Chevron Left
Zurück zu Combinatorics and Probability

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Combinatorics and Probability von University of California San Diego

4.6
324 Bewertungen
61 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main `consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top-Bewertungen

PR

Aug 03, 2019

Had loads of fun during most part of the course. Frequent quizzes keep the learner on toes. Thoroughly enjoyed the final programming quiz to implement a dice game.

ZB

Oct 13, 2018

I really enjoyed taking this course. The teaching was pretty good and some of the quiz questions will challenge you if you haven't done Combinatorics before.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 61 Bewertungen für Combinatorics and Probability

von Ganna S

Nov 22, 2017

Great!)

von Arka M

Jul 08, 2018

Great Course.

von Vamsee M K

Dec 02, 2017

A very nice introduction to probability and combinatorics.

von Andrew M

Nov 11, 2017

A great course that is well organized. I love Professor Alexander Shen, because he makes me happy.

von Shubham K P

Apr 19, 2019

Especially the probability part was very good.

von Joseph G N

Apr 28, 2019

This course is a nice introduction to probability and give good ideas to make proof of combinatorics (the week 2 was the best), all of this give it in a nice an intuitive way.

von Parthasaradhi T

Jul 16, 2019

Best Course for beginners

von Putcha L N R

Aug 03, 2019

Had loads of fun during most part of the course. Frequent quizzes keep the learner on toes. Thoroughly enjoyed the final programming quiz to implement a dice game.

von Jedediah S

May 19, 2019

This course was really challenging. I feel like the final project was more difficult to program than to calculate so make sure you have a solid foundation in python. Also itertools is very helpful. The instructors were clear in the lectures and I felt like there was a good progression of exercises. I was really challenged by this course but highly recommend it.

von Karan S

Sep 02, 2019

The explanations with examples and simulations make the concepts crystal clear.

von Vyacheslav K

Sep 06, 2019

Excellent!

von Kartish J

Sep 05, 2019

I Love It while learning this course:)

von Nguyen K T

Sep 11, 2019

so useful

von Harish K T

Sep 15, 2019

If you really want to have a greater grasp over mathematics, don't miss this course.

von Akash y

Jun 14, 2019

it is a nice course

von Alexey S

Sep 21, 2019

Thank you for your course. The content was engaging, teachers were great. I was doing last exercise for long 5 hours to realize there was a simple mistake in my code, pure pleasure, excellent

von DANISH M

Sep 25, 2019

taught me a lot

von Orkun Ö

Oct 15, 2019

Great course! Many thanks to the instructors!

von BAPPADITYA D

Dec 03, 2019

This course offers very detailed concepts of probability theory and helps students to think over real world scenarios where we can apply the magic of probability theory. One needs continuous study of the provided resources and notes to grasp the intuition of probability theory. As per what I have learned from this course is that probability theory is not only abstract mathematics with equations and formulas with tips and tricks rather how we interpret every single problem. Its really random in nature. Thanks to the teachers of these course for interpreting these complex concepts in a much easier and acceptable way.

von Blanca H M

Nov 28, 2019

One of the best MOOCs I have ever taken! Very engaging instructors and good material. My only objection would be some more advanced lectures, as I really enjoyed the last one and the dice game, but still very valuable, especially if you want to brush up on combinatorics and probability or want to improve these abilities for programming, as the quizzes are challenging and well thought.

von Bryan W B

Nov 27, 2018

Much stronger than the first course in this series. I very much enjoyed Vladimir and Alexander's lectures. The weakest part, unfortunately, were Alexander Shen's weeks. I must credit him, however, for being very responsive on the forum.

von Vicky L

Mar 06, 2019

The course is structured reasonably well. I especially liked how the quizzes were setup, there were lots of them testing my understanding from different angles.

However, I felt some of the videos could do with a bit more editing (with the typos and etc.). While these errors were pointed out as quizzes inside the video, it gets a bit distracting. Furthermore, for some of the weeks (week 4 say), there were a lot more material comparing to others (week 6 say). It felt a bit strange with such a huge change in workload to me personally and would have been nice to be slightly more consistent.

Overall, I enjoyed the course and felt like I have learnt the basics for what I wanted. Thanks.

von Michael K H E

Jan 22, 2019

Prof Vlad has really great examples!

von Vincent L

Sep 12, 2018

overall great course and it was exactly what I was looking for. I deducted one star because there were multiple mistakes in the video which were caught immediately by the yellow bar notification, but still was somewhat disappointed because the mistakes were simple, which mean it was as instructors were blindly reading the script rather than thinking and doing the problem on the spot. With that being said though, I really really liked the course and would recommend this to anyone who is looking to have a primer on combinatorics!

von Sudheera S

Aug 29, 2018

Good introduction to combinations. I enjoyed the programming while learning mathematics. The audio of Prof. Alexander Shen is not clear in many instances. The way the checks are done in between the video lectures helps keep going with course. The tests and well designed. Good job Coursera.