Chevron Left
Zurück zu U101: Understanding College and College Life

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für U101: Understanding College and College Life von University of Washington

4.6
Sterne
273 Bewertungen
75 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

College can be confusing and intimidating, but U101 can help. If you were just admitted to college and are nervous about what the next step in life might look like, this course is for you. If you are the parent of a newly admitted college student and curious about what college life is like, this course is also for you. While your specific college will, no doubt, provide additional orientation material, we wanted to give some basic information about what life might be like at a large American University. You might be years away from college or enrolled right now; either way, U101 has some excellent advice from college students, professors, administrators, and staff. At the conclusion of the course, learners should: 1. Understand the basics of how colleges and universities operate. 2. Identify and describe what faculty are looking for in college-level academic work. 3. List some effective study strategies. 4. Identify some strategies for exploring and selecting a major. 5. Identify the various types of grants and scholarships available and describe the steps involved in applying to these. 6. Discuss the college life, with special attention to the benefits/limitations of living on or off campus. 7. Identify some strategies for getting the most out of campus life activities (investigating student clubs, fraternities, sororities, etc.). The course is divided into 4 weeks/8 lessons, which provide an overview of the different aspects of college life. If you were just watching the videos and looking at some of the links, the whole course would take about 4-5 hours. Week 1 Lesson 1. Welcome to U101! Lesson 2. Understanding the Nature of College Week 2 Lesson 3. Succeeding as a Student Lesson 4. Building Your Major Week 3 Lesson 5. Financing Your Education Lesson 6. Living On and Off Campus Week 4 Lesson 7. Getting Involved in Campus Life Lesson 8. Conclusion Please join us for a short exploration of modern American Colleges. Hopefully, this course can help demystify your upcoming college experience....

Top-Bewertungen

CE

Jan 06, 2018

The information provided throughout each video was very helpful. Navigating college can feel overwhelming, but there were a lot of useful tips on how to feel more confident while succeeding in school.

ME

Mar 30, 2017

Amazing course. It helps you understand college life and how college works. And gives you tips on how to get the most out of college. Definitely recommend it, specially for international students.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 73 Bewertungen für U101: Understanding College and College Life

von Xiaoyang

Feb 10, 2018

It gives much useful information before coming to study in a foreign univeristy. Thank you so much for your well-organized courses.

von Shreyas M

Jun 15, 2016

Excellent course that illustrates what a future college student should expect in a higher institution.

von Lisa

Feb 08, 2016

I've been to college, so I'm not the target audience for this course, but I was curious to see what would be covered and to learn more about colleges today. I felt the course covered mostly simplistic, obvious stuff and left out a lot that many students wonder about.

One topic that was covered was the different activities of professors. I wished I'd known more about this when I started college. Of course I knew they did research, but I thought they were primarily there to teach. This is true at some colleges, but at others, the amount and quality of research can determine whether a professor gets to continue working there and reach tenure. So teaching may not be the first priority for some professors. Students may find that chunks of courses are devoted to a professor's research interests, which could enrich or derail the course. This could have been covered in more depth.

Other things that could have been covered: why some courses are so large and the function of recitation sections and graduate teaching fellows for those and smaller courses; what a seminar is; the existence of course reviews that can help with selecting classes and professors; how to deal with not getting into a course you really need to take (wait lists, professorial overrides, etc.); when pre-requisite courses are really necessary and when they're just recommended; dropping courses; GRADES (how the college grading system works, what happens when you fail a course, academic probation, earning honors); campus codes of conduct (greater freedom as with class attendance; smoking and drinking rules, harassment policies) and disciplinary actions (disciplinary probation, expulsion); good campus activities for shy students.

von Narendra K S

Jul 02, 2020

It hardly effect on my mind and body in college.

My behavior is change and adapt college life as well.

von Anant V

Jun 07, 2020

Quite a wonderful course for people to get familiar with college and how to find their way in life...

von CHERGUI M

May 07, 2020

I fulfilled all the requirements in a course and did not obtain the certificate.

von DANIEL G R

May 07, 2020

Good course. It gives a general idea of college and college life

von Tussanee M

Apr 08, 2020

It is interesting and very good learning. Thanks for learning.

von Mahra M A S A H

Nov 22, 2019

It helps me to understand college life and how college works.

von GilbertCC

Apr 22, 2020

A in-depth college tour that wasn't bias in shape or form.

von Sumika M

Jun 13, 2020

It was well-organized to get ready for college life.

von Vijayendra R L

Jan 05, 2016

Good introduction about American College life

von KIMOU A M A D

Mar 12, 2018

Very inspiring. They demystify College life.

von jade g

Feb 19, 2016

very helpful even after attending college

von Maisha M N

Jun 18, 2020

Good information regarding college life.

von Annesha K G

Apr 15, 2016

Excellent course. Thanks a lot.

von Dharmendra s

Jun 02, 2020

Thank you so much sir and mam

von Glen-David K

Sep 02, 2018

I'd say its pretty good

von Mithun k

Jun 16, 2020

Awesome college life

von K.yukeshwaran

May 23, 2020

Excellent coaching 👍

von Turukina M N

May 09, 2020

It was very usefull!

von Sk K B

May 10, 2020

Very good course

von Eman M A E

Apr 17, 2020

Fantastic course

von Rithvik.R

May 28, 2020

Great course