Chevron Left
Zurück zu Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
767 Bewertungen
183 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top-Bewertungen

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

DP

Oct 07, 2016

This instructor is fantastic. He is exceptionally thorough and his delivery is very good as well. This is a course definitely worth taking if you are interested in learning more about the cloud.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 177 Bewertungen für Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

von Stephanie B

Jun 27, 2017

I found the concepts taught in this course interesting, but the lectures were far too fast paced (it takes twice the time to get through them if you actually want to get notes down as you will need to pause continuously). I also thought that the programming assignment was far, far too advanced seeing many people who take this course may not be familiar with C++ or programming in general. Even with my background being computer engineering, I found it challenging and spent much more time on it than the time suggested by the syllabus. Lastly, the homework was a major step up from lectures seeing there were minimal examples given in the lectures. Overall, the assessment was so ordinary that I would probably recommend not paying for this course. I kind of wish I could still get my money back.

If you want to do this course properly, double the time it tells you it will take for each part of it. You'll need to. If you're working full time and just looking for a hobby course, don't do this one. Or do it across two sessions, instead of trying to get it done in the 5 weeks. Don't do it if you want to learn how to use cloud computing - only if you want to research in cloud computing or need to know how it works under the hood.

This course would benefit from a slower pace and more detailed examples. I feel that everything was rushed and minimal guidance was given, which made the course not particularly enjoyable for me. Without some background in computer science, I think this would be a real struggle to get through at all.

Sorry for the lengthy review, I hope it helps someone decide whether this course is really for them.

von Ehsan M

Apr 25, 2018

The educational material do not meet the expected quality, as of many other courses. The instructor speaks too fast, with a lot of technical jargon in between each sentence, but does not interact with the user by annotating the slides. So, I had to keep moving my eyes around (reading compact text, or complex graphs) to try to make a connection between his words, and which part of slides he is speaking about.

Furthermore, I have excellent Python and Fortran and CUDA background, but not C++, so, I cannot do the final exam. I am gonna drop out of this course.

von Jason N

Jul 11, 2017

The programming assignment is very old style C code/C++ not using any of the updated/newer syntax. It required spending more time relearning old coding conventions than actually implementing the algorithms and such. Was very frustrating. The material and course overall is great, save that assignment, which is required to pass.

von Craig K

Jun 07, 2019

My experience with this course was mostly positive. The lectures were helpful and fairly brief compared to a standard university class. The instructor provides good examples and the presentation slides are a good study guide. FWIW, the workload for this course is much less than a graduate level CS course (at least in my experience).

The negatives about this class: The homework/quiz assignments often asked you to solve a scenario more complicated than anything discussed in lecture, and there's no book to go read to get a better understanding. This made for an unnecessarily frustrating quiz process. Other reviewers have already criticized the programming assignment, and I concur with most of the complaints. You end up wasting too much time working on things other than learning content related to the course.

von Satya P M

Jul 30, 2017

Felt like the assignments were too good for what was covered. We have to Google outside the course material to understand many concepts. But loved the fact that we got chance to try some hands on. That clarified a lot about Gossip style protocol. But the contents in the course about Chandy-Lamport algorithm needs SURE restructuring. It is NOT AT ALL adequate to answer the assignments. I request professor, Coursera to have a second look at these topics.

von Mona L

Oct 11, 2016

The instructor's lecture sounded too robotic and I feel like he didn't make any effort to explain some of the principles or simplify the course to the audience. It feels like he just copied concepts and pasted them into the lecture and then read them quick.

von 刘子仟

Aug 13, 2017

An acceptable course to those who want to have an insight to cloud computing.

von Bruno M

Feb 01, 2019

Having to do the coding assignment in c++ is kind of bad :/

von Deepti S

Mar 01, 2019

Seems a bit difficult in the beginning, especially if there is a long break from academics but a thorough and in depth course

von ViciOs

Jul 27, 2017

这人说话总是爱绕弯,也可能是我英语太差,听他这些停顿,无数多的从句感觉很头疼。

von samir s

Aug 06, 2017

The instructor seems to be in a hurry to get over the course and the course should rather be called a theoretical introduction to concepts in distributed computing. The slides are confusing with no animation. The programming assignment statement is just vague. Wouldn't recommend folks to pay and attend this. This may at best be for audit.

von Carmine L

Jul 25, 2017

The lessons are a bit boring, an interactive blackboard or animated examples could help.

von Tarun B

Dec 19, 2016

Not very engaging. Information overflow and poorly delivered lectures where the instructor is just reading from slides. I don't recommend paying for this, it is better to just check out the syllabus and read about this stuff online.

Note to instructor: Very simple concepts were explained using overly complicated language. Also, please refrain from over using the word 'essentially'.

von Prabhu

Dec 13, 2018

The best course I've done through MOOC technology, Subject has been treated with great detail.

von Liu X

Nov 27, 2018

Although the course is difficult, you can benefit from doing your homework yourself.

von Shehenaz S

Mar 26, 2019

Good details on concepts. Revised it multiple times. Crash course on distributed systems. Thank you for offering, Professor.

von Qi W

Mar 30, 2019

Interesting and challenging programming assignment. I like to topics this course goes through: membership protocol, snapshot, CAP, and Paxos. I would highly recommend people who are interested in distributed system take this course.

von Lee F

Feb 08, 2019

This is one of the best internals courses I have taken. If you want to understand the cloud at the protocol level, take this course!

von Cenxui L

Apr 01, 2019

good to understand deeper for cloud computing , it's good to practice my skill

von Felipe N F

Mar 06, 2019

Amazing, very rich content, it allows you to go deep in understanding distributed systems. May be a hard course if you are just looking to understand cloud computing superficially, and much more if you don't know C++.

von Swapna I

Jun 26, 2017

Engaging hands on course. Wish there was a specialization catered to the real world out there for Distributed Systems.

von Vishal B

Sep 17, 2017

really insightful to have fundamentals behind cloud computing

von Shambhu R

Aug 08, 2016

Professor Indranil Gupta is apt in his explanations.

Course Material is highly relevant. Good foundation course for cloud computing.

von Kirtikar K

Sep 27, 2017

Loved the course material and the programming assignment

von Syed A N R

Jun 27, 2017

Carefully crafted content, presented in a straightforward manner!