Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
Sterne
1,615 Bewertungen
466 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
10. Aug. 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
25. Sep. 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 459 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Esther M

3. Nov. 2016

Good job Brando.

von Florencia P

16. Okt. 2017

Extrordinary!!!

von LEEEEEO

29. Jan. 2018

要是有中文翻译就更棒了。。。

von xiaoqiang

14. Aug. 2016

learned a lot!

von Ismael P M

13. Apr. 2016

vbcbbcbcbcvbcv

von Amruta B

27. Apr. 2020

Great session

von Остапец Д Д

31. Aug. 2018

Thank you :-)

von Julian M

25. Juli 2017

Lovely class.

von Mary B P

28. Aug. 2016

Great course.

von JOHN Q

25. Juni 2016

great course!

von Huynh L M T ( H

22. Okt. 2020

Good course

von Yunus Ç

27. Juli 2020

thx for all

von Molly G

9. Juli 2018

Brilliant!

von Patricia R

16. Mai 2017

excellent!

von Lily

25. Jan. 2017

very great

von Daniel C

15. Dez. 2016

Excellent.

von Iris R

28. Juni 2016

Thank you.

von josé c l h

21. Juli 2018

A vibrant

von Elisa G A F

21. Okt. 2020

Awesome!

von Viktoryia

29. März 2017

Amazing!

von Diego R

17. Sep. 2020

Great!

von Joey L

6. Okt. 2016

Typically writing courses deal with either the business of writing, or the pretentious art and literature side of writing. Almost nobody deals with the science of writing. Where is the talk on motivational arrows? Character likabilities like being unrelenting? Where is the meta-analysis of good techniques in writing? meta-data is the future of defining the science of writing, but it's not mentioned here even slightly. What about will he/won't he moments? Backstory interacting and being relevant to the plot? What about fish out of water? This course doesn't even touch upon foundational pillars and tenets that make good writing. I couldn't imagine paying for this course, since I've already paid too much with my time. As it stands, I could have taught a better course than this, and maybe some day I'll be so fortunate as to move writing studies in the right direction, towards the truth that older generation teachers are unwilling to accept: that good writing is empirical, and therefore can be learned.

von Drea H

21. Okt. 2020

I really liked the contents and assignments of the course. It helped me improve my writing. Nevertheless, I think the way peer review is applied in this course needs to be reconsidered. Some people don't seem to take this very seriously or would need more examples of what helpful critiquing is supposed to look like. Unfortunately, this means one doesn't learn much from peer's feedback as quite a few people write just “good” instead of giving real feedback. It's not okay to be able to get a certificate if people don't really do the work that is necessary getting it. Also, it's quite a bummer if you have invested time to write a detailed feedback for someone and get “good” back.

von Lyn S

17. Mai 2020

I am ok with everything about this course EXCEPT that I have had to critique pieces written in Spanish and just got my first "my submission" comments in Spanish--my name is not Hispanic and this should not have happened. And although I've tried very hard to be tolerant and supportive, some of the non-English as first language speakers are writing pieces that are barely passable as English. I got the feeling that first-language English speakers were a minority in this and other Creative Writing Block courses I've taken on Coursera.

Lyn Sedwick Shuster, lasmd925@aol.com

von Sophie S

6. Aug. 2018

I didn't love the videos in this course very much – they just weren't very helpful. They had some interesting thoughts, but for the most part they felt repetitive and for someone who hasn't written much creative writing.

However, I really liked the assignments and peer editing. This course challenged me to create characters I wouldn't have otherwise, and made me think more about how the heart of a story is really in the character's hands. I got a lot more out of challenging myself with the assignments and getting surprising feedback than watching the videos.