Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
440 Bewertungen
163 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 159 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Lucrecia M

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent information and very dynamic.

von David B J

Sep 08, 2016

exelente curso muy practico y ameno

von Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

von Matthew J C

Jun 28, 2018

An extremely informative course!

von Etta D

Aug 16, 2017

Very helpful and interesting!

von Jamie H

Feb 20, 2017

Very thorough. Learned a lot.

von Joao L W

Jun 11, 2017

Very educational and honest.

von Mary L B

Sep 24, 2016

I learned a lot! Thank you.

von Juandy B

Jul 08, 2017

Very informative I like it

von Christina S

Aug 24, 2018

Great course, loved it!

von Muhammad B c

Nov 29, 2018

very informative.....

von Patricia P

Aug 06, 2019

So very informative!

von Carolina M B

Mar 25, 2019

Very well designed!

von Zaidi R

Aug 15, 2017

I liked this course

von Maria C

Aug 11, 2019

Very informative!

von ALMA M M H

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent course

von Crystal G

Jun 15, 2016

Learned a lot!

von Wolf

Nov 18, 2019

Good Course

von fernando g u

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent

von Raquel B

Oct 19, 2016

Excelent

von Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

von Rafik S

Aug 07, 2017

thanks

von Steve E

Sep 15, 2019

I realize this course is offered by the University of Edinburgh, however I wish there was less emphasis on unnecessary facts related to the UK such as "What percentage of chickens were free range in the UK in 2013" which in no way matters to me as someone trying to learn about raising and caring for chickens. That said, I learned A LOT in this course. So many things I did not know that I did not know. Chicken behavior, feeding, watering, transport, feather pecking, as a few examples. I will recommend this course to anyone I meet who asks where to learn more about chickens, raising them, or caring for them.

von Emlynn C

Jul 01, 2017

Course was very dense but well organized so that this 6 week long course can be knocked out in a weekend. Has a lot of different views on methods of poultry farming that are all treated with respect and is a great way to learn the basics of poultry whether it's for commercial or backyard production. Only complaints are that it's test-only, no written or free answer exercises (which may be par for coursera, I wouldn't know) and that treatment options for a few common illnesses/injuries/abnormalities such as being egg bound or egg eating were not discussed

von Johan T

Jun 17, 2016

Very interesting course. Truly enjoyed studying the behaviour of the animals I started appreciating a lot. Nevertheless 4 out of 5 stars because I felt the course is typically focusing on the large scale agro industrial side more then the (increasing number) of small scale/hobby keepers. Also I would have loved to learn more about typical chicken health care issues and how to prevent. All in all very informative and definitely a course I recommend!