Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description, Wesleyan University

4.7
750 Bewertungen
221 Bewertungen

Über diesen Kurs

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top-Bewertungen

von DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

von CZ

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

Filtern nach:

214 Bewertungen

von Hui Jun Heng

May 24, 2019

I had to read this one instead of watch it but it was excellent and informative. I fully agree on the topic of treating setting as important as a character in its own right, because of all the media that has really demonstrated this. Spot on advice, love the lessons!

von Srishti Rathour

May 22, 2019

This is an amazing course. I have done previous two courses as well and I find this one to be the best because the assignments are challenging and you can experiment with your writing. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and now I am going on to do the next course. Simply wonderful! And a must for anyone who wants to challenge and improve their descriptive writing.

von james reeves

Apr 21, 2019

my writing has improved steadily with

von Robert Garlington

Apr 18, 2019

Excellent course, very informative and interactive. Amity is a wonderful facilitator of the course, her passion and commitment to writing can be sensed in every word of advice she offers. The course is well-balanced in its offerings, exercises, 1-on-1 discussions and assignments. Because of this course, I will most likely continue to look at others in this "writing series".

Robert Garlington

von Coco

Apr 10, 2019

I liked this course and I learned much. The reason I gave 4 stars is that often it is not clearly explained what exactly was requested in an assignment. I saw that its not only me but many other students had a problem to find out the exact assignment. This problem has obviously existed for the last 3 years and was never corrected. I encourage the students to find their answers - at least partly - in the discussion forums.

von Esha Banerjee

Apr 02, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I feel what I have learnt in this course will take my writing to a new level.

von Frankie White

Mar 30, 2019

I love how Amity explained everything and the assignments and peer responses where wonderful. I got some great feedback and cannot wait to move further with my novel! Thank you everyone, and thank you so much to Amity for taking the time to put together your thoughts into a class!

von AMIR REZA ASADI

Mar 28, 2019

very helpful

von Karena Andrusyshyn

Mar 26, 2019

THis course showed a different perspective of writing fiction than what I have done in the past. Nice.

von SHI

Mar 26, 2019

slow motion, significant detail, about genre or style, the perspective of the auto-biography for the contenu;

the discussion about the cours among the students;

the interview of the others writers was woundeful;

also the moment for us the student to think, to meditate, to read, and then to write, all this like the real class.