Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.8
Sterne
974 Bewertungen
360 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

NT

30. Juli 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

30. Juli 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 360 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Melanie D

26. Jan. 2021

Very interesting course, covering the many facets of chicken behavior & the many issues to be considered. A must course for anyone planning to raising chickens on a small or large scale. Especially appropriate for a person hoping to have backyard chickens.

von Tesla G

16. Sep. 2021

THANK YOU for not showing images of the stunning/slaughter process. Much appreciated. I learned a lot about chickens in this course. Thank you for sharing the knowledge and I hope all other countries can catch up with the EU when it comes to animal welfare!

von Christine C

13. Mai 2021

I loved everything about this course. I've owned chickens for three years and learned a ton about behavior and welfare that I didn't know previously. This was like taking a master's course and the professor rocked this course. Thank you for offering this!

von Maho C

1. Aug. 2017

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.

von Scarlett M

27. Mai 2021

​This course was awesome, I'd really reccomend it to anybody who wants to keep chickens or who's just interested. The course includes good in-depth videos that explain the subjects really well and links to other informational sites and PDFs.

von Michele

4. Juni 2017

I've raised chickens all my life. This course has given me much insight into the rearing of chickens for egg production and/or meat. I have been given a more in depth view of problems with raising chickens and their behaviors and causes.

von Patricia R

2. Jan. 2021

Very informative and easy to understand. I've gained knowledge and confidence that will benefit me and my backyard flock. I believe everyone that has a flock or is interested in getting a flock of any size would benefit from this course.

von Jill M

6. Dez. 2020

Excellent class! Really enjoyed the material. I would love to take a class that covers common chicken ailments and treatment at home (as well as when to consult a vet) - geared towards backyard chicken owners. Thank you for the course :)

von Melinda C

10. Sep. 2020

This is a very thorough course for the small amount of time it takes to complete. This course gave me alot of information that was not only useful to myself but to my clients as well. It allows you to take better care of your chickens.

von Belen V

6. Apr. 2020

This course taught me everything about chickens. I always wanted to start a farm and raise my own chickens but had no idea how, this course explains everything in detail on what a chicken is and the many ways to care for one or many.

von Muhammad U b S

21. Juli 2021

I learned a lot from this course. All those who are interesting to switch their career into poultry industry should avail this fully informative course delivered by a beautiful and lovely teacher who speaks politely and beautifully.

von Chris K

8. Juli 2020

Great course, very informative - I learned a lot of very useful information.

The format of the course material and delivery is brilliant, and enables quick, easy learning and retention.

Thank you for this and all your other courses.

von Stephanie A A

24. Okt. 2016

This is a great introductory course for anyone interested in raising chickens or working in poultry science. Doesn't go much into biology of chickens; just the methods of raising and drawing conclusions based on observations.

von Daniel D

13. Sep. 2016

This course was very very useful for my wife and I (backyard chicken owners). Dr. Sandilands's clear presentation makes it very easy to get the concepts and understand how to apply them in an actual flock. Highly recommended!

von Lillian L

24. Aug. 2017

This course was very interesting and educational. I learned a lot about chickens - why they do things and how to keep chickens healthy. I learned a lot about the welfare of chickens.

Thanks for the great course, Coursera!

von Elijah B

4. Sep. 2016

Very well-explained information is given. Anyone who is a chicken-lover or keeps chickens should take this course. It's not too much to learn. The videos are short and to the point, yet well-explained. A very good course.

von Michelle H

27. Mai 2020

Dr. Sandilands is a fantastic instructor -- knowledgeable, great communicator and engaging. I signed up for this course just to see how the concepts were covered. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks!

von Claire D M

18. Apr. 2020

Very good intro course about chicken welfare, behaviour, and overview of production industries, especially for animal science or pre-vet students like myself. Would highly recommend. I like that it is self paced too.

von Shannon R

19. Sep. 2019

This was a great intro course for someone interested in chicken behavior and welfare. Although geared more towards commercial farming, chicken hobbyists will still learn important things about keeping chickens.

von Naritsorn P

8. Mai 2017

The course is logic and interesting, not boring at all. As a vet I can use this course to improve my skill in practice easily and I'm sure you will find it useful/enjoy like I did too.

Regards,

Naritsorn P, DVM

von Nguyen A T

30. Juli 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

von Dr.Muhammad M

16. Okt. 2021

It's an excellent course for understanding the Chicken behaviour and welfare.

Thanks to University of Edinburg & Coursera for providing this opportunity.

Regards: Dr. Moeen (Layer Consultant), Pakistan

von Melanie S

30. Juli 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

von Edward S D

13. Aug. 2021

Gracias a COURSERA por difundir esta valiosa información, estoy por iniciar un proyecto de permacultura y gracias a este curso podré gestionar de mejor manera mi futuro gallinero. Gracias!!!!!!