Chevron Left
Zurück zu Dairy Production and Management

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Dairy Production and Management von The Pennsylvania State University

4.8
Sterne
708 Bewertungen
227 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Dec 21, 2019

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.\n\nThank you.

TN

Aug 25, 2019

I am extremely grateful for this course and the hardworking people behind it. The amount of detailed information and research that has been included is great and I appreciate it very much.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 227 Bewertungen für Dairy Production and Management

von Utibe M O

Jul 28, 2020

Thank you Coursera for this opportunity. This course has really opened my eyes to many things I had little or no idea about. I can now speak boldly on the subject of dairy production and management. I am very excited that I enrolled for this course. Thank you!

von Johanna C

May 02, 2016

Very interesting course covered a number of different areas I was particularly keen on the sustainable and environmental issues. I don't have any farm animals but it still taught me a huge amount of what is involved in getting a pint of milk to ones doorstep

von Edwin J T

Jul 09, 2020

What a fantastic course. I have learned more to bring me up to date with modern practices.

The knowledge from the Professors on the course and how the course is structured and delivered has been excellent.

Well done for giving this opportunity within reach.

von Hussaini S M

Jan 29, 2020

Very interesting and educative course indeed. I have just started Dairy Farming and the course has given me a lot of insights and best practices in Dairy Management from Breed Selection to Nutrition, Reproduction / Farm Management practices and Economics.

von Lenin A

Jul 24, 2020

This is a wonderful course for beginners. Provides valuable knowledge to people like me who are looking into change of career. I thank the professors and all faculty members profoundly for imparting much needed knowledge in Dairy farming and management.

von Vanessa S D

Jan 13, 2018

I really liked the course, the very complete topics and the doctors who gave it with very useful information. The app works for me perfect because it reminds you of the dates and you can take it at the moment you have time no matter the place. Thank you.

von Dr. J T

Mar 19, 2018

I liked the detailed information and presentation about the different aspects of Dairy Farming.

Every module is presented in a very simple and detailed manner. Appreciate the efforts of everyone who have taught me through this course.

Dr. Jayaprakash TG

von Sara S O

Apr 16, 2016

It is an excellent course! Thanks to it I have learned lots of things I dind't know about dairy farms. Also about care, food and needs of cows. The videos are so great and professors make lessons easy and accessible to all levels. 100% recommended!!

von Elizabeth A R

May 31, 2016

Great course, loaded with information! Definitely worth going through for any cattle farmer or vet. My only complaint is that on some of the quizzes, you will never get the right answer because the answer keeps changing. But that can be fixed. :)

von MUSA A

Jan 30, 2018

An excellent course from PSU. The instructors are superb and interesting to listen to. The aditional readings are unbeatable and they serve as good resources to perfect student understanding. Excellent score to coursera and PSU. Keep it up.

von INAM-U-LLAH

Mar 22, 2018

This is a very good course for the people interested in dairy farming or for those who want to start a career in dairy farming. I would definitely recommend this course as a short term and efficient approach to learn about dairy farming.

von Merga B

Sep 25, 2020

Excellent and highly organized course for dairy extension workers, teaching staffs and research workers in the same discipline. I thank you all instructors, organizers and The Pennsylvania state University for this wonderful course.

von Ghada G E A

May 02, 2018

Thanks to every lecturer of penn state univeristy for opening this opportunity of sharing such a great informations for the world's benefit, It is a pleasure to join this helpful course.

Thanks Coursera for hosting and presenting.

von Margot V

May 11, 2016

Excellent online tutorial. Course had a lot of application to my field of study in South Africa. I will definitely be applying for more courses and using Coursera more. Thank you to the lecturers at Penn State University.

von Amin M H D

Jun 27, 2020

Nice Course and valuable information with very qualified and experienced persons.

Thank you so much for this valuable knowledge, and all these efforts for preparing this course full with information and knowledge.

von Mahdi E f

Jun 11, 2018

Thank you for all instructors for making all this profound technical information simple and understandable. This dairy course provided me with very useful information on how to manage a successful dairy farm.

von Muhammad Y

Sep 26, 2020

It was a great learning for me because the course contents was so nice, up to date & comprehensive. I wish everyone who is the part of dairy production in any way either owner or employee should do it.....

von Navjodh k

Jul 16, 2020

I have enjoyed this course and it was very helpful for gaining knowledge in the field of Dairy Production and Management.

Thanks for providing great opportunity to be part of this knowledgeable platform.

von Juan J M E

Jul 27, 2020

Un curso muy completo que me ayudo a entender muchas situaciones y problemáticas de la producción lechera, ademas de aportar muchos mas conocimientos que puedo comenzar a aplicar en mi vida profesional.

von Marlon b

Sep 26, 2020

Excelente curso , seria muy bueno lo puedan en un futuro dar en idioma Español. Y puedan incluir razas genuinas que acá en Latinoamérica se hacen cruces entre brahaman y pardo suizo o Gyr y Holstlein

von Shahzaib

Dec 21, 2019

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.

Thank you.

von Dr A A M

Aug 06, 2020

I would like to thank all the professors and mentors for guiding me about different aspects of dairy production and management with applicable examples (wherever required ) in depth.

von Carlos G

Jun 17, 2020

Gracias por tan valiosa informacón proporcionada, nos sera de gran ayuda para complementar con nuestra experiencia, y así compartir con el desarrollo productivo de nuestro país...

von Mohamed F X

Aug 02, 2020

its a very comprehensive module to educate the new comers in all the aspects for Dairy Framing. I found it very easy to learn, understand and relate to the topics very easily.

von Ibrahim S K

Oct 07, 2019

A very good resource of knowledge, I have learnt many things not about what I do but also about enviromental management which we barely have time or grazing which we do not do