Chevron Left
Zurück zu Climate Adaptation in Africa

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Climate Adaptation in Africa von University of Cape Town

4.8
Sterne
44 Bewertungen
16 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explores why climate change adaptation is important in the African context. Africa is considered one to be one of the most vulnerable regions to climate change. Historically, climate-related hazards such as drought, flooding, pest and disease outbreaks, coastal storms and heat waves have had devastating impacts on people and the environment in which they live. Often the damage knocks back progress that has been made in social and economic development, slowing down the achievement of development goals. Climate models suggest that many of these climatic hazards will intensify as the global climate warms. Building resilience to climate risks, through adaptation, is critically important for future development in Africa. The course will examine adaptation in theory and in practice, through a focus on four sectors that are critically important for climate resilient development in Africa: Water Security, Agriculture and Food Security, Ecosystems and Ecosystem Services and Resilient Cities....

Top-Bewertungen

SN

Oct 31, 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

MK

Jun 29, 2020

Very good course to understand Africa`s current & future challenges related to climate change and what could be possible to do in the African context. I highly recommend it.

Filtern nach:

1 - 16 von 16 Bewertungen für Climate Adaptation in Africa

von Etienne K K

May 04, 2020

Very good course. Very knowledgeable tutor. Mark was very clear, each point presented fitted very well with the content being discussed. The examples used were very practical and very informative.

This was a very excellent course and highly recommended for even African leaders.

However, the grading of peer reviews could be improved. The points could be better distributed to cover various scenarios. For example, if a question requires a list of 3 items and an explanation of each, it needs to have pointing systems that range from 6 to 1. meaning if 1 is missing from the list, then we can score 4/6. Or if 1 is listed without explanation, then it is a 5/6 score. In many cases, grading was easy, but assigning a score was not so easy as in-betweens were needed.

von Jasmin R

May 04, 2020

I found this course super interesting! It discusses a wide range of different adaptation issues, taking into consideration both the environmental and humanitarian aspects of climate change. Even though the focus is on Africa, the information can be adapted to other contexts as well. I was fairly well educated about climate change before taking the course, but I feel like it really boosted my knowledge of the adaptation and development aspect. I would definitely recommend it!

von Jessica A

Mar 27, 2020

So well presented, great content and useful exercises. Professor New has created a must-have course for anyone starting out in climate change adaptation, or those who need a refresher. I recommend it widely.

von Sizwe N

Oct 31, 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

von Mouloukou K

Jun 29, 2020

Very good course to understand Africa`s current & future challenges related to climate change and what could be possible to do in the African context. I highly recommend it.

von Carl A S

Aug 31, 2019

A comprehensive introduction to the current and potential long-term effects of climate change on the socio-economic well-being of the African continent.

von Thabisile N

Oct 31, 2019

Very informative course for people who want to learn fundamental issues of climate change adaptation in the African context. Highly recommended course.

von Alexander B

May 21, 2020

Extremely good and insightful content on an equally pressing issue providing countless examples and progress markers to ensure your understanding.

von KOUASSI K T B

Oct 24, 2019

Super ce cours. Je suis bien outillé pour comprendre les questions relatives au climat et les stratégies d'adaptation dans les pays africains.

von Renelle

Jun 03, 2020

This is an excellent course. I learnt so much that I can start to apply in my current work environment. Thank you.

von Iviwe M

May 28, 2020

Very informative and eye-opening

von Lily M

Jun 30, 2020

Really interesting course!

von Kleber L d S

Jan 29, 2020

NOVOS CONHECIMENTOS

von Vince M

Dec 24, 2018

A very informative and practical course especially for todays world where climate change is a reality in Africa and across the globe.

von Oliver S N

Aug 30, 2019

Mark New did an excellent job- would definitely recommend to anyone interested in geography or environmental studies.

von Amy T

Jun 15, 2020

I learned so much information!