Chevron Left
Zurück zu From Climate Science to Action

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für From Climate Science to Action von The World Bank Group

4.7
Sterne
222 Bewertungen
91 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Each part of the world faces specific vulnerabilities to climate change and has different opportunities to mitigate the effects and build resilience in the 21st century. With the ratification of the Paris Agreement, many countries have acceded to act in combatting climate change. Indeed, without climate action, decades of sustainable development is at risk, thus making this a ‘make or break’ point in time. Showcasing the most recent scientific evidence, explaining the different regional impacts and divulging climate action strategies, along with interactive tools such as a Carbon Footprint Tracker and (I) NDC Platform, this MOOC provides some opportunities, where you can take action on climate change. About the Course This action-oriented MOOC gives you the opportunity to learn about regional climate change impacts and sector-specific strategies to increase resilience and move towards a low-carbon future. You will have the opportunity to explore these issues in depth and tailor your learning experience for one or more of the following regions: • Latin America and Caribbean • Sub-Saharan Africa • Middle East and North Africa • Eastern Europe and Central Asia • East Asia and Pacific • South Asia In this endeavor, the MOOC brings together renowned scientists and policymakers to provide a synthesis of the most recent scientific evidence on climate change, regional low emissions and climate resilient development strategies across sectors. A team of expert Instructors will lead discussions around the Paris Agreement, reflections from COP22 and the progress on Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs). Course Syllabus Overview ‘From Climate Science to Action’ is divided into four weeks. The first two weeks will provide a comprehensive overview of the scientific evidence for climate change, followed by region-specific insights on the impacts of a warmer world in the 21st century. The last two weeks will focus on action strategies that are being undertaken in different regions and countries to meet the climate challenge, and how you as an individual can take action to avoid a warmer world! Week 1: Climate Change in the 21st Century • Historical and projected observed changes in the climate system, leading up to the end of the 21st century • The potential of Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs) submitted at COP 21 from 187 countries to induce climate action • Trends in climate change impacts, including loss of Arctic sea ice, melting glaciers, increased heat waves and extreme temperatures, and drought and aridity • Possible responses from natural systems, explaining how warming could result in sea-level rise, heat waves and extreme temperatures, and ocean acidification Week 2: Sectoral and Regional Impacts • Impacts on key development sectors—from warming above pre-industrial temperatures and projected climate trends—across each of the world’s regions • Sectoral impacts focusing on agricultural production, water resources, ecosystem services, and coastal vulnerability for affected populations • Importance of risks with the potential to reverse hard-won development gains and potentially trap millions in poverty, illustrating the need for urgent action now Week 3: From Science to Action on Climate Change • Region-specific discussions on mitigation actions needed to reduce emissions while decreasing vulnerability to climate change impacts through adaptation and by building climate resilience • Perspectives from regional experts on their experiences in strategies and actions proposed in each region to help transition towards a low-emissions, climate-resilient development path • Discussions on the progress of the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), outcomes of the Paris Agreement and reflections from the Conference of Parties (COP)22 Week 4: What You Can Do • Transformative impact of day-to-day changes when brought to a global scale • The rationale for acting now, acting together and acting differently • Examples and expected benefits of mitigation and adaptation policies, considering both contributions to global emission reductions and local development opportunities In addition to the core resources and assignments, you may choose to go further, engaging in fun optional exercises, networking, discussion, and diving deeper into our rich selection of supplemental resources. You will have the opportunity to explore these issues in depth and tailor your learning experience for one or more of the following regions: • Latin America and Caribbean • Sub-Saharan Africa • Middle East and North Africa • Eastern Europe and Central Asia • East Asia and Pacific • South Asia Course Format This MOOC has a week-by-week structure, with resources, activities and exercises for you to engage in during each of the four weeks of the course. Each week, you will find a variety of course material, including: • Interactive video talks by renowned climate scientists and practitioners • Interactive tools: the Carbon Footprint Tracker, (I) NDC platform • Resources: Core, optional (deep dive) and fun interactives on the week’s theme • Quizzes that check your knowledge, reinforce the lesson’s material and provide immediate feedback • Assignments that will sharpen your skills of analysis, reflection and communication • Discussion forums and social media that enable collaboration with others from around the world, enriching interaction among participants • As a final project, you will create a digital artifact You can also go much further than this, engaging in optional exercises, networking, or discussion forums and dive deeper into our rich selection of additional resources. We also will use e-discussions, and other tools to facilitate dialogue between the learners and experts. Recommended Background: No background knowledge is necessary. The content of this course is designed to be accessible to students from any discipline. Connect: Communicate and share resources via Twitter using hashtag #learnclimate. Sign up for a free account at http://twitter.com...

