Chevron Left
Zurück zu Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
1,042 Bewertungen
316 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top-Bewertungen

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 309 Bewertungen für Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

von Jasmine K

Jun 07, 2017

Amity is able to convey the abstract concepts that piece together an engaging and fluid composition using examples and exercises that are incredibly helpful to an aspiring writer. The insight she offers is invaluable and I feel privileged to have been able to access her teachings. I am looking forward to reading the books she has written.

von James D R

Apr 13, 2018

This has been my favorite course of the three I've taken thus far.

I really enjoyed the reading material that acted as a demonstration of what we were being expected to write about.

The necessity to persuade the reader. I had never looked at it in this way, but from now on I will think of whether my settings are persuading the reader.

von Collins, J B

Aug 07, 2020

I deeply enjoyed this course and I believe that it offers some very helpful feedback into learning about setting and the proper elements/importance of setting. It is a feature that I've often overlooked in creative writing, but it definitely can be an element all on its own and this module shows you how to express it to the fullest.

von SHI

Mar 26, 2019

slow motion, significant detail, about genre or style, the perspective of the auto-biography for the contenu;

the discussion about the cours among the students;

the interview of the others writers was woundeful;

also the moment for us the student to think, to meditate, to read, and then to write, all this like the real class.

von Jane D

Aug 18, 2019

I really enjoyed this course! The lecturer gives a great amount of information and advice that feel monitored in the videos in a way, so far this is my favourite course of the specialozation. I really liked being given many reading sources, they served a good example and clarification for what the assignments required.

von Freya D L

Aug 30, 2017

I learned so much! Amity is an excellent teacher, the exercises were spot on, just what they needed to be to evolve as a writer. I learned a lot from reviewing my peer's work as well, and some of their feedback was very helpful. Excellent, excellent course, all four of them are just so good. Thank you!

von Abhishek T

Jul 31, 2018

First, Amity is a great teacher.

Second, all courses of creative writing gave me much more than the lessons, they gave me wider horizons and confidence.

This one was so valuable, it made me learn various styles of telling stories, second person and lastly some secrets of how to create my story world.

von Victoria

Dec 20, 2017

Another excellent course in this program of study for the craft of creative writing, with practical exercises and useful constraints that really helped me to progress my understanding of creative writing and improve my storytelling skills. Suddenly, it's no longer agonising, but easy. Thank you!

von Lauren L

Apr 15, 2017

This, for me, has been, by far the best part of the Creative writing course. Amity is an amazing instructor and gives great incite and lessons on Setting and description. She takes it one step further with readings and visualizations. I have learned so much that I can put to use! Highly reccomen

von Colin F

Sep 14, 2020

Pretty good. Not my favorite Creative Writing subcourse, but certainly an important one. Is more directed to realistic fiction than sci-fi or fantasy writers but even if you are 100% certain you don't want to write realistic fiction, I would still highly recommend this and say go for it.

von Alexander F

Feb 19, 2018

This is in my opinion the best one of the specialization so far. It has great references and additional content, readings, videos, etc. related to what's being studied. Gaige's comments are always thoughtful and inspiring. The other courses are all good too, but this one was exceptional.

von Victorya J

Aug 22, 2016

Thank you so much Amity for all the knowledge that you have given me. Your approach to teaching is wonderful and I was intrigued by your views on writing. I thoroughly enjoyed learning from you. You are amazing and I feel blessed to have been you as an instructor. Again, thank you!

von Erica D

May 31, 2016

loved this course, the prompts really got me thinking and writing about things/topics that were different for me. Being forced outside my comfort zone has really gotten me thinking about writing from a different angle and I think that will help so much moving back to my own writing

von Frankie W

Mar 30, 2019

I love how Amity explained everything and the assignments and peer responses where wonderful. I got some great feedback and cannot wait to move further with my novel! Thank you everyone, and thank you so much to Amity for taking the time to put together your thoughts into a class!

von Amanda N

Oct 31, 2017

Brilliant course. I started just auditing these modules but eventually completed all four (waiting to do the capstone) with peer review. All of the modules have been amazing and I continue to refer to them regularly. It's certainly built my confidence and skills. Thank you!

von Dena M

Apr 12, 2017

Amity has been the best teacher in this course series. She had us, big gasp, actually READ some wonderful stories and passages. Nothing like a writer reading. Her lectures were spot on and interesting and dynamic. The assignments were clear and fun to complete. Thank you Amity!

von Liora H

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent exercises. They really pushed me and challenged me to dive in and develop my ability to write and describe a setting. I feel that my observation in the process of writing has been refined - I pay more attention now to details in the setting while imagining a scene.

von Jerri L L

May 18, 2016

I've enjoyed "The Craft of Setting and Description." It's given me a good chance to spend some time focusing on the details that matter. I've learned a lot about what to include where setting and description are concerned and what to leave out. It's been a very good course.

von David J M

Feb 24, 2019

The course was excellent as was the teacher. I learned a great deal about writing and the weekly assignments really helped me as did reviewing peers work and having them review mine. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their creative writing.

von Hui J H

May 24, 2019

I had to read this one instead of watch it but it was excellent and informative. I fully agree on the topic of treating setting as important as a character in its own right, because of all the media that has really demonstrated this. Spot on advice, love the lessons!

von Ole D J

Feb 19, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

von MPEARSALL

Mar 14, 2017

Excellent. I truly enjoyed the content, the tasks, the feedback, and the instructor's ability to engage learners. I perceived Mrs. Gaige as a natural motivator and a great facilitator.

Thank you so much for your time. Mrs. Amity Gaige.

Sincerely, Maria Barreto

von Cora B

Mar 30, 2016

I enjoyed the course of setting and description as this is an area I particularly enjoy and so it was a great learning experience and a chance for me to enhance my description and setting skills and Amaity Gaige really gave you a free hand at doing this.

von Homer W

Sep 18, 2018

The course emphasizes the importance of believable writing. Choices in narrative voice are studied to describe scenes and characters with research to flush out what has happened, who is present, where and what is anticipated in a story. Good course.

von Michelle K

Mar 17, 2016

I really liked Amity's style- a great presenter, great voice and very encouraging. She also really got into the meat of the subject. And her assignments were a challenge but really enjoyable. I have found out things about my writing in this course!