Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
2,719 Bewertungen
899 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM

Nov 05, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 877 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

von Nicole F

Nov 11, 2019

Before taking this course, I had no idea how stories were structured. Brandon Skyhorse is a wonderful professor who comes off as professional and knowledgeable. The videos are interesting, and I love it when he interviews actual writers and draws on his own personal writing experience. I am actually writing pieces whereas before I had all these ideas but no knowledge of how to express them!

von Victoria F S

Nov 09, 2018

I have enjoyed this course very much. Now I feel confident that I can create a compelling plot in my stories. I also now understand what a scene is, which is very important. I can teach what I have learned, too. What is exciting is that I now feel energized to keep writing stories. Thank you so much for your approach, which I find caring and practical! Best to all writers/professors!

von Veronica M

Aug 23, 2019

i loved this course! i didn't get to take any creative writing courses in college unfortunately so this was a great introduction to the craft. i felt that even as an inexperienced fiction writer, the content was clear and easy to follow and, at the same time, challenging and invigorating. my passion for writing has only increased, and i'm looking forward to the rest of the specialization!

von ksl

Jun 08, 2016

I was not sure about this course at first, but I am so glad that I enrolled. Brando gives specific tips and ideas about how to write a story. He has made me realize that creative writing is not just about lofty ideas; writing can be improved and polished through approaching a story logically and methodically.

One of the best designed courses I have ever taken on Coursera. Thank you Brando!

von Lori B C

Jan 19, 2017

This course was excellent. Brando is an incredible teacher, passionate, engaging and knowledgable. I learned a tremendous amount about plotting it out from this class - in fact, one of the benefits I got is that some level of intimidation I had about building a plot was alleviated. The lectures, materials and exercises were all so useful and absolutely thought provoking. Thanks!

von Bhimrao G

Jun 18, 2020

I had great learning experience in this Creative Writing course. Acquired specific skills on story writing with emphasis on plot, scene, and the steps in creating an impressive story. Learnt the importance of Freytag's Pyramid and ABDCE model in creative writing. Assignment submission and peer feedback helped me improve my story writing competence. Excellent faculty. Great course.

von Ricardo P

Jun 17, 2019

Well presented lectures by Brando Skyhorse and useful assignments with prompts to make you exercise the writing concepts laid out throughout the course. This is the first time that I have done a Coursera course and I am pleasantly surprised with the results. Thank you Brando, and thank you Coursera for allowing me to improve my creating writing skills from the comfort of my home.

von Kalin Z S

Jun 10, 2020

Very useful course. Initially, I thought that lecture-wise it was very brief but actually it is very nicely condensed to the essentials that you need to write engaging stories and content. I have written 4 stories as part of each week assignments and have noticed an improvement in my writing and the feedback from other learners was quite good and constructive for the most part.

von Joe M

Dec 08, 2018

Very well put together course. Gave me great insight on plot but especially editing and revision. I was pretty directionless when it came to revising my own work and the last week of this course was a excellent eye-opener. I have a way better idea how and what I should be changing instead of just re-writing everything a bunch of times. Looking forward to the next course!

von Abdelkader s

Jun 07, 2020

I really enjoyed every moment of this course. What I have learned during this four weeks is extremely valuable and I hope that it will be benefecial for me in the near future. I would like to thank Mr Brando for his efforts, Wesleyan University who gave me this priceless experience, and all the other students with whom I exchanged reviews and opinions. THANK YOU ALL !

von Nicolás S D

May 28, 2020

Realmente un curso muy interesante y dinámico. El tutor desarrolla muy bien los temas y el contenido es realmente provechoso. Las tareas son acorde al desarrollo de las lecciones y van generando un acumulado que permite reconocer el avance del estudiante en su escritura. Es un curso muy bien estructurado y el tutor está a la altura del mismo. Muy agradecido, saludos.

von Muhammad Z

May 14, 2020

It was an amazing course. I was almost zero in creative writing when I started this course, and, now, I got the last assignment reviewed by my colleagues, and they were surprised and loved it.

