Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
416 Bewertungen
157 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 153 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Maia R

Jun 18, 2017

Very informative and accessible. This course is a must for all chicken-lovers.

von Katharina H

May 07, 2017

Great for everyone who is interested in chickens or has to do with them!

von Juandy B

Jul 08, 2017

Very informative I like it

von Sue S

Apr 21, 2017

I'm very glad I took this course. I've kept chickens throughout much of my life since childhood and some of the information presented here made me go, "Oh! Now I get it." The course was well structured and presented in an informal yet professional manner that I found appealing. This was one of my first coursera classes so I don't know if it's already offered, but I would love to see this team put together a course on chicken breeds if they haven't already. The only downside to this class was that the last section (slaughter) seemed (to me) a bad note to leave on. Maybe add a bit about bringing in the new batch of chicks or just anything a bit more upbeat. Thanks to everyone involved for a job well done.

von Vivian C

Oct 16, 2017

Excellent course in both material content and the friendly and easy to understand approach from the lecturer.

von Patricia A F

Sep 14, 2017

Very useful in-depth information. A must for those interested in raising chickens - explaining the whys behind chicken behavior and how to correct or minimize unwanted behavior.

von Matthew A

Jul 14, 2017

This course is a good course for beginning and experienced poultry farmers I would recommend it to anyone.

von Maho C

Aug 01, 2017

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.

von Rafik S

Aug 07, 2017

thanks

von Paulina A P D

Sep 06, 2017

Necesito el certificado y me gusto mucho el curso muy completo

von Hossam H A

Jul 02, 2017

Very interesting course, I have learned a lot about poultry

von Lucrecia M

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent information and very dynamic.

von Sarah L

May 11, 2018

Really interesting. I learnt a lot which I can use with my own chickens.

von Savannah H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! It was a nice refresher on my animal welfare and behaviour courses from my undergrad, while also refreshing my basic poultry housing information too

von alan

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent introduction, factual and informative. Very helpful for the lifestyle hobbyist.

von Suzy C

May 26, 2017

Some very useful info for my backyard flock.

von ALMA M M H

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent course

von Anna A

May 02, 2017

Very interesting and nice, but too short!

von Matthew J C

Jun 28, 2018

An extremely informative course!

von Savannah

Oct 17, 2016

Really great! (if you want to learn about chickens:)

von Michele

Jun 04, 2017

I've raised chickens all my life. This course has given me much insight into the rearing of chickens for egg production and/or meat. I have been given a more in depth view of problems with raising chickens and their behaviors and causes.

von Michelle B

Oct 11, 2017

thoroughly enjoyed this course. taught me a great deal about things I can and should be improving for my own. Helped me understand a lot more about the commercial side too.

von Yana S

Feb 11, 2018

I learned so many things in this course. I particularly liked the behavior and how to manage it portion of the course.

von Janelle

Aug 02, 2017

Excellent! Informative, interesting, and impartial!

von Daniel D

Sep 13, 2016

This course was very very useful for my wife and I (backyard chicken owners). Dr. Sandilands's clear presentation makes it very easy to get the concepts and understand how to apply them in an actual flock. Highly recommended!