Chevron Left
Zurück zu Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.3
Sterne
546 Bewertungen
101 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course discusses how macroeconomic variables affect individuals’ personal, professional, and public activities and lays the foundation for the analysis of the mechanisms that drive macroeconomic variables. It start in its first module by introducing the key macroeconomic variables and explaining how they are defined and measured in order to enable the students to interpret macroeconomic data properly. In the second module, the course offers a perspective for separating out various parts of the economy driven by different processes and for combining those components to develop a richer view of the whole. In particular, it applies this approach to the analysis of the relationship of the trade deficit with the budget deficit and private savings, offering insights about some key determinants of the balance of payments. The third and fourth modules focus on the analyses of the foreign currency and money markets to provide fundamental models of the interest rate and exchange rate determination. They also discuss how these variables interact with each other and with the macroeconomic conditions, particularly monetary policy and the expectations about the future trends in the economy. These analyses lay the foundation for more comprehensive models of the macroeconomy in the next course of the Managerial Economics and Business Analysis Specialization. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Systematically assess the national and international economic environment in which you live and work. • Analyze macroeconomic issues using key tools. • Be a more effective professional in your line of activity. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

ML

Mar 09, 2020

The quizzes and assignments may be hard but that's how I learned so much from this class. Prof Hadi brought this course in a way that made me understand the actual situations.

GN

Jun 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Hadi is great. This is my first Economics course. Professor explains all the fundamentals in a very easy and detailed manner.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 97 Bewertungen für Country Level Economics: Macroeconomic Variables and Markets

von Winthrop Y

Apr 02, 2016

Good material, fair presentation, too many peer evaluations.

von Andras I

Dec 10, 2019

I was looking forward to this course as the next step in the Managerial Economics. Little did I expect that after the brilliant Microeconomics (Firm Level Economics) course it will become such a chore to get through.

There are multiple issues with this course:

1, The presentation style: whereas in most courses you get to engage with the presenter, here there is too much screen time for not well edited, overly verbose slides that just get read out by the Professor. So it's a double distraction...you just keep staring at the same text as he mumbles on. I put it to 1.5x speed just to get through faster (and I'm taking notes on paper, still not too fast)

2, The material is not very well structured: in the first lesson I thought, we have a lot of definitions to get through...but it just keeps going like a huge, growing list of unstructured "stuff" the whole time. There is no weighting of higher level concepts, just a flood of information. Maybe also doesn't help that the videos are longer than the usual Coursera lesson(18-20 minutes vs 6-7 minutes) without much rhythm to them. So I just ended up watching a week's videos then from the notes tried to piece it together into a cohesive point.

3, Narrow minded look: I'm also not sure if forcing the Keynesian thinking all across the course in such tedious detail (and wasting time on useless, incoherent views about politics affecting economics) is more useful than mentioning other alternatives like the AD/AS model, neoclassical model, Money View (great course on Coursera, highly recommended!) or just in general open up from the dogma and try to make sure students understand that they're all modeling the same economic reality with different tools.

The good:

The quizes make you think and force some usage of the otherwise dry material.

The assigments are not bad but a bit on the simple side but unfortunately on Coursera longer submissions cannot be expected to be properly reviewed anyways.

Unless you really have to (as specialisation or iMBA requirement), I wouldn't recommend taking this course, you're better off reading a book (Theory and Applications of Macroeconomics or the OPENSTAX books - both free) or watch the (free) Khan Academy course, while they cover the same material (and more), they're much more engaging.

This was the hardest course for me to follow (not the content, the format) until I put it on hold and learned the material from other sources to come back and finish.

Although I really like Coursera and the format/content it offers, this one I cannot recommend. Such a shame...

von Kendra G

Jun 07, 2019

I thought I would really like this course because I really enjoyed microeconomics, but this course was not very intuitive, could really use an update, and the teaching style was not effective for me. Would recommend a curriculum designer come in, or maybe work with the microeconomics professor to re-shape how a lot of the concepts are explained. Definitely the most difficult to understand course I've taken so far.

von Kyle F

May 17, 2019

Very monotone and therefore very hard to follow and pay attention to. The Prof also seemed to frequently interject random material that distracted you from the learning objectives.

von Innocent O

Apr 27, 2019

The instructor was not engaging and made the course quite boring

von Mbaunguraije T

Jun 18, 2020

Very enjoyable course. Prof is able to explain the topics very well and I was able to understand and connect it to my everyday life and to my own country.

von Ankita B

Jul 23, 2017

Great course for a beginner like me. All the concepts are explained clearly with examples. The language used is simple which makes it easy to understand.

von Sandeep K

Feb 11, 2020

This course was a great insight to how economies work, and what is the relationship between money demand, supply, interest rates and yields.

von Shenglan Z

Sep 19, 2018

Concise yet very helpful. The reading material is well prepared. After this course, I can fully understand all the financial news.

von Shinapat K

Aug 05, 2017

The instructor is't engaging. Needs more concepts explanations and examples. For introductory to macroeconomics course, should have fewer equations and more concepts, reasoning, and illustrations.

von Philip L

Feb 07, 2020

Professor is very dry, unclear, and hard to follow with this difficult material.

von Dennison L

Jun 13, 2020

Basically, you're given a bunch of formulas and have to deduce the macroeconomic principles from them yourselves. Also, the quizzes are much more detailed than the course - applying concepts that connect multiple formulas that are not taught. Good luck!

von JEFFREY H

Jun 11, 2020

This course really helped me to understand what drives the exchange rate, interest rates and money supply of the global markets. Great insight into the part the central banks and government play in the growth and stability of our currency. Nicely presented as well!

von Dhinesh A D

Jun 13, 2020

Great course on the core concepts of Economics. Very helpful for aspirants who want to learn about market, exchange rate and when to invest. Going through the lectures and materials often gives better clarity for beginners and non-finance professionals.

von May S L

Mar 09, 2020

The quizzes and assignments may be hard but that's how I learned so much from this class. Prof Hadi brought this course in a way that made me understand the actual situations.

von Gurpreet S N

Jun 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Hadi is great. This is my first Economics course. Professor explains all the fundamentals in a very easy and detailed manner.

von Norma I R C

Jun 18, 2020

Muy buen curso para aprender macroeconomía básica. El temario es muy parecido al que vi en la licenciatura en mi primera clase de macro.

von Emi K

May 24, 2020

This class was really great. As long as you commit to being intrinsically motivated to learn the material, it's really enjoyable.

von Lawrence A

Feb 13, 2020

The course is quite enlightening, gained invaluable experience in understanding and interpreting a countries economic status

von Suman D

Jun 12, 2018

Amazing way delivering the courseThis was my first Coursera courseI loved every bit of it.Thanks a lot Professor

von Joe F

Jun 18, 2019

Very interesting topic especially with the trade wars that are affecting the US and China currently

von Gotamist

Apr 29, 2018

I'd love to see a graduate level macroeconomics course from the same professor, Prof. Esfahani.

von Vatsal G

Feb 07, 2019

It was a well planned course. Learnt quite a lot also the teaching quite was excellent.

von Andrew T

Jul 04, 2017

excellent material from an extraordinary faculty and unique learning environment

von Miguel L

Feb 17, 2020

Best Course. I was able to learn a lot, so now I can understand Forex markets.