Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change II

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Social Norms, Social Change II von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
243 Bewertungen
56 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is Part 2 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In this course, we will examine social change, the tools we may use to enact change, and put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. See Social Norms, Social Change Part I at this link: https://coursera.org/learn/norms This course covers scripts and schemas, the cognitive structures in which social expectations are embedded, and their relationship with social norms. The course then examines the essentials of norm abandonment, including the relations between personal beliefs and social expectations. We will also evaluate existing intervention strategies, including legal reforms, information campaigns, economic incentives, and group deliberations. Finally, we look at a variety of tools policy makers may use to effect change, highlight the role of trendsetters in social change, and explore the conditions under which they can be successful. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project." Please see the following link for a 30% discount on the book that accompanies this course: https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

ES

Oct 08, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. One issue I would like to point out though is that there are mistakes in the transcripts (for example, instead of trendsetter, the word, transactor appears often).

SM

Aug 05, 2017

This course is outstanding . I love it and i haven't been boring of any section of it..\n\nIt is good to know how can one social norm can effects the community and how can we avoid doing it

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 56 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change II

von Manuela P

Sep 07, 2019

Great organization of content, would have liked more recent examples and more explanation on the statistical models (I don't have statistical education)

von Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

I really enjoyed the second part of the Social Norms, Social Change course. It deals in detail with how norms can change or fail to change, examining intragroup dynamics as well as attributes of trendsetters or change agents that make them more likely to initiatite norm change, and to succeed in ther attempt. There is a fascinating "how to" list of ways to initiate social change successfully in Lecture 3, which I look forward to revistiing in more detail. This series of lectures briefly also deals with the persistence of deviant communities, and resistance to norms. I recommend the course strongly.

von Bernardine

May 27, 2019

This course was a welcome challenge. It opened my eyes to many aspects of society which I was not aware of. I enjoyed it immensely. I enjoyed the lectures and the level of difficulty presented.

My Instructor Cristina Bichieri was excellent in imparting knowledge and made the course very interesting. I would recommend anyone to take this course.

I thank you for affording me the opportunity to take this course and I would not hesitate to take any other course conducted by Cristina.

THANK YOU

von RICARDO D C M

Aug 14, 2017

The content of the course was quite informative and it conveyed its content clearly. It was a nice overview of what social norms, and social change are without being overwhelming. I recommend this course to anyone interested in how some NGO's like UNICEF work and how they astrive for norm changes within the communities that they work with. It provided great examples and further readings to anyone interested more in the topic.

von Rajah B

Feb 20, 2018

A fantastic course creating a structure out of observing social norms and methodically implementing social change. The course has an incredible depth its information, especially with its real-life success stories and failures in social change. Immensely enjoyable and highly recommended to anyone interested in social reform and the social sciences.

von Diego P L

Oct 30, 2017

Accesible language and well ordered contents. Natural continuation of course I. It expands the topic and install new horizons to study and explore. I can see many useful applications, from norm's socioeducation to strategies design for social change. Highly recommendable.

von Rik d G

Jul 09, 2017

The course gave me a complete different view on how social change works and what tools you can use to change social norms. The course is very practial and is well illustrated with real life examples. It gave me new ideas I can apply as organizational transformation coach.

von Tricia C

Apr 20, 2017

I love the way this class was structured with short videos and readings - the concepts were clearly articulated and easier to absorb in this format. I found the content interesting and very relevant to my work in education, health promotion, and development.

von Gonzalo d C

Aug 29, 2017

I really appreciate the opportunity to had made this course. I think it will be very useful in my work in international development practice. I also take this opportunity to thank Cristina Bicchieri for share her knowledge and for her style to do so.

von Eisha S

Oct 08, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. One issue I would like to point out though is that there are mistakes in the transcripts (for example, instead of trendsetter, the word, transactor appears often).

von saria m

Aug 05, 2017

This course is outstanding . I love it and i haven't been boring of any section of it..

It is good to know how can one social norm can effects the community and how can we avoid doing it

von Issa M C

Oct 19, 2017

well organized, information straight to point, with clear simple examples, eventhough the course was full of terms but it was explained in very simple English.

von Alvaro C

Oct 29, 2017

Great continuation to Social Norms Social Change I, goes more into actionable identification and evaluation techniques.

von Tithal P

Oct 30, 2017

Very well designed course. The combination videos and notes really helped to understand the concepts with examples.

von Khaing K N

May 22, 2018

Great course to learn. I think my time that I spent for this course is worth. Thank you very much Cristina.

von Dženana Š H

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing course! I've learnt so much from it, gained some new perspectives and enjoyed all of the lectures.

von Zoya C

Jul 16, 2017

Extremely helpful for any person working in organisations that aim to change harmful social norms.

von Abdiel K

Mar 21, 2017

This course is a capacity strengthening one for civil society operators, quite enlightening

von Chrysi D

Feb 01, 2017

Excellent, very well structured with equal info on theory and practice from the field!

von Daseul K

Jun 12, 2019

It was very good lecture which is practical and could broaden the horizon. Thank you!

von Nicoletta S

Apr 25, 2017

Extraordinary, expecially for the updated content and innovative way of communication

von NDJOCK B A C

Oct 30, 2018

Ce cours m'a permis de maitriser davantage les normes et les changements sociaux

von Kamal H

Jul 05, 2018

this training is superb in the personal and professional development .

von Robert B S M

Dec 31, 2019

Outstanding. I learned much more than I had imagined I would.

von Nasser

Sep 16, 2018

it gave me very helpful ideas about how to change social norms