Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
1,098 Bewertungen
313 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

NF

Nov 25, 2019

The information I need to craft compelling characters. Wouldn't have learned this information just by reading books! Amy is an excellent instructor, and the work is challenging but not unreachable.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 307 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Christine W

Sep 17, 2018

I got out of this module exactly what I put into it. While the videos do a reasonably good job of outlining a basic understanding, I found that I wanted more info, especially as concerns POV. For some reason, omniscient 3rd person was a tough concept to grasp. But I've since learned that POV can make or break a story, particularly if you don't know which one you're using and/or keep fluctuating from one to another.

von Lisa K

Oct 01, 2018

This course is wonderfully crafted; the assignments were creative and challenging, the lectures deeply knowing, expressive and, of course, articulate, and I love Amy Bloom.

von Quynh N H

Oct 21, 2018

This course helped sharpen my noticing skills. The suggested reading is immensely helpful. The feedback is invaluable and I will be going back to some of those to transform those exercises into short stories. Thank you so much for the public access to this course! I am indebted to you. A MOOC is truly a life transforming invention, giving people the tools to improve on their skills. I can't imagine life without a MOOC! My goodness!

von Ramona K

Oct 29, 2018

This gave me a new perspective on Character and I believe it will help my characters become more true to life than they have been.

von Leo J R

Oct 29, 2018

Nicely done Weslyan! Well paced, interesting assignments.

von Shirley B

Nov 02, 2018

Excellent course - I have learned so much. Thank you to the awesome teachers

von Остапец Д Д

Aug 31, 2018

Thank you :-)

von Aprielle T

Aug 30, 2018

I learned a lot from this course which will definitely help me with my writing and career goals.

von Shalini N

Jul 17, 2018

Great course! Nice assignments! Makes you really think through different aspects of your writing.

von Sarwaswa

Mar 22, 2018

It was overall a terrific course which really made me to think things especially Week 2 and Week 3.

Great peers .

I always felt they gave me legit review for my work.

I look forward to come across all of you in next segment.

von jayne

Oct 22, 2016

This course has been unbelievably useful. It has exceeded my hopes. It is well taught and the assignments have really challenged me. I have learnt just as much by reviewing the work of others. Thanks so much.

von Greg Y

Feb 12, 2017

Really great advice on writing character. I have a toolkit I can use now that I think is quite powerful. Thanks Amy.

von Rachel M

Jan 21, 2017

I truly have learned a lot, especially understanding more about my strengths and weaknesses

von Cecilia F

Nov 06, 2017

Extremely interesting and valuable course!

von Heather F R

Aug 13, 2016

Excellent course. Looking forward to starting the next one.

von Tina M

Jul 31, 2017

I learned so much, it's hard to pick just one thing. In conjunction with the other courses I feel as though my writing has evolved. I am excited to start a new project.

von Azlin

May 21, 2018

Very concise and great tips and notes from Amy Bloom. The interviews and guests conversations helped as well. I had a bad experience with peer review and reported it, but had not heard what consequences were brought against him. The "wtf" added on peer reviews should not be tolerated and that student should not be accepted for a period. This is a learning environment to encourage learning a craft, developed thoughts and understanding. It is not a place for vulgar, rude and negative peer reviews, and coming from someone who also is taking a course to learn the craft or subject. I hope this student is ultimately been kicked out and not accepted for several courses, whether he is a paying student or otherwise, otherwise, the integrity of Coursera and Wesleyan U is not one I would want to associate with, nor do I want anyone else to.

von Erinn J

Mar 16, 2018

Fantastic class that really helped me organize the way I create and develop characters.

von Maria-Isabel C

Dec 06, 2017

I highly recommend this course for the beginner writer. Ms. Amy Bloom is a great writer and lecturer! I really enjoyed the way she guided the course and how she presented this subject. It was easy to follow and definitely encouraged me to continue preparing myself to become a writer. Thank you!

von Jack H

May 16, 2018

Really enjoyed this particular module since, not only do I KNOW a lot of characters, I AM one. This course made me become more aware of mannerisms, cultural and behavioral differences and similarities, plus the results and implications of how these characters inter-mesh with one another. Politics and households mirror one another and I am NEVER without a notebook and pencils since beginning this module. Now almost everyone I see gets captured in the notebook. INCLUDING THE INSTRUCTORS ! They are truly interesting personalities and I enjoyed their Shoptalk segments a lot. It is a great program.

von Deleted A

May 15, 2017

Great course! Best quality writing class I have taken in years. The specialization is amazing. Thank you.

von Shweta B

Jun 11, 2018

Its fantastic specially the assignments are very good and help you understand your skills and weaknesses

von Goher I P

Nov 18, 2017

It was simply wonderful and awesome course. Amy is a fantastic instructor.

von Morgan

Jun 03, 2018

Really interesting practice tasks

von Molly G

Jul 09, 2018

Brilliant!