Chevron Left
Zurück zu Child Nutrition and Cooking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Child Nutrition and Cooking von Stanford University

4.8
Sterne
6,948 Bewertungen
2,141 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top-Bewertungen

RH

Sep 17, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

ZP

Oct 07, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

Filtern nach:

2051 - 2075 von 2,128 Bewertungen für Child Nutrition and Cooking

von Erica B

Sep 13, 2020

The modules are rampant with bias against "big food," without considering the science. On the other hand, if you take the course as a whole, then yes, the population would be better off if we all followed the suggestions contained in this course than if we continue on our current path for how we consume food. So the general idea is not without merit. However, I would have expected better from a Stanford faculty member. What is being taught should be just the science, without opinions or biases.

von Evita

Nov 27, 2015

It is a really interesting course, it refers to the general public, with smart tips and quick recipies. Also, for those who know nothing about the sience part of lipids, carbohydrates and trace elements, in generall, it constitutes a very informative ''package'' for everyone. There is no specialaization in this kind of coures us I expected, because I am a food technologist, I kwnow most of the parts, but still it is really helpfull and interestin! Verry good job!

von Jennifer C

Oct 13, 2015

This is a great course for new parents who have no background on child nutrition. For those who are already familiar with basic nutrition, most of this course may be a review for you but there's some good information and facts to take away. I wish the instructor had a little more training/skill in the cooking segments (e.g. basic knife skills she said don't cut your finger but held the knife completely wrong, using the knife to point at different ingredients).

von Stephanie U

Feb 06, 2016

Very good place to start for beginners with some scientific information. Easy and quick to do food demonstrations, basic enough that students can build upon them depending on what is available at hand.

Some ideas just tend to be redundant throughout the weeks, but I guess that is what she wants to stress on. No to processed food!! :)) I just wish you kept the discussion boards open, so we have a platform to discuss ideas and exchange recipes.

von Elly V M H

Nov 09, 2015

Child Nutrition and Cooking was a pretty fun and easy course. As a stay at home mom and experience novice cook since childhood this class was more of a recap of basic cooking for me and a nice reminder of nutritional goals and current standards. I enjoyed it for my introduction to Coursera. Unfortunately this course didn't offer offer a certificate or statement of accomplishment in any form at the time I took it. :(

von Alexandra R

May 03, 2017

Dear Sir or Madam, after completing the short course introduced by Stanford school of medecine I was under the impression that I have watched James Oliver's "Food Revolution with Jamie" where he was sharing basic facts about carbs and proteins. That whould be extremely beneficial if you add more information about the healthy food, GMO and WHO organisation in your course. Thank you.

von Karina J

Aug 22, 2017

The design of the course, the videos and the lecturers are really great! I would say the overall execution of the course is much better than the other courses I've taken so far. What makes me rate this as an average is due to the contents. I expected interesting conundrums about nutrition would also be presented, but I only found a simple and common knowledge covered.

von Chelsea

Jul 01, 2016

After taking a Nordic food diet course where they talked about children's' diets in the Nordic countries and how they were changing the norm, this course covered the basics as to what and why certain foods are good for you. I had been hoping for more complex recipes, but there were some differences to my dishes that I already make which were a nice change.

von Carolina B

Jul 28, 2020

En varios de los videos se escucha un ruido de fondo cuando está dibujando en el whiteboard. Creo que podría enfocarse un poco más a nutrición y menos a la gastronomía. Me decepciona mucho que el curso no tenga ningún crédito. Cuál es el objetivo de que una universidad renombrada proporcione un curso con ustedes si no tendrá ninguna validez???

von Gerry P

Nov 19, 2015

Good course for beginners, but those with higher levels of nutrition knowledge will likely: 1. Find it way too easy; 2. Find that the recipes actually contain rather unhealthy ingredients (e.g., always avoid butter--too unhealthy); and 3. Find the lack of vegetarian, vegan, low-carb, and other diet-lifestyles discouraging.

von Rafaela M d O S

Jul 09, 2020

I would expect to have more information on vegetables. I am trying to become vegan, but I am concerned about the nutritional value. Also, the information about amino acids is out of date. How to make meals without the 8 allergens would also be helpful. I think the course was very superficial.

von james M

Aug 22, 2015

this course is very useful if you want to learn about something that majority of people(not including me) don't care about, and is based on out-dated info and opinions of a high middle class, house mom. this course is a waste of data. someone get some actual statistics here.

von Elizabeth V

Aug 27, 2019

It was a little bit basic for me. I am a pediatrician and I was looking for something more sophisticated. I know it said beginner but I figured I would try it anyway. I did find the speaker easy to understand, pleasant and informative. I did learn along the way as well.

von Gabriela V B P

May 09, 2020

I quite liked it because it had some information I was not aware of but most of it pretty basic. I wanted a more specific course, not necessarely super advanced but at least not THAT basic. Also she repeated several times the same information on each module.

von Nina L

Jun 20, 2018

Nice overview, I didn't really learn a lot of new things, but it was a good refresher and also encouraged me again to review our eating habits. I would have liked to have a bit more information about the portion sizes per food group per age range.

von Ashley C

Jun 14, 2017

Very basic, but good info if you are brand new to cooking and health. I don't agree with everything taught (like the heavy use of dairy, eggs, and meat), but it's definitely a better approach to diet than the Standard American Diet.

von Alicia S A

Apr 26, 2018

Very good course but I think you need to update it, do not use processed products, and replace them with healthier products, such as the type of salt, the type of sweetener, the type of oil, the type of flour, etc. .

von Claudia L

Oct 06, 2015

Es un curso muy útil para quienes decidimos lo que comen nuestros niños. Sin embargo esta mucho mas orientado hacia personas que viven en EUA (aun cuando muchos de los temas son parte de la problemática global).

von Meg W

May 13, 2016

Too simple for what I was looking for. Wanted more detail on specific day-to-day routines/ for weaning from breast milk to solids, including learning the nutritional basis for recommendations. Then also m

von Gowri

Dec 10, 2019

The course was pretty informative and stressed on the basics and fun of cooking.But i found it to be a little repetitive through the weeks and also more technical information could have been shared.

von Jeroen v d B

Sep 02, 2015

Good and clear content. A bit from an American point of view... I missed some in depth explanation (like the class of the nerv-system or the Glycemic index). Overall easy to watch and good lessons.

von Berenice J S V

Jan 05, 2017

Loved the course, would take a continuation if available. Little basic but with enough info. Great ideas for cooking. Felt it was too based in USA information and some was not really conclusive.

von Tamara M

Sep 11, 2016

There are some nice cooking tips, but this is targeted to very young students/parents with no cooking experience, and I expected more than general information on food impacts on children.

von Latika G

Mar 19, 2018

A very good course. I would appreciate if the context of the course could be GLOBAL instead of US Centric. Since I am an Indian, I found many references non-relevant to our culture.

von Dora D

Aug 08, 2015

Nice course about eating suggestions and good recipes

It could be useful giving details on how making a diet for children, with information about calories they need and so on