Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character von Wesleyan University

4.5
1,095 Bewertungen
312 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 307 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

von Mariana

Mar 14, 2016

Wonderful! Very informative. Filled with examples, literature and very interesting interviews! Thank you so much! You're a great teacher!

von Sonia F

Sep 01, 2017

I've learnt a lot on this course specifically about character. I'm enrolled for all of the courses, as they are complimentary and some of the suggestions and tricks really make the difference to how I look at writing now. Thanks to Amy Bloom and her guests!

von Ole D J

Feb 19, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and the other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

von Maihaa R

Aug 28, 2016

Excellent On-line Course in Creative Writing developing Character. Amy Bloom was an exceptional Instructor, both in her lesson planning and video lectures and interviews, as well as in her caring monitoring of the class involvement, progress and questions. Thank you, Amy, for offering us your knowledge in such an interesting and engaging form!

von Srinivas R

Jun 26, 2017

Helped me build and develop exciting characters.

von Alan F

Dec 27, 2017

Course addresses one of my fundamental weaknesses in writing. Helped a lot.

von Angelo B

Mar 20, 2016

I love writing, and even if English is not my mother tongue this course is enjoyable and useful!

von Carol W

Nov 08, 2016

Great course, the instructor provided insights into what makes a character interesting.

von Cora B

Apr 02, 2016

Enjoyed building my characters as the course progressed.

von Hiobi H

Sep 05, 2017

Merci une fois de plus pour ce cours très très instructif. Les enseignants m'aident à poursuivre mon projet de littéraire actuellement en cours.

von Annette B

Mar 14, 2016

Another 5-star Wesleyan University creative writing course. Again, if you want to submit assignments and receive feedback from peers, this is not permitted if you're auditing the course. That aside, this course helps you consider character development on a more complex level.

von Debra T

Jun 13, 2018

Professor Bloom was so great and full of invaluable knowledge. I learned so much, thank you!

von Jose A P M

Jun 29, 2017

The interviews with professional writers are great! It's good to listen to people who are working with their minds and points of view and how they use that to create. Professor Amy Bloom has a great pedagogic skill. She asks the right questions and gives us great explanations.

von Vicky W

Jan 17, 2017

Great course. Incredibly helpful.

von Charlotte M R F

Sep 25, 2016

Wondeful information on creating characters and breathing life into them.

von Kelly C

Jul 20, 2016

simple easy but not that easy

Assignment tho it's good for you

von Daniel C

Dec 15, 2016

Excellent.

von Abrar A A

Mar 20, 2018

I love the professor. Her tips and lessons and also the assignments.. They were quite challenging and took time to understand.. but I loved it

von Brian D

May 09, 2016

Very good course, gave a lot of insight on writing and specially about the character

von Sam ( D C

Mar 06, 2016

I am learning a lot, particularly that I can write up to several thousand words per day; not just words, but meaningful words.

von xiaoqiang

Aug 14, 2016

learned a lot!

von Aecio d B V N

Jul 24, 2017

Some very interesting topics.

But, overall, the most interesting, challenging and fun part of the course were the exercises - they were the best part of the course.

von Victoria

Dec 06, 2017

Great exercises that are very effective. A well-taught course with clever instruction designed to get you to the heart of writing character.

von Roy N

Jan 08, 2018

This course challenged me and my process for developing characters. It provided me new perspectives on how to do that.

von John D

Dec 02, 2016

Terrific class that does a great job of teaching how to write believable characters. I also learned a lot about how to incorporate your characters in your setting and how to write different points of view.