Chevron Left
Zurück zu Computational Social Science Methods

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Computational Social Science Methods von University of California, Davis

4.7
Sterne
262 Bewertungen
69 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you an overview of the current opportunities and the omnipresent reach of computational social science. The results are all around us, every day, reaching from the services provided by the world’s most valuable companies, over the hidden influence of governmental agencies, to the power of social and political movements. All of them study human behavior in order to shape it. In short, all of them do social science by computational means. In this course we answer three questions: I. Why Computational Social Science (CSS) now? II. What does CSS cover? III. What are examples of CSS? In this last part, we take a bird’s-eye view on four main applications of CSS. First, Prof. Blumenstock from UC Berkeley discusses how we can gain insights by studying the massive digital footprint left behind today’s social interactions, especially to foster international development. Second, Prof. Shelton from UC Riverside introduces us to the world of machine learning, including the basic concepts behind this current driver of much of today's computational landscape. Prof. Fowler, from UC San Diego introduces us to the power of social networks, and finally, Prof. Smaldino, from UC Merced, explains how computer simulation help us to untangle some of the mysteries of social emergence....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

22. März 2021

This introduction course of CSS Methods is nicely structured. Prof. Hilbert and the others are great presentations. I enjoyed the course and will definitely continue to the next course.

DA

6. Juli 2020

Excellent course and the instructor(s) make it even more engaging. I love Martin Hilbert and his explanations, examples. I enjoyed course 1 alot and continuing course 2 at the moment.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 71 Bewertungen für Computational Social Science Methods

von Dwayne R

21. Nov. 2021

F​antastic introduction to social network analysis and how modeling and machine learning are used to plan or predict future actions from past data.

von Milena

1. Juli 2020

Excellent course for beginners, or those curious to learn more on computational social sciences that don't have a strong technical background.

von ALEJANDRO G

17. Juni 2020

Excellent course to give a great overview of what CSS is. I loved the approach that it takes from the scientific method. 100% recommended.

von Javier L

23. Okt. 2020

Martin Hilber is one of the pioneer researchers on this nobel field. I am really glad that I had the chance to take part of this course.

von Mir D S

16. Aug. 2020

It really helped me in finding that how many things can I do with social data and what new problems can be solved with social networks

von vijayeta m

22. Apr. 2020

Got a rudimentary level understanding of the power of computational tools like ML, SNA and ABM can help in analysis of human dynamics

von Росохатий М С

3. Mai 2022

Amazing course, I really got involved in the ideas presented by all the teachers, I definetelly will continue this specialization.

von Minh D

9. Jan. 2021

I love this course the most. It provided me with amazing, updated knowledge in social science. Thank you Professors in the course.

von Ryan H S

6. Mai 2022

This course is a very fun and engaging overview of CSS. Looking forward to doing deeper dives into all the topics introduced!

von Liz B G

12. Feb. 2021

Excellent course. The instructor is very entertaining made the course enjoyable and the assignments were interesting.

von Arthit S

7. Nov. 2020

A concise course that will introduce you to main computational methods for social science research. Very recommended.

von Mousbah B

25. März 2022

Great course. Very well designed and a nice balance in delivering information and assessing knowledge acquired.

von Dominic L

23. Aug. 2021

Good overview of computational social science concepts and serves to ignite interest in this exciting field.

von Courtney Z

10. Feb. 2021

Really interesting and helpful info. Lots of real world examples makes the info easier to digest.

von Ahnaf T A

6. Aug. 2020

Amazing gateway to doing real science in social science. Thank you, Professor Hilbert!

von Ximena L

7. Jan. 2022

The course was well-paced and engaging. The exercises were relevant and interesting.

von Deepak P

24. Apr. 2022

Although I felt the course could have had more meat, the content was pretty good.

von Janani

27. Feb. 2021

Great course with very relevant topics and excellent professors! Thank you!

von Adebayo O O

15. Aug. 2020

Gilbert somehow made this course interesting. I was spellbound to the end.

von Baidurya C

25. Juli 2020

Really helpful, lucid in presentation, and lovely hands-on exercises.

von Samantha ( A

17. Jan. 2021

Great overview that set up the foundation of the course nicely.

von Sukanto M

23. Feb. 2020

A much needed course in the current scenario.

von Akhil S

31. Aug. 2020

Good Overview, 10,000 ft bird's eye view ;)

von Angad P T

18. Aug. 2020

Great learning experience! Thank you

von Yehkang C

23. Mai 2020

Not that hard but really fruitful.