Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting and Cleaning Data

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Getting and Cleaning Data von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
7,870 Bewertungen
1,290 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top-Bewertungen

HS
2. Mai 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

DH
1. Feb. 2016

Easy, mostly instructive Course. The Assignments and quizzes are quite good, and illustrates the lessons very well.\n\nSee the videos for general presentation, but use the energy on the excersizes.

Filtern nach:

1176 - 1200 von 1,253 Bewertungen für Getting and Cleaning Data

von Willie C

21. Jan. 2020

Not a great course. The lecture videos were dull and not very informative, and did not do a good job of preparing you for the quizzes at the end of each week. The lecture videos mentioned and linked to a number of external resources, but you couldn't click on the links through the videos, so that wasn't useful. The forums were much more helpful than the lecture videos when it came to teaching you what you needed to know. I understand why a course like this is essential to the Data Science specialization, but I feel like this content could've been covered in a much more engaging and instructive manner.

von Matt B

14. März 2021

Have to say, very disappointed when comparing this to the first course. The first course teaches you the concepts and the quizzes/projects give you a great environment to learn new concepts while proving knowledge of the previous ones. This course so far has 20is minutes of videos per week that teach you 60% of what you need for the quizzes, especially true for the second week. Save time and use another resource for learning about APIs and other data resources.

von Lyn S

10. Aug. 2017

Not bad, but certainly not good. I cannot believe there is a style of teaching where you never get to see the best way to do something. I can slog thru the programming, but I doubt it's the best way to do something, but I never get to see how something should have been done. It's odd we have no feedback from prof and just 'grading' from other students who also are slogging thru without ever seeing the best or even some good ways to have done something.

von ALEXEY P

11. Okt. 2017

The instructor cares very little about the ability of his students to keep up with his explanations. The pace at which the material is presented is horrible, the amount of details is just the bare minimum. I do not think it would be too much work for the instructor to double or maybe even triple the length of the course videos. But he just does not seem to care.

von Valentin D

19. Jan. 2016

Instructor reads lectures in monotonic voice. The lectures themselves are just a series of cases of some R functions usage with no basics of Why you need to clean the data or real cases with complete examples how and where to get your data and what steps you can do to make it useful.

The course has a lot of links for tutorials in R. That's a plus.

von Shawn L

12. Apr. 2016

The project at the end requires actions that data scientists should know but does not actually talk about the items. For example the project "book". You hear about it but are not actually taught the right way to make one. At best case you are taking a guess and at worst you are learning bad habits or missing out on what should be in it.

von Chris M

5. März 2016

Didn't really cover how to deal with messy data, e.g. if you need to join to datasets and have orphans, or you have no foreign keys between two datasets and you need to use fuzzy matching.

Basic validation was also not covered (i.e. making sure that your data covers all that you expect).

von Jason R H M

11. Aug. 2020

The explication in every lesson is really bad, and the exercise need more thigs that they explain, you must search the most of the tools in the course, if they make some videos or examples with all tools in the program, maybe can be better but in this moment is not good course

von Jonathan O

18. Apr. 2016

I saw two main issues with this course: 1) dated lecture videos, oftentimes with R code that can't be replicated using up-to-date packages, and 2) lack of thoughtful design: example after example after example after example doesn't really teach you anything.

von James O

20. Juni 2016

The class is getting stale. The instructors didn't respond to questions on the discussion forums about quiz items, the majority of assessment items seem to be available on Google and 50% of the peer reviewed assessment I checked used plagiarized solutions.

von Izabela L

29. Aug. 2016

The code for the final assignment is peer reviewed which doesn't make sense. It should be reviewed by either a TA or some kind of application than can verify what you've done. Also, the assignments were a bit of a leap from the video tutorials at times.

von Daan v d V

7. Okt. 2020

Although this course is on a very interesting topic, it is quite outdated. Its lectures and examples are quite outdated; some web scraping examples are incompatible or don't exist anymore, and the described techniques are mostly (outdated) R libraries.

von Stephen S

27. Juni 2016

The videos did not teach anything that was going to be on the quiz so it was like answering 5 questions at random using google. The lesson plans and project were very vague and too much time was spent trying to figure out what was even being asked.

von Shashank M

23. Juli 2017

This is a very crucial part of the data science specialisation and I feel more hands-on exercises and quizzes should have been there. Small practice quizzes for testing incremental learning within a week should be there.

von Eduardo S B

5. Okt. 2019

In my opinion the structure of the course is not the best. I mainly dislike the fact that some libraries, packages, etc. (e.g. MySQL) are not trivial to install.

Still I learnt quite a lot, so I wouldn't say it's bad.

von le M N

23. Juni 2020

the instructor of this course, unlike the other 1, is quite unclear about what needed to be done. a lots of the packages of the course are not up to date.

more quiz and exercise would be highly beneficial

von Jason Y

2. Aug. 2017

Mediocre presentation of tidy data, which is probably the most critical topic. Otherwise, its mostly just walking through what commands to use in R to load in various file formats.

von Patti M

4. Jan. 2017

This class needs more content, more explanation. It is clearly a very important aspect of Data Science, but the assignments were more complex than the given course content.

von Sheila B

7. Mai 2018

I learned a lot but my usually happy & grateful attitude was sorely challenged by the fact that so many facts in the videos and obvious course material was, well, wrong.

von James K

11. Mai 2020

Out of date material. Many links broken. Some of the functions taught are sunset. Week 2 was too surface level to do anything useful. Weeks 3 and 4 better than week 2.

von Joseph S

14. Mai 2020

This course has a very interesting subject and a concise syllabus, but is very poorly prepared. I hope coursera will pass on the message to Johns Hopkins University!

von Albert B

14. Aug. 2016

Too difficult practical exercises with the theorical background given. I know that hackers skill should be used but it is too much assumption in the projects!!

von Seyed A T

19. Juli 2016

It is somehow just an extension on R Programming course, with many unnecessary details that will be forgotten in a few days after the course.

von Sergio C d F

23. Aug. 2016

The video is simple and good.

But the final project and some test are too hard based on material presented.

Also staff's support are not good.

von Cintia K

9. März 2021

Unfortunately the course's lectures are quite outdated, so you won't pass week 1 without all the research done by yourself.