Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
429 Bewertungen
159 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 155 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Stephanie A A

Oct 24, 2016

This is a great introductory course for anyone interested in raising chickens or working in poultry science. Doesn't go much into biology of chickens; just the methods of raising and drawing conclusions based on observations.

von sujatha s

Jun 28, 2017

Very interesting course. The use of videos, interviews and documents keeps the learner's interest levels high. Well designed

von Agnieszka S

Aug 01, 2017

Thank you for fantastic opportunity to learn about chickens life.

von Crystal G

Jun 15, 2016

Learned a lot!

von Fiona B

Jul 23, 2017

Very good and informative. I would recommend this for anyone with an interest in chickens.

von usman i s

Apr 17, 2017

i have some backyard chickens this course helps me a lot towards understanding them and i would like to say they are doing really well in terms of health and i am glad.

von Virginia S

Sep 24, 2016

An excellent course, whether you have backyard poultry or just want to learn more about domestic, show or commercial poultry care, this course is a font of information.

von Cynthia C

Jan 08, 2018

I learned a lot! I only wish that there is a section that focuses solely on keeping chickens in the backyard (comparison of breeds, examples of coops, types of feeds, etc.), although I'm not sure if that would fall under chicken behavior and welfare :) Thank you!

von Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

von Joao L W

Jun 11, 2017

Very educational and honest.

von Maia R

Jun 18, 2017

Very informative and accessible. This course is a must for all chicken-lovers.

von Katharina H

May 07, 2017

Great for everyone who is interested in chickens or has to do with them!

von Zaidi R

Aug 15, 2017

I liked this course

von Janet W

Nov 14, 2016

very good course! after finished all the contents, I really have a brief and basic understanding abt birds and chicken behavior

von David B J

Sep 08, 2016

exelente curso muy practico y ameno

von rony p r

Jul 18, 2017

i have learned basics and important details regarding chicken behaviour and welfare

von MIRIAM M M

Apr 10, 2018

Very well explained with comprehensive videos to show how the system is.

von Amelia L

Jan 20, 2017

Great practical short course, am very glad I took it!

von Lillian L

Aug 24, 2017

This course was very interesting and educational. I learned a lot about chickens - why they do things and how to keep chickens healthy. I learned a lot about the welfare of chickens.

Thanks for the great course, Coursera!

von Heather R

Feb 28, 2017

I LOVED this course. I don't have chickens, nor do I have much experience with them, but I want to keep them in the future for our own personal egg production (not commercially). This helped me really understand what I'm in for, and helped me understand different parts of poultry anatomy, behavior, and what I need to do to care for them.

von Adam L

Feb 08, 2018

Fascinating and very informative. I enjoyed it!

von Kristo R

Jun 26, 2016

Interesting and not too difficult for a complete novice of the topic.

von Leslie S

Jun 12, 2016

Very worthwhile. Great overview of pertinent behavioral, environmental, physiological and biological factors influencing chicken behavior and welfare. Good videos with supplementary materials that added value to the course. Thank you for making this available through MOOC.

von Hilary T

Jul 24, 2016

Clear, concise and comprehensive. Brilliant course.

von Susan E E

Feb 18, 2018

Second time taking the course. It's that good. Practical information and very well presented. I have put into practice (for my backyard flock) many of the practices covered. Videos great, reading material great, recommended book a super reference. Thanks!