Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding child development: from synapse to society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding child development: from synapse to society by Utrecht University

4.6
58 Bewertungen
14 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, we dive into the topic of child development. You will learn that child development is complex and is influenced by a surprisingly rich number of factors at many different levels of organization. You will see that development can be studied in various domains and at various levels of understanding, from different angles and disciplines. Importantly, you will come to understand that processes within and between the various domains and levels of organization continuously interact to shape development. This implies that understanding development requires taking an interdisciplinary approach. In order to help you organize your thinking about this complexity you will learn more about the developmental systems approach and theories related to that. We will look, amongst other things, at the brain and motor development, cognitive, language and social-emotional development and all the factors that have an influence on development. To illustrate how an interdisciplinary approach helps to understand child development you will see how researchers from various disciplines and backgrounds study child development at Utrecht University. These scientists will give a look in their field of knowledge and their collaboration with colleagues, to illustrate how the theory you will learn translates to practice. In sum, we invite you to follow us on a journey to understand child development from synapse to society!...

Top-Bewertungen

RM

Oct 14, 2018

I have absolutely loved this course. Challenging but accessible. Every week has been engaging. I enjoyed the variety of research papers, video lectures and interviews.

NP

Mar 20, 2019

Amazing course, I learn a lot about child development in the past 6 weeks!

Filtern nach:

1 - 13 of 13 Reviews for Understanding child development: from synapse to society

von Irina S

Apr 04, 2019

The content of the course is very good, however, I highly recommend you not to buy a Certificate. The assignments of this course are graded by peers. That's what happen to me in the end: I did all the assignments on time, but in the end of the course there were no people to check it. As it is recommended in FAQ, I've written in the forum for 3(!) times asking people to grade it. There were about 5(!) moderators, but no one paid attention. Even though I did all the required work, I didn't get the Certificate, that I really need. Your final result basicly depend on other people's mood (not even teachers, just the students). So don't waste you money, just listen to the content.

von Eva

Sep 14, 2018

It's a really helpful course to lead you understand develomental psychology.

von novayuandini g p

Mar 20, 2019

Amazing course, I learn a lot about child development in the past 6 weeks!

von Jorge R

Mar 20, 2019

I think it is an excellent course to understand a little more the development of our children. As a teacher I think it is a foundation to understand and support our students in their training process.

von GEORGIANNA R

Mar 18, 2019

I was looking to boost up my childcare profile. I learned a great deal of new areas relating to how child development is studied. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to learn more about child development processes.

von Ana S G S

Mar 11, 2019

Impressive content, easy to learn and provides life tools.

von Pallavi D D

Feb 06, 2019

interesting

von Balkrishna B

Oct 15, 2018

Excellent content and very good presentation.

von Rose F M

Oct 14, 2018

I have absolutely loved this course. Challenging but accessible. Every week has been engaging. I enjoyed the variety of research papers, video lectures and interviews.

von Nina L

Jun 12, 2018

I have no background at all in this subject, but as I am a mother I am generally interested in child development and that was the reason for me to follow the course. I found it a nice overview of all the different aspects involved in child development and with an academic background (PhD) it was easy to follow. It took me around 3 hours per week to go through.

von Gulus G

May 07, 2018

“Development from synapse to society” -reflecting its name very well- fulfilled my expectations. The fact that it combines subjects like the human brain development, media literacy, sociocultural theory, language development and the relationship between emotions and culture provided me with answers to many questions in my mind. This course makes it clear that development cannot be understood without combining researches in several fields of knowledge.

von Natalie G

Feb 28, 2018

The professor gives a lot of detailed information quickly in the lectures and also lets us see interviews with researchers to assist in the learning. We read good papers too throughout the week which are interesting. The difficulty of the course is just right and the knowledge we gain from the course is fantastic. You feel like you are actually learning the information rather than just gaining facts for a quiz.

von Khadija L

Aug 18, 2017

It was very interesting and I really enjoyed this course. Thank you very much.