Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.8
Sterne
983 Bewertungen
363 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

NT

30. Juli 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

30. Juli 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 363 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Crystal G

14. Juni 2016

Learned a lot!

von James S E

9. Aug. 2020

Fantastic 😘

von Bruno d S B

16. März 2021

Very good!!

von Israr A R

13. Feb. 2021

So help ful

von Wolf

17. Nov. 2019

Good Course

von Jenny d

20. Sep. 2021

e​xcellent

von Juan F M S

4. Juni 2020

Excellent

von fernando g u

12. Feb. 2018

Excellent

von U. M M M

18. Mai 2020

dazzling

von Raquel B

19. Okt. 2016

Excelent

von Ahmed F A E

13. Sep. 2021

Amazing

von Vinícius B T

27. Nov. 2020

Thanks!

von Ruben E B

27. Juni 2016

Great!!

von Ceyda E

13. Dez. 2020

thanks

von Mona A A

27. Mai 2020

م

م

ت

ا

ز

ة

von rafik s

7. Aug. 2017

thanks

von Emma N

6. Apr. 2020

brill

von Manuel D

23. März 2021

Good

von MOHAMED A

13. März 2021

دورة

von S. S

14. Juni 2020

good

von Kyros T

4. Apr. 2020

Nice

von Aleksandar M

22. Mai 2022

T​his course offers a very specific set of knowledge. It provides the most essential, scientifically valid information one needs to farm chicken. Videos are short and informative, although kind of dry, like a talking textbook. More practical information would be helpful. Weekly quizzes are surprisingly challenging, and I failed most of them on my first attempt. Information provided in the video lectures is sufficient, but very condensed, so make sure to pay attention and take notes. Additional literature is helpful, but not necessary in order to pass the quiz.

O​verall, it's a very neat course and useful as the first source of information for the future chicken farmers. There's room for improvement, but I can recommend it nevertheless.

von Georgia W

4. Juni 2020

I've kept a small backyard flock of ex-commercial hens for several years, and am generally interested in animal behaviour as a whole. I learnt a lot about the husbandry of chickens and some aspects of the behaviour from this course. If I have a small criticism, it would be that I would have liked a little bit more of an in depth examination of the behavioural side of things. Structurally, the course was delivered clearly and competently, although I feel it could have used a few more explanatory pictures, videos and diagrams to accompany the lectures. I did enjoy the attempt made by the automated subtitle program to try to translate the Scottish dude: that gave me a good laugh!

von Emlynn C

1. Juli 2017

Course was very dense but well organized so that this 6 week long course can be knocked out in a weekend. Has a lot of different views on methods of poultry farming that are all treated with respect and is a great way to learn the basics of poultry whether it's for commercial or backyard production. Only complaints are that it's test-only, no written or free answer exercises (which may be par for coursera, I wouldn't know) and that treatment options for a few common illnesses/injuries/abnormalities such as being egg bound or egg eating were not discussed

von Johan T

17. Juni 2016

Very interesting course. Truly enjoyed studying the behaviour of the animals I started appreciating a lot. Nevertheless 4 out of 5 stars because I felt the course is typically focusing on the large scale agro industrial side more then the (increasing number) of small scale/hobby keepers. Also I would have loved to learn more about typical chicken health care issues and how to prevent. All in all very informative and definitely a course I recommend!