Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
Sterne
1,615 Bewertungen
466 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
10. Aug. 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
25. Sep. 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 459 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Paul Z

8. Okt. 2018

Good videos. Lots of material for consideration. Good assignments! I really enjoyed stretching my comfort zone a bit . Particularly in the last exercise. Jumping from 1st Person to Omniscient POV. Had not given point of view so much brain time!!

von Melissa C

18. März 2016

Great insight into character, voice and connecting with our story. The professor also references books that can be read to further our understanding. The only drawback is that auditing students cannot participate in feedback on assignments.

von Darci C

31. Mai 2016

Prof. Bloom was very interesting to watch and listen to. The course was well organized and free of technical issues, but it didn't seem quite as thorough a discussion of the topic as the plot course was. Very close to 5 stars.

von Eve B

2. Dez. 2017

I really enjoyed the lectures of the course and found Amy Bloom to be an informative and relatable writer and lecturer. The assignments were a bit odd, in my opinion, but maybe that's the way writing assignments are in general?

von Paweł L

12. Nov. 2020

The asagniments were helpful for learning creative writing, but the instructions could have been clearer, and also the videos could have been more carefully recorded/re recorded if a part of it was unclear/inaudible

von Noha D

8. Nov. 2017

Good course, i have learned few very useful concepts, thanks to Amy.

The last assignment was genius, helped us to really recognize differences between two POV,.

However, first assignments were a little bit confusing.

von Andrea G G

6. Mai 2020

The course improved my skills on writing the stories from different perspectives and points of view. It pretty much complement the other course about plot. I am very satisfied with the things I've learnt so far.

von Jane D

31. Juli 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but perhaps there could be more examples in writing. Like parts of stories we could read, especially with idiosyncrasies. I felt like I needed to see those things in action, on paper.

von mu�oz S R

28. Okt. 2020

Me gustaría algún contacto con los escritores, y no queda muy en claro el tema de los idiomas, casi nadie te lee si escribis en castellano y yo tuve que traducir todo el tiempo al ingles y desde el ingles

von Sharon

14. März 2016

I enjoyed Amy Bloom's guidelines and am keen to create some well rounded characters. Thank you for enabling me to follow along without having to pay ( no evaluation of the assignments).

von lisa r

17. Juni 2016

This course was very interesting and the assignments were good. I thought it relied too much on conversations with other authors but overall it was enjoyable and I learned new skills.

von S. J W

20. März 2016

I do not understand why these courses over lap. I finished #2 today, tried to start #3 but found that I had 10 hours to complete the first weeks assignment? Who is in charge out there?

von Mohammad S

25. Juni 2017

The assignments tend to be very confusing, I understand that they make sense for making characters, the difficulty might just be with the characters, but they are quite confusing.

von Tomilyn R

30. Sep. 2018

Coursera technology should improve since many people don't take the critiques seriously, and there's no way to measure someone who just writes 'yes' in every box.

von Kimberly F

22. Aug. 2019

I liked this class, but would have gotten more out of it had there been less conversation videos. I like some direct lecture to cement new knowledge.

von Kaitlyn B

8. Aug. 2019

This was a good course that helped me broaden my POV writing style, though the assignments were difficult to do, and one was difficult to understand.

von Keith G

3. Okt. 2019

I found the content useful but was irritated by how parochial the references to other writers were. There is a big wide world outside of the USA!

von Geoff N

27. Feb. 2017

A well thought out course that was very illuminating. Not sure about the complexity of week 2's assignment, but overall good value.

von Catalina v w

17. Okt. 2019

I found this course less informative than the Craft of Plot. A lot of the assignments seemed to have little to do with the videos.

von Andrea G

23. März 2016

I liked it overall, though there were some glitches and I was hoping that there'd be at least some feedback from course organizer.

von Fernanda B

25. Okt. 2017

I loved this course, but sometimes the assignments weren't quite clear. Apart from that, the teacher is genius and it's great.

von Iryna A

9. Aug. 2017

Even though I enjoyed the course, I found the description of the assignments sometimes very confusing and lacking in details.

von J-Man

24. Okt. 2019

A helpful overall look at character but not particularly deep, still useful even for a refresher when writing something new

von Chew W Y

21. Juni 2016

The material is interesting and relevant. I found the assignments challenging and the review questions slightly lengthy.