Chevron Left
Zurück zu Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
Sterne
528 Bewertungen
92 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how companies decide on how much debt to take, and whether to raise capital from markets or from banks. You will also learn how to measure and manage credit risk and how to deal with financial distress. You will discuss the mechanics of dividends and share repurchases, and how to choose the best way to return cash to investors. You will also learn how to use derivatives and liquidity management to offset specific sources of financial risk, including currency risks. Finally, You will learn how companies finance merger and acquisition decisions, including leveraged buyouts, and how to incorporate large changes in leverage in standard valuation models. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how companies make financing, payout and risk management decisions that create value • Measure the effects of leverage on profitability, risk, and valuation • Manage credit risk and financial distress using appropriate financial tools • Understand the links between payout policies and company performance • Use derivatives and liquidity management to offset financial risks • Pick an appropriate financing package for an M&A or leveraged buyout deal This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

RO

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

DB

Jun 27, 2019

I didn't realise how much I'd learn in this course. So many concepts I've touched on before and thought I knew a bit about, but in hindsight I really didn't understand, until I completed this course.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 91 Bewertungen für Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

von Laleen D

Mar 15, 2017

This was the most intense and enjoyable courses I've ever taken. Professor Almeida is simply brilliant. He's the type of academic that marries theory with the real world. He's also a first class academic with some great publications. The course provides a great mixture of analysis and then true-to life case work on companies and deals. Be prepared to work But know that you'll come out of this class with a completely solid knowledge of corporate finance. You can't sit back in the class. He challenges you to work and practice and ask questions. I don't know if I've ever learned as much from one class as I did in this one. One thing, usually I speed up my video lectures but I had to slow down my video feeds with Prof. A.! This is the best business class I've ever had.

von ARVIND K S

May 05, 2018

The course was a real revelation to someone like me who has some exposure to corporate finance in a banking career spanning 36 years. The way concepts like optimal capital structure (Dilution is an Illusion), mergers and acquisitions and hedging were presented speak of the enormous efforts put in to lay out the course to the world wide community of avid learners. Personally, I learnt a lot and hope one day to research the topics crying out for more insights from academecians. Thanks a lot.

von David B

Jun 27, 2019

I didn't realise how much I'd learn in this course. So many concepts I've touched on before and thought I knew a bit about, but in hindsight I really didn't understand, until I completed this course.

von Rodrigo P O

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

von Anuar

Jan 11, 2020

Excellent course that gives excellent knowledge and directions to move in the industry.

Professor makes materials easy understandable and gives his advice, that can be implemented in the future.

von John G

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent material and lecture. I enjoyed the great real life examples and how the theory could be applied.

von Treze B

Jun 03, 2020

Great course: I would like to see additional case studies via real world examples via company merger info.

von Jacques P P

Feb 23, 2018

Great and in depth. The use of real world examples and data helps the transfer of theory into practice.

von Andras I

Feb 10, 2020

This is a good introductory course to Corporate Finance, the last subject in the Financial Management Specialisation.

A good investment of time and energy with a few caveats

- I definitely recommend the Ivo Welch book used for recommended reading - but this will take up the time like I mentioned before. It's not necessary to pass but it's important to get a more round picture. The course doesn't follow the order of the book, jumps around quite a lot, still lines up quite well.

- The honors assigmnents are worth the time, make you think in a more organic way than quizzes that tend to be more mechanical.

- Even though it's not mentioned in the requirements, it's definitely useful to take the Investments course first. Or at least have an idea about financial markets, investment instruments (bonds, futures, stocks), some portfolio theory and CAPM. Actually Week4 of that course is a peek into Corporate Finance and I find it a very efficient bridge

von Zhiyong ( S

Oct 06, 2017

I think this course if well structured and very useful! The only suggestion I can give is, I wish when professor is discussing financial numbers on the slides, he can somehow use a pen to point and circle more clearly the number he is talking about. Those financial table can get confusing for someone new to finance, and the discussion may become easier to follow if the slides can be used more similar to a real blackboard.

von Tinghui X

Mar 17, 2020

I really enjoyed the corporate finance course professor Almeida taught. He presents a concept, uses examples to demonstrate how to apply the concept, and places perfect amount of quiz to reinforce the learning. The course is also structured flexibly so that one can choose to take the honors peer-graded assignment if time permits, or taking the quiz and reviewing the answers provided by the professor otherwise.

von Massimo G

Jan 11, 2019

This course complete the topic covered in Part I. It goes more in details with Business cases and explanations, mixing theory and practice. Additionally the exercises combined numerical and explanation of the cases helping to to have a practical but also logical understanding. One of the best course I took on corporate finance, Thank prof. Almeida, hoping to get further courses on corporate finance.

von John T

Mar 11, 2017

One of the most thorough and fair teachers I have ever had. This course was well out of my wheelhouse, but I felt empowered rather than defeated with each exercise and before I knew it I was conversing about current events that previously would have gone well over my ahead. Prof Almeia is the best!

von J S

Feb 26, 2019

This is a great course. The Professor delivers the material using real examples. I enjoyed his teaching style and I learned a lot taking this course. I highly recommend Corporate Finance 1 and 2. In fact, this was my favorite class so far in the iMBA program

von Ayman G S A

May 25, 2020

I am a Group CFO with +25 years of experience in Finance and I still found this course very useful. The instructor is Super! The materials are very clear and covering the whole topics and no waste of time in complicated formulas and theories or statistics!

von Zsófia F

Apr 17, 2020

It was a very good refreshment for my knowledge of finance before I have reentered the field of Corprate Finance in a new job. The course was well structured, gave a good insight and real examples made it even more interesting and understandable.

von Fahim A R

Jun 14, 2020

Professor Heitor Almeida makes this course practical by using real world simplified data. The examples helped me to comprehend the concepts and get a deep understanding of corporate finance

von John P C

Dec 29, 2019

Though the module 4 is a tough one, I find it comprensive enough in making a good financial decision particularly in understanding the LBO and the M&A. Such learning is very important.

von Guillermo E M

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent conclusion from what I learned in the the first course, this makes it more interesting of course, but I would recommend to take both courses, Thanks Almeida

von Sachin P X

Dec 06, 2018

Fantastic Value Adding Course. Very Practical with a lot of good examples. Excellent conceptual breadth and depth also in this course. Highly recommended.

von Michael G

Mar 04, 2019

Great Course the teacher is great and he is very dynamic. I am a CFO and I felt I still learned new things from this course.

von Troy W F

Mar 03, 2019

A treasure trove of research based information to inform real-world financial decisions; immediately applicable and relevant!

von venkat c r

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent teacher and excellent material filled with real life examples. It was very interesting to study this course,

von Peter S

Sep 03, 2018

This course was excellent, I learned a lot of corporate finance with a solid background.

Waiting for the next course.

von Joe F

Mar 01, 2019

Great course! A lot of good information and useful tools from the world of Finance. The professor is top-class