Top-Bewertungen

TS

Jun 05, 2017

It was very informative, the discussions were lively and brought together thinking around the world and broadened my perspective on Climate Change and its possible effects if we do nothing now.

VR

May 23, 2020

This course give quite comprehensive learning about climate science and makes you think how can you use this knowledge in your personal and professional domain as concrete action.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 88 Bewertungen für From Climate Science to Action

von Nicola C

Jun 05, 2017

the course had an impressive wealth of information and resources. I was impressed by the careful organization not only of the topics, but also of the exercises, especially the optional ones, which really helped to dive into specific details of the material, and were key to see things in practice. I have one suggestion for improvement. Although the videos were all of high quality, I think having 5-10 min videos with a single person speaking in front of a camera is not effective in conveying messages, especially because it is clear they are reading from a script. People behave and communicate more effectively when they are not reading directly form a curated text. the results is that reading the transcript of the video was better than watching the video itself. My suggestion would be to have conversations and/or debates on video, and leave detailed information for the written material. Finally the entire course was impressive for the knowledge and expertise of all the people involved, and despite my limited time I have also learned some important from the discussion forums. Thank you very much for making this available to us .

von Tuvshinzaya A

Jun 05, 2017

It was very well-designed and thought-out course. The video lectures were great, but I think the "deep dive" websites and readings were the best feature of this class. There is an array of information of climate change, overwhelmingly so, and they did a great job of laying out the best sources in a well-organized fashion. The peer-graded assignment really made sure that we actively understood and worked with the material personally, not just passively take in information, and that is a crucial component of any good class. Overall, this was a great introduction to MOOC classes, and I wish I could make everyone take part in this course! Thank you, World Bank group!

von Anindita N A

Jun 11, 2017

I thought I know what climate change is, until I enroll in this course. I realized that I only know about climate change partially. But now, I understand about every impact that climate change can make, the affected parties, and how they are affected. I now can see the big picture, and know what to do. Thank you so much World Bank for conducting this course!!

von Ahmed W Q

Jul 01, 2017

A great course. I really appreciate the efforts of all individuals, teachers, experts and institutions (Coursera team, the World Bank Group and others) who are involved in designing as well as as running of this course successfully. To me, learning with a highest level of interest right from the start to end is the key to success of this course and the innovative efforts of designers of this course are highly appreciable in this regard.

von Kerry B

Jun 05, 2017

I really appreciated and like the course. From climate science to actions. We need all to act in order to reduce the climate effects on our planet. To keep the warm temperature under 2°C is the target focused by many countries under the Coop 21 Paris agreement. But we can still taking individual actions to reduce carbon. If you need to learn more I recommend you to through this online course and take your part of responsibility today.

von Deepinti W

Jun 01, 2020

This is an excellent course which gives an overview of climate change - like a handbook on climate change. All the basics are explained well with plenty of resource materials. The interactive resource materials are especially helpful in understanding the concepts. I would recommend the course to anyone who needs a general idea on climate change or have a deep understanding on certain topics.

von Asekhame U Y

Jun 07, 2017

This course helped me to understand the science of climate change and the various ways it is affecting different parts of the world. I also learnt what mitigation and adaptation are about.

