Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.8
Sterne
983 Bewertungen
363 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

NT

30. Juli 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

30. Juli 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 363 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Lara G

29. Apr. 2021

Very straightforward and simple, but detailed and informative. There was a problem understanding the accent for two of the videos from a person not native to Scotland. Otherwise, it is very fascinating and changed my perception of chickens and their care. I also learned why knowing welfare and management of chickens is important for a veterinarian. I learned plenty of information to better care for chickens on for my own personal farming.

von Julián C

28. Feb. 2019

Me fue de muchísima utilidad para mi proceso de enriquecimiento en mi carrera de Medicina Veterinaria y Zootecnia, gracias a que abarca todos los aspectos básicos que acarrean un adecuado bienestar y el consiguiente rendimiento de las aves en los sistemas de explotación existentes. Lo único que echo en falta es más imágenes y/o vídeos explicatorias, en vez de ver a la experta en el área hablando la mayor parte del tiempo.

von Charlotte G

30. Juli 2016

A very informative and interesting course, a good cover of both behaviour and welfare. Each section was explained well, so no background knowledge was required. I appreciated the additional video content to explain concepts. I would have liked a little more information on disease and nutrition but I understand it is difficult to cover everything in a short course.

von Michelle B W

10. Jan. 2020

This course was extremely interesting and informative, with any technical or complex terms explained. It would have been useful to have more images in the videos to further explain each point, such as examples of the different slaughter methods, etc. I'd highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in chickens, either personal or professional.

von Alaskas J

2. Okt. 2020

Interesting and in depth, though I take one star off as I can't shake the feeling that week 5 is almost entirely propaganda paid off by large scale poultry farms.

Free range is entirely more humane, birds need sunshine, fresh air, grass, and dirt. That isn't to say free range is completely humane, as NO commercial poultry farm will ever be humane.

von Paul M

12. Apr. 2020

I enjoyed this course thank you. As a suggested improvement for future courses; access to transcripts for all videos would be a great learning aid. I would be very interested in participating in a similar course focusing on Broiler Behaviour and Welfare - from hatchery to slaughter. Thanks again. Kind regards. Paul Morrell

von Marian v d K

18. Apr. 2017

I really enjoyed the course. I hope to see more animal specific behaviour and welfare courses in the future.

This course mostly covered parts of the poultry industry, I would have enjoyed it even more if non commercial farming was included, like chickens at home or at the children's farm.

von Pauline B

14. Dez. 2016

Honestly, I am absolutely delighted to have access to that course. Information is reliable, strong, you can have access to a huge number of articles, studies... It is well structured. My only regret, is that there is a lack of actual images of the actions and the process described.

von Vivien D

16. Sep. 2021

As a keeper of backyard hens I learnt a lot about the health, wellbeing and ways to improve our set up for our hens. The ethical questions raised in terms of consumption of chicken and eggs certainly need ongoing consideration for all consumers

von Susanne G

11. Aug. 2020

Great content. Personally would have preferred the content to be more geared towards backyard breeders but overall good balance on welfare topics vs caring for chickens at home. Could be a little bit more technical/detailed & challenging.

von Noah B

20. Feb. 2020

The content was of the course was exceptional and easy to follow. Despite my hectic work schedules, the presentation of the course made it easy to pick up where I left off and enabled me to complete this amazing course. Many thanks.

von Dirk C B

24. Jan. 2017

The individual lectures are kept short and the exams at the end of the week felt "fair".

The course itself is very informative and comprehensive . I learned a lot and I feel somehow ok prepared to keep a few backyard chicken :)

von Jordan K

2. Mai 2017

Generally pretty well put together. There were more then a few times some of the videos probably should have been combined into one, so as to be less cluttered. Otherwise overall a pretty pleasant experience.

von Melissa L

18. Aug. 2018

Informative. However sometimes it was hard to hear the lecture over the chicks. I would have also liked a bit more photos or videos of what was being talked about instead of a video of the lecturer

von Munafahemad K S

2. Juli 2020

Excellent. Very Informative course. from Poultry Welfare point of view. It would have been richer if various processes, equipment were included for demonstration along with the lecture videos.

von Caroline C

5. Mai 2020

There is some super helpful information in this course, at times it was difficult to maintain concentration with the background noise of the chickens and a monotone speach delivery.

von Zelal ِ A

8. Sep. 2018

The course is fun with valuable content but it needs more illustrations, Talks about behaviors in general but would be desirable if there is more expansion in commercial farms.

von Pritom D

18. Mai 2020

On the video section,the process should be shown by technically.It was just about telling the processes.But if the process was shown on the video,it would be more effecient.

von Thirza v K

17. Nov. 2017

I love chickens and i'm very happy to know a bit more about the process. I also admire how objective this course handles the subjects, even if they are ethically sensitive.

von Laura E C C

1. Apr. 2020

Is great that have courses in the plataform, that explaine and introduced all kind of people with the food production, and people understand the process with science basis

von Nina T

21. März 2018

Interesting course that covers all kinds of aspects related to keeping chickens. The lectures are clear, and supplementary articles are provided for those interested.

von Jilly B

31. Okt. 2021

v​ery informative, contained a lot of information, interesting even if I wont necessarily ever need to know the processes. The quizzes had some tricky questions!

von Rey W

8. Apr. 2017

Quality information & supplemental info provided! I own chickens and am very interested in animal welfare and I love edinborough's welfare courses.

von Linda P

4. Nov. 2016

I have learned a lot more about the behaviour and welfare of chickens. Highly recommended for anyone who keeps a few or lots of chickens.

von Maria S S C

25. Nov. 2018

Very nice introductory course! I would like another that goes more deeply into anatomy, physiology and pathology in production chickens.