Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
429 Bewertungen
159 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 155 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Claire L

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

von sujatha s

Jun 28, 2017

Very interesting course. The use of videos, interviews and documents keeps the learner's interest levels high. Well designed

von Tamsin C

Feb 01, 2018

Excellent information on how chickens see the world and interact, the problems that can occur when keeping them and how to resolve these problems. Also the stark reality of modern farming. Recommended and required knowledge for all chicken owners and consumers.

von Fiona B

Jul 23, 2017

Very good and informative. I would recommend this for anyone with an interest in chickens.

von Micheal O

Jul 18, 2017

This is one of the best course i have ever taken online.

von Tara

Mar 21, 2018

This is an extremely interesting course. Practical material is presented in a straight forward manner. It is excellent to see real life footage of laying and broiler hens and the environment they are kept. This course is useful for those interested in learning more about their backyard chickens and the type of conditions they require. It is also use for those with an interest in animal welfare in general.

von victoria w

Sep 12, 2017

Absolutely invaluable teaching for anyone keeping poultry and seeking to be a better flockmaster

von Angela W

Jul 23, 2017

Really interesting and easy to follow. I was mostly learning with a view to owning a small backyard flock one day, but even so the information pertaining to commercial operations was important and easy to understand. A lot can be taken from that for a small set-up anyway.

von Adam L

Feb 08, 2018

Fascinating and very informative. I enjoyed it!

von Kristo R

Jun 26, 2016

Interesting and not too difficult for a complete novice of the topic.

von Natasha H

Nov 25, 2017

working in a poultry meat farm i found this course quite useful

von Leslie S

Jun 12, 2016

Very worthwhile. Great overview of pertinent behavioral, environmental, physiological and biological factors influencing chicken behavior and welfare. Good videos with supplementary materials that added value to the course. Thank you for making this available through MOOC.

von Hilary T

Jul 24, 2016

Clear, concise and comprehensive. Brilliant course.

von Juandy B

Jul 08, 2017

Very informative I like it

von Sue S

Apr 21, 2017

I'm very glad I took this course. I've kept chickens throughout much of my life since childhood and some of the information presented here made me go, "Oh! Now I get it." The course was well structured and presented in an informal yet professional manner that I found appealing. This was one of my first coursera classes so I don't know if it's already offered, but I would love to see this team put together a course on chicken breeds if they haven't already. The only downside to this class was that the last section (slaughter) seemed (to me) a bad note to leave on. Maybe add a bit about bringing in the new batch of chicks or just anything a bit more upbeat. Thanks to everyone involved for a job well done.

von Vivian C

Oct 16, 2017

Excellent course in both material content and the friendly and easy to understand approach from the lecturer.

von Rafik S

Aug 07, 2017

thanks

von Paulina A P D

Sep 06, 2017

Necesito el certificado y me gusto mucho el curso muy completo

von Savannah H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! It was a nice refresher on my animal welfare and behaviour courses from my undergrad, while also refreshing my basic poultry housing information too

von alan

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent introduction, factual and informative. Very helpful for the lifestyle hobbyist.

von Lucrecia M

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent information and very dynamic.

von Sarah L

May 11, 2018

Really interesting. I learnt a lot which I can use with my own chickens.

von Matthew A

Jul 14, 2017

This course is a good course for beginning and experienced poultry farmers I would recommend it to anyone.

von Savannah

Oct 17, 2016

Really great! (if you want to learn about chickens:)

von Maho C

Aug 01, 2017

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.