Partaking in this course will make one reflect and realize the importance of acting now, acting differently, and acting together. Thanks to this course, I am now an advocate for climate action.

von Gianfranco A

Jun 01, 2020

I learned a lot about climate science and its necessity on the climate action. As an environmental engineer, I improved my knowledge and I feel ready to start a change. First in my city and then in my country. Thank you for everything!

von Weill S

Jun 07, 2017

Very interesting course, full of detailed sources and paved with interactive activities / forums. I learned a lot on climate change and its different aspects. The various weekly assignments are just demanding as necessary, but also challenging and pedagogical. In a nutshell : congratulations I really enjoyed it, and would definitely recommend it !

von Hamidu M

Jun 05, 2017

This course was excellent, the experience terrific and the enlightenment was really eye popping.

I have been able to see how Climate Change impacts everyone including both rich and poor, this course has taught me how to reduce my carbon foot print and make our world a sustainable place for us all

von Farhat

Jun 06, 2017

This was wonderful experience for to learn this course with complete information not only my region from the world. This is great platform for learning and discussing climate change and its impact on human life globally. I am looking forward to learn more about this type of course.

Regards.

von Avik N

May 30, 2017

This was an extremely good learning experience towards climate change and the procedure for mitigation and adaptation. I would definitely try to implement the learnings from this course at every level. Also, I would definitely recommend others to take this course whenever available.

von KRUPAL B

Jun 08, 2017

The course opened my eyes to the magnitude of climate change with the help of data and evidences. It compels the learners to think about the solutions and requires that the learners take the first step in creating awareness and bringing about change in our behaviours.

von Rajiv C

Aug 21, 2020

I like this course a lot. There was a lot of material to go through, but it was well worth the effort. I came away a good understanding of the issues involved.

The course was structured very well.

I recommend this to anyone who wants to start this journey

von Nisha S

May 12, 2020

I really loved the assignment and the reference material of the course. It helped in enhancing my knowledge about the action that can be taken at an individual, group, regional, national and global level for contributing towards climate change.

von Harshvardhan T

Mar 14, 2020

A must have course for anyone - be it student or adult or politician or social worker. It's this point in time where we need to react urgently to climate change, otherwise what all we would be left is regret. Keep this course online forever.

von Öykü A

Jun 20, 2017

It was very educational. I learnt a lot during the course. And also it is not very expensive like other courses to get a certificate which makes the course accessible for everyone who also wants a certificate. I would recommend to everybody.

von Sumit P

May 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It reflects the valuable insights about climate change and its impact. thank you team once again and the World Bank Group for providing this course. Looking forward to attend more in days to come.

von anushka m

Jun 01, 2020

Even though i was aware that climate change was happening but this course opened my eyes .i would recommend everybody to take this course as it is very informative and it might urge you do something about the climate change.

von Jesus R M L

Jun 29, 2017

Fue una experiencia excelente tener información de las consecuencias que nuestra forma de vivir puede afectar las condiciones del hábitat de todos los seres humanos en el presente y futuro del ser humano

von Tessa S

Jun 05, 2017

It was very informative, the discussions were lively and brought together thinking around the world and broadened my perspective on Climate Change and its possible effects if we do nothing now.

von Vivek R

May 23, 2020

This course give quite comprehensive learning about climate science and makes you think how can you use this knowledge in your personal and professional domain as concrete action.

von Richard H

May 10, 2016

Everyone should take the course if they have a computer. We need to start admitting the science and focusing upon how to fix this over the next few decades. We need a plan.

von Shruti D

Jun 05, 2017

This course has provided me with a strong foundation for understanding climate related impacts and the different avenues that are available and can be pursued in this field.

von Désiré N

Jun 12, 2017

Very good material and course pace, I won't claim to be an expert after taking this course, but am definitely more aware of the scale and implications of the phenomenon.