Sir Brando Skyhorse made things look so easy.

Another surprising fact, I joined this course by mistake, but, now, I am thinking of taking the next courses in this specialization.

von Federico B S

May 30, 2018

I liked this course a lot. It helped me get a better sense of the formal structure of narrative and what each part of a story is supposed to achieve. The exercises are great. The constraints the instructor set for them make them useful tools for grasping the concepts he explained during each module. Make sure you stick to the instructions and just try to have fun.

von Karsen

Oct 29, 2019

Lots of practical advice to consider for beginning writers. I did not value the editing parts as much as the other parts, especially since this is the first course in the specialization, but the analysis of plot construction was useful. I liked how Brando used Harry Potter as an example of structure because I know that series well (and probably most people do).

von Beth

Jun 20, 2016

I audited this course so I was locked out of submitting assignments; however, I would recommend this course to any creative writing beginner (like myself). The course was well organized and concise and the concepts were clear. It was easy to apply the concept to the assignments and I was surprised at what I was able to write as a result of auditing this course.

von David F

Sep 08, 2018

Very informative and helpful introduction to scene construction. I now enjoy watching TV and reading stories which involve the ABDCE structure and I ask myself questions based on the 21-point revision process. It adds a whole new dimension for enjoying stories which makes this course worthwhile even if you have no intention of ever writing anything yourself.

von Mihaela G

May 07, 2020

As a beginner to creative writing, the structure and the interviews the Professor used in this course helped me a lot with understanding. I could see myself improving my writing from one assignment to another. Also I became very aware of the writing structure when I am reading books written by well-known authors, which is a great way to learn further.

von Rida K

Apr 19, 2020

This creative writing course got me out of my comfort zone and made me realise that your weaknesses in writing can become strengthens if you work hard enough. The people who graded my assignments were very helpful and always left comments on not only how to improve but also what they liked about the stories, this was a great confidence booster.

von robin b

Jul 06, 2020

I had a hard time with this one.

I understood the rules, but sometimes writing about something you yourself find interesting doesn't necessarily fit easily into the required format.

Also, on one of assignments, half my summary got cut.

Plot is hard. I appreciate all the learning modules, found them quite inspiring.

I myself have a long way to go.

von Maria-Isabel C

Dec 06, 2017

This was the first subject of the Creative Writing Course I took and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to write. After completing The Craft of Plot I was encouraged enough to continue with the other subjects of the specialization. Prof. Brando Skyhorse is clear and his teachings easy to follow and to understand. I really enjoyed it.

von Cecilia F

Aug 27, 2017

Highly inspiring, comprehensive and interesting course. I learned a lot from the interesting lectures and talks, and was challenged to develop as a writer. The level of the assignments worked well for the timeframe, and the peer reviewing added a lot of new insights. I would really recommend this course and am looking forward to next module.

von Ma. C D

May 08, 2018

This course was really helpful. It helped get my creative juices flowing again and give me direction. I love literature and I know the basics, but application is different. The assignments helped me implement not just the basics but the advanced knowledge I gained about writing literary pieces in just the first course of the specialisation.

von Stephanie F

May 13, 2020

Content was presented clearly and with great details and examples to refer to as well. The professor was easy to follow and his ideas were helpful. I really enjoyed the conversations with other authors in the videos. They all provided great insight and were able to teach, but still inspire since they are active writers'/authors themselves.

von Sasha M

Aug 02, 2016

Putting aside the use of the Coursera apps on Ipad and Iphone (which are beyond awful and made the experience of taking this course utterly frustrating), this course was outstanding. The student will be given sold information on how to organize, structure, and edit a story. All of the material was approachable and extremely useful.

von Najwat R

Apr 12, 2018

Great course for aspiring writers. I had never written even a few sentences of fiction and I felt this course very effectively introduced me to all the basic elements needed to put a story together. The assignments were especially thoughtful. Thanks Brando and fellow learners who shared their valuable feedback and their own work.