Chevron Left
Zurück zu Converter Circuits

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Converter Circuits by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
615 Bewertungen
106 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces more advanced concepts of switched-mode converter circuits. Realization of the power semiconductors in inverters or in converters having bidirectional power flow is explained. Power diodes, power MOSFETs, and IGBTs are explained, along with the origins of their switching times. Equivalent circuit models are refined to include the effects of switching loss. The discontinuous conduction mode is described and analyzed. A number of well-known converter circuit topologies are explored, including those with transformer isolation. The homework assignments include a boost converter and an H-bridge inverter used in a grid-interfaced solar inverter system, as well as transformer-isolated forward and flyback converters. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand how to implement the power semiconductor devices in a switching converter ● Understand the origins of the discontinuous conduction mode and be able to solve converters operating in DCM ● Understand the basic dc-dc converter and dc-ac inverter circuits ● Understand how to implement transformer isolation in a dc-dc converter, including the popular forward and flyback converter topologies. Completion of the first course Introduction to Power Electronics is the assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top-Bewertungen

SK

Jul 15, 2018

The course has intensified my interest towards the field of Power Electronics. One won't find such systematic and lucid teaching anywhere else. I am grateful to the instructors of the course.

TS

Apr 06, 2019

This is very awesome course which had cleared my concept and it's assignment had helped me out to implement theory while design related problems. Thank you so much Coursera and Prof.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 of 101 Reviews for Converter Circuits

von Hellenic S

Aug 03, 2017

Excellent Course!

von Andrew

Jan 25, 2017

Advanced my techniques for circuit analysis - great techniques gained

von MUKESH K

Sep 01, 2016

Very knowledgeable and impressive

Thanks

von Luciano B

Apr 12, 2018

Very interesting course. All these dynamics involving converters are awesome. Congratulations for the course. Now heading for course 3. Thanks a lot.

von Raúl

Mar 13, 2016

Superb. Learnt a ton of new things. First lessons on semiconductor physics were a bit challenging but detailed enough to get a hold of the operation of semiconductor switches. It's great to repeat converter analysis techniques week after week so one becomes fluent with those tools.

von Rubem P

Aug 04, 2017

Absolutely fantastic, I'm learning from a relatively basic level to a level of excellence! My efficiency in learning the course is close to 100%, there are few things that I could not understand. I will use my knowledge acquired in this course to elaborate my final project course in Electronic Engineering. Thank you Erickson! :)

von Lionel M

Jul 29, 2018

Course materials are clearly explained. While the quizzes are really tough, they help you consolidate all the learning you have done.

von Abdul B

Jul 30, 2018

This course is so awesome it have blown my mind. Thank You Coursera. Thank You University of Colorado for bringing such a great course to us.

von Abhinav K

May 08, 2019

The 2nd course in the specialization is more detailed and explained thoroughly. Tough quizzes, great assignments! And Dr. Robert Erickson is amazing as usual!

von Maxim C

May 30, 2019

Интереснейшие задания, отличные лекции, доступно разъясняет.

von ABDEL R M A K

Jul 15, 2019

I do recommend this course for every Electrical Engineer.

von Krishna C

Jul 18, 2019

Nice course

von D A

Jul 16, 2019

Nice course, it gave me the basics to analyze different converter circuits

von Bryan A L B

Jul 26, 2019

I can watch this all day.

von Andres H

Sep 11, 2018

I wish we had more LTSpice experiments

von srinath

Dec 13, 2017

Discussion forum is practically dead

von Asif H

Apr 08, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed the class and the content. However, I found it difficult to get feedback on the homework assignments and there isn't a way to review what you missed on submitted assignments after the course is over. Students should be able to get a copy of the solutions for the weekly graded problem sets once the course is over to keep for their records and to review what they missed.

von Jairo E

Dec 02, 2017

The last questionary is a little bit difficult

von Usman R

Jul 04, 2017

Very nice course

von Elyka A

May 06, 2016

Very good, but some topics may need to be explained further, like the realization of the switches

von Guillaume V

Jun 04, 2017

Course 2, Converter Circuits, is as interesting as was Course 1. You can stop, have a rest and retake the course. The work load varies from week to week. You learn the famous converter flyback and forward.

Course 1 is enough if you just want to know what a converter is. But for a real knowledge, I think one must do the other courses of the power electronics specialization, that is to say course 3, 4, 5 and 6. Still a lot of work to come!

von Vivek S G

May 25, 2019

Excellent way to understand the power converters and its relation

most liked topic was -interchange of load and source and realize a converter out of it

but for the flyback and forward it was touch disappointing the lecture did not go well as expected

we need more details in solving the volt-sec balance and charge balance for both converters in detail

von Jay B

May 16, 2019

Good stuff here, Homework really have you thinking.

Lots of pros & cons:

Math formulas are either wrong or right, no partial credits. So, you could actually have the correct answer on paper but its not inputted how the website would detect it then its graded as incorrect.

Good news is you get multiple re-sits.... bad news is if you have a concept wrong and/or input is incorrect then the re-sits are of no use until you figure out the typo or whats wrong with your reasoning.

Bad news - understanding is limited to what the video says, no matter how many times you repeat it. Good news, supplemental reading on google is fair enough to help you get over most hurdles.

Bad news - some homework questions aren't exactly straightforward from the notes.... but, SUCH IS LIFE. Its the same as you local college so dig in and go figure it out, somehow and make use of the re-sits.

Overall, good job. I have learnt a lot and hope I can make it to the end. Looking forward to the design project, nothing beats putting it to life in a "real world application" after torturing with so many formulas and theories.

von victor g

Jul 21, 2017

Great for applied technology on low power DC/DC converters

von Jacky H

Feb 07, 2018

Honestly, the assignments are unnecessarily cumbersome. As an EE student in university, I have learned some contents of power electronics in my own Syllabus, and found this course a good review as well as a source of insights. For a pure enthusiast, I guess this course will be somehow difficult and hard to fully enjoy.