Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics von University of Cape Town

4.8
Sterne
2,869 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top-Bewertungen

AM

15. Dez. 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

28. Juli 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filtern nach:

776 - 800 von 873 Bewertungen für Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

von itai p

22. Apr. 2020

It was pretty good course. The movies parts were done at high level. Very easy to follow and gives a good general view. It would be easier to me to read the statistical part in papers. There are still some small parts, that I believe, could being explain better (I am afraid I still not sure about the central limit theorem :( ) but all in all it was very good.

von Anand P

28. März 2020

This is a good intro to bio-statistics course.

It has one of the most intuitive explanations of p-values and alphas.

Some of the explanations, like for sign and rank tests are confusing.

at times I wished there were more problems to do and reading material, but this is perfect for someone who doesn't want a very math heavy introduction to biostats.

von Joan Y Z L

14. Feb. 2016

It's a good course if you want a general overview of the statistics of clinical research. Personally I was hoping for a little more depth in some of the statistical methods. Some links or suggested readings on the methods would be great as we move along the course. Overall a delightful course. Everything is clearly explained. Thank you Dr. Koppler!

von Deleted A

26. Juli 2017

This is a true course of statistics for beginner especially tailored for health professional. I learn so many basic terms and concept behind the statistics. The 2 to 10 minutes videos combined with keynote are really helpful for understanding. However, I do wish there is similar course that use longer time to include more depth in all aspects.

von Husam E A M I

22. Juli 2016

have learn too much interesting concepts and perspective regarding interpreting the results of an statistical analysis, also knowing how to chose the perfect statistic tool for a given data set>>>>really enjoyed to have such course with that excellent explanation

Note:can you guys make a better presentation image to visualize hard concepts.

von Elham M

24. Jan. 2022

I was looking for a course to check if I perform the basic analysis on my patients' data correctly. This course was exactly the answer I was asking. an abstract but enough explanation on types of variables, sampling methods, study designs and proper epidemiological tests for each type of variables and design.

von Saleh N S A M

7. Juni 2020

Good overall course but I felt a bit lost during the last two weeks of the course as I felt that it was not explained clearly by the tutor. Also because of the tutor accent it was hard at times to keep following what he says so I had to refer to the reading sections in order to understand what he was saying.

von Dinul D

4. Dez. 2020

The course was very well articulated. He covered all the relevant parts and built from the basics up. We could maybe benefit from a bit more description of the background of the different statistics especially around week 3. I felt like there was a small gap there. But overall a wonderful experience

von Kamesh R

26. Nov. 2019

This is a very nice introductory course to clinical research with explanation about various research methodologies and statistical tests and which test to use in what scenario. It makes many concepts clear and lays a good foundation for pursuing further interests in the area of clinical research.

von Elena S T

17. Mai 2020

The course is broad and covers information pertaining to different types of clinical studies, the difference between them, and statistical analysis associated with such studies. Good overview for beginners and a refresher for people that are familiar with either clinical studies or statistics.

von Peerada N

16. Mai 2017

Overall okay, but touches each of the subjects only at the basics. Makes you unable to understand the different types of research and what tests/assessments to use for different kinds of data. Additional self study is required, as they will not go deep into the maths and actual calculation.

von Luigi M

18. Apr. 2020

my personal opinion is that the course is quite well designed, very finely trimmed in many aspects. The only thing I would say is that possibly the course should focus slightly more on which statistical test one should choose. This is the only thing, otherwise it was an outstanding course!

von Morgan G

1. Sep. 2017

The course content was good but I wished for a little more hands on experience with the statistics. I particularly like the optional excel lessons and wish there were more of those. Perhaps add exercises in excel or other spreadsheet software to reinforce the learning?

von John W

18. Nov. 2017

Very good overview of the basics clinical study design and data analysis. I feel that sections 5 and 6 were dealt with a little cursorily with very brief mentions of the different types of statistical analyses. That's why I rated the course 4 stars instead of 5.

von Erum S

16. Juni 2020

It is a very helping course and made maximally convenient in terms of time management. Sessions were both at the beginners level in early weeks but became little bit complicated later well this is the part of the study overall good helping station for us.

von Kathryn M

4. März 2019

Great intro or review for healthcare workers. A little more info and more examples would have been appreciated for all the statistical tests in week 5. Paired t-test is not mentioned in the notes or videos and yet appears in a number of the quizzes.

von Jessica D

7. Juli 2020

Really good course for an introduction to statistics in medical field. Wished there was a bit more visual representations when explaining p-values and areas under the curves, and a bit more explanations on SE, CI's interpretation etc.

von Dennis S

18. Aug. 2019

Dr Klopper is clear in his explanations and has a good grasp of statistics. This course really summarizes the information on statistical tests, but helps introduce you to the terminology and overall meaning of medical studies.

von Sakshi S

14. Mai 2020

I really like this course. Many of the concepts in the course, I previously didn't understand. But now I know them. I think if they will add some mathematical formula also. then I think this is the best course on Coursera.

von Padmaja

31. Juli 2019

Prof Juan Klopper was good with his explanations and provided examples for us to understand. This course truthfully taught the concepts involved in clinical research without having to memorize the mathematical formulas.

von Katharina G

17. Apr. 2020

was a really good course, I have wished to learn more details about statistical tests such as cox regression, fine and gray model, etc., but this would have made the course even longer. Thank you for that great course!

von Kaela H

1. Mai 2020

Very impressed with the platform, and did a great job with high-level explanation of clinical practice based statistics. Will definitely make me more confident in interepreting research articles I read from now on.

von VISHNU G M

5. Mai 2022

Overall, I feel good about this one and recommend it for a basic understanding of clinical research and biostatistics. I reduced 1 star because I felt that parts related to p-value could have been clearer.

von Tarek N

8. Apr. 2016

i found the course very helpful and informative and i t helps to critically read and interpret research papers. my only take on it is that there was no responses to questions that i asked the lecturer

von Ahmed M

21. Apr. 2022

Well organized course to help starting with clinical statistic. The course simplifies a very complicated part of statistics and help in good understanding of literature and when doing research.