exploring New Dimensions & Perspectives

von Natalie H

May 25, 2020

Easy to navigate through website and interesting subjects

von Haider A

Jun 10, 2020

A great effort by the course team. Excellent course!

von Sarah F

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent interesting material, and well-presented.

von Jahil G A B

May 15, 2020

i love this course, the teachers are excellent

von Tiago S d S

Jul 22, 2020

the best course that i have made

von Raf P

Jun 17, 2020

excellent course, well explained

von MICHAEL K B

Jul 18, 2020

This course has opened my mind. It has challenged my training as a fingerprint examiner. I do not want to take away anything from the presenters. I think they gave their best however the presentations of the lectures can be explained more clearly. I struggled to understand the quizzes.