Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
441 Bewertungen
163 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 159 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Julián C

Mar 01, 2019

Me fue de muchísima utilidad para mi proceso de enriquecimiento en mi carrera de Medicina Veterinaria y Zootecnia, gracias a que abarca todos los aspectos básicos que acarrean un adecuado bienestar y el consiguiente rendimiento de las aves en los sistemas de explotación existentes. Lo único que echo en falta es más imágenes y/o vídeos explicatorias, en vez de ver a la experta en el área hablando la mayor parte del tiempo.

von Charlotte G

Jul 30, 2016

A very informative and interesting course, a good cover of both behaviour and welfare. Each section was explained well, so no background knowledge was required. I appreciated the additional video content to explain concepts. I would have liked a little more information on disease and nutrition but I understand it is difficult to cover everything in a short course.

von Michelle B W

Jan 10, 2020

This course was extremely interesting and informative, with any technical or complex terms explained. It would have been useful to have more images in the videos to further explain each point, such as examples of the different slaughter methods, etc. I'd highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in chickens, either personal or professional.

von Marian v d K

Apr 18, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. I hope to see more animal specific behaviour and welfare courses in the future.

This course mostly covered parts of the poultry industry, I would have enjoyed it even more if non commercial farming was included, like chickens at home or at the children's farm.

von Pauline B

Dec 14, 2016

Honestly, I am absolutely delighted to have access to that course. Information is reliable, strong, you can have access to a huge number of articles, studies... It is well structured. My only regret, is that there is a lack of actual images of the actions and the process described.

von Noah B

Jan 14, 2020

The content was of the course was exceptional and easy to follow. Despite my hectic work schedules, the presentation of the course made it easy to pick up where I left off and enabled me to complete this amazing course. Many thanks.

von Dirk C B

Jan 24, 2017

The individual lectures are kept short and the exams at the end of the week felt "fair".

The course itself is very informative and comprehensive . I learned a lot and I feel somehow ok prepared to keep a few backyard chicken :)

von Jordan K

May 02, 2017

Generally pretty well put together. There were more then a few times some of the videos probably should have been combined into one, so as to be less cluttered. Otherwise overall a pretty pleasant experience.

von Melissa L

Aug 19, 2018

Informative. However sometimes it was hard to hear the lecture over the chicks. I would have also liked a bit more photos or videos of what was being talked about instead of a video of the lecturer

von Zelal ِ A

Sep 08, 2018

The course is fun with valuable content but it needs more illustrations, Talks about behaviors in general but would be desirable if there is more expansion in commercial farms.

von Thirza v K

Nov 17, 2017

I love chickens and i'm very happy to know a bit more about the process. I also admire how objective this course handles the subjects, even if they are ethically sensitive.

von Nina T

Mar 21, 2018

Interesting course that covers all kinds of aspects related to keeping chickens. The lectures are clear, and supplementary articles are provided for those interested.

von Rey W

Apr 08, 2017

Quality information & supplemental info provided! I own chickens and am very interested in animal welfare and I love edinborough's welfare courses.

von Linda P

Nov 04, 2016

I have learned a lot more about the behaviour and welfare of chickens. Highly recommended for anyone who keeps a few or lots of chickens.

von Maria S S C

Nov 25, 2018

Very nice introductory course! I would like another that goes more deeply into anatomy, physiology and pathology in production chickens.

von Kirsty W

Jul 23, 2016

Can be taken by anyone with an interest in chickens! Good references and interesting variety of topics!

von Edie L

Dec 26, 2016

Fascinating general information on commercial and backyard chicken welfare and behavior course.

von Omar H

Nov 10, 2017

Good course, a little eurocentric but useful none the less.

von Andy W

Mar 10, 2018

Very interesting course for the home chicken-keeper

von Diego F R D

Feb 15, 2019

Great information i learned a lot. Thanks everyone

von K S

Feb 13, 2018

Very well explained and pleasant to watch

von Anne b

Apr 12, 2018

Very interesting, if a bit short.

von JUSTO G S C

May 10, 2017

Good course. Congratulations

von Simone P

Feb 24, 2017

Informative and interesting.

von Richard K

Aug 18, 2017

very informative