Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
Sterne
1,483 Bewertungen
428 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
10. Aug. 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
25. Sep. 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 421 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Lauren V B

23. März 2018

The first assignment was a lot of fun but the other three were a little confusing, as evidenced by the ever-recurring questions on the forum. The videos were usually really interesting though. Amy has a very pleasant voice but seems to rely on her notes a little too much.

von Thomas O

27. Feb. 2019

Not by far as good as the first module (Craft of Plot). This course seemed less planned and structured. The videos were mostly interviews that sort of touched upon the subjects but hardly ever got into detail. The assignments were often vague and harder to understand.

von gabisamuel@ymail.com

12. Jan. 2017

I found the assignment instructions to be quite confusing. Some of the questions asked for the peer-to-peer reviews were very unclear. I didn't feel the course, overall, offered the same level of content and knowledge that the Craft of Plot offered.

von Jeanette D

11. Feb. 2017

I think Judy Bloom is a brilliant writer. She is also an engaging instructor but I found it difficult at time to discern what the salient points or "take-aways" were from the lectures. I also found the assignment to be less than clear.

von Gabriel T

6. Apr. 2016

I've got the chance to practice writing and I've learned some interesting insights, but I think the instructor didn't put too much effort into this course. All there is to it are 'shop talks' and too little structure.

von Crystal M

19. März 2017

I felt like the teaching was fairly abstract, and I had a difficult time figuring out how I was supposed to apply certain lessons. Overall, I did pick up several helpful hints, so the course was worth it.

von Nathan B

15. Mai 2018

I found most of the assignments very confusing and difficult to complete. It is a real challenge and forces you to really think, think hard and hope for the best. If you take the course, good luck.

von Mahaba S A S

13. Juni 2017

The course was very interesting and shed light on the specifics on character development. However, the questions in most peer-graded assignments were some times not suitable for the assignment.

von Dominique S

14. Mai 2019

The information provided is great, but there's so many "shop talks" aka interviews with other Coursera instructors that it misses out on so many possible true lessons.

von Lu O

4. Sep. 2020

Achei as atividades um pouco cansativas, e pouco intuitivas. Os vídeos mais longos e com momentos mais entediantes em relação ao primeiro modulo.

von Sara A

18. März 2018

The assignments are hard to understand and not well explained. They are also completely irrelevant to the lessons of the week.

von Davide P

26. Sep. 2019

Has been a great course but I would have loved more readings and a little bit more formal rules to sketch our own characters.

von Laura B

8. Dez. 2018

Good information in the videos. The assignments were difficult and didn't seem related to the material from the lectures.

von stanislava o

23. Sep. 2018

I liked a lot of what was said. I wish I had some more concrete advice for building character - if such a thing exists.

von Deleted A

16. Nov. 2017

Great material but students grading other student's work becomes a problem if they can prohibit another from passing.

von Valarie K

12. Mai 2016

Good course, but assignment instructions were difficult to understand at times and no examples were given.

von Sanelisiwe E M

1. Nov. 2016

This course is beneficial to all those who struggle with character plot. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

von Stephanie E

18. Mai 2017

In the second course, the talks were not as useful for the assignments, particularly in week 2.

von Hector M C L

6. März 2018

It is good but I think the lectures are a little disjointed from each other and the exercises.

von Digby D

3. Dez. 2017

Adequate intro course. Could gather roughly the same info with a bit of browsing the internet.

von Paulene A

29. Mai 2017

This course could use some work, but nevertheless I learned a bit more than I already knew.

von ABHIRAJ S D

21. Juli 2018

the assignments were poorly worded which is the opposite of the purpose of assignment

von Jorge T

8. Aug. 2016

The excercises on the course are great, but the videos can be a little vague.

von Jill B

9. Sep. 2016

Excellent lectures. Assignments were a little too "exercisey" for me.

von Jeff

13. Jan. 2019

Content is great, but the app is very buggy and difficult to use.