Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting and Cleaning Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Getting and Cleaning Data von Johns Hopkins University

4.6
Sterne
7,525 Bewertungen
1,213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top-Bewertungen

HS

May 03, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE

Oct 26, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 1,173 Bewertungen für Getting and Cleaning Data

von Debayan D

Jul 25, 2017

The Course Project was daunting at first, but I reviewed my notes over and over again, tried reading from the site where the raw data was made available and constructed images of how the TIDY data should look like. This is a very important course in this specialization. The course has given me an abstract sense of what to expect and what to do while cleaning data.

von Li G

Jan 12, 2017

Very helpful and pragmatic.

This course gives a general idea on how to get and clean data in r, and specifically taught me how to use "dplyr" and "tidyr".

The assignment is very helpful, too. It forced me to use the knowledge I learned in this course, might be a little bit of hard for a beginner though. Nevertheless, you can still achieve a 100% score!

von Tai C M

Sep 16, 2017

I am very happy to go through this subject not because of the certification but I learned the steps to import and clean the data. Although this subject is no rocket science, a lot of the data available on the web will require the knowledge that I learned in this subject to enhance the integrity of the data that anyone can download from the web.

von Anthony S

Nov 03, 2016

Learned a lot! I have now dedicated more time to becoming a data analyst, and eventually a data scientist. The materials used in the videos were helpful and current (for me at least, 30 years young). I have started doing more learning on the kaggle platform as well as doing some hands-on Hadoop related training. Thanks to the professors!

von Carlos M

Oct 19, 2017

This course is fantastic! Through it was possible concretely to apply the concepts of BigData through the tool proposed for the course. Due to various difficulties I had to leave. But I'm coming back with all my might. Congratulations to all teachers who make no effort to pass on knowledge in a substantial and substantial way.

von Rodney A J

Jun 06, 2017

This is a terrific course on obtaining data from various sources and then cleaning the raw data obtained to form useful tidy data sets. The course material learned is reinforced using a very interesting peer-reviewed project based on accelerometer and gyroscopic data from collected from typical human activity.

von Murat Z

Feb 11, 2018

Great course for data mining and cleaning. If you planning to take Reproducible Research course, I'd recommend to at least audit that course's second week for markdown and knitr skills prior to taking Getting and Cleaning Data course, coz you're going to face need for those skills during the course project.

von Sachi B

Feb 20, 2018

Good intro to several commands needed for cleaning and preparing data. Final assignment was challenging enough that made me dig deeper into commands. Since there are several ways of accomplishing the same task in R, grading the other students helped see what others have done - some of them were slick!

von Aki T

Oct 24, 2019

This course was excellent and fundamental in order to even start a data analysis. It sets the foundation for how to read and treat the data, which is as the instructor mentioned, often overlooked. Thank you very much for taking the time to break the cleaning process into each comprehensive pieces.

von Nino P

May 24, 2019

A bit tough course with topics of getting the data since I don't know much about file types, but cleaning part is a must do for every data scientist. dplyr and tidyverse is the base of R and nowadays I only use dplyr for my data wrangling. Highly recommendable course and specialization.

von Sudheergouda P

Dec 31, 2018

The course project was really helpfull in understanding how the data is presented to datascientists. Now to get the jist of the data we have to go through assembling, cleaning and cutting the data.. It was a challenged to understand the data.. assembling the data was a lot of fun in R..

von Fernando V

Dec 14, 2016

A great course. I mean, It has not been easy, I have spent a lot of time in front of the PC practising and doing exercises, but this time and the tools that I have learned make me much more agile and confortable with R, and I have seen the big possibilities that this language has.

von Christopher L

Jul 18, 2017

great course, I am fairly familiar with R in my line of work but this was a great opportunity to practice web-scraping. I might even switch from a dplyr-centric wrangling workflow to one centered on data.table in my personal and professional work. more compact and faster!

von Carlos M

Dec 22, 2016

Difficult but valuable. You will be watching the videos repeatedly and become a regular at StockOverflow but it was completely worth it. Getting, cleaning, and processing data is pretty much 80%+ of the job, this course's information is vital to any future data worker.

von Gilvan S

Feb 11, 2017

Excellent course. It gets through the "dirty job" of obtaining data from diverse sources (including API, web, and others), cleaning it, and transforming it into a "tidy" dataset. Highly recommended, along with the R programming course (which you should take first).

von Scott C

Feb 17, 2018

Good overview of what it means to get and clean your own data. Really enjoyed the final project as it challenged you to, with minimal guidance, think through what a tidy dataset really means, and figure out how to make that happen with the dataset you are provided.

von Tim S

Mar 24, 2016

For someone with no programming background and limited experience working with data, this was a challenging, sometimes frustrating, course. But perseverance through the struggle can end in a deep sense of satisfaction. Happily, this is how it was - quite rewarding.

von Gbolahan

Sep 07, 2016

Wonderful course. gets you through the basics and beyond in getting and cleaning data from diverse sources. Very well thought and explained. There is a lot to be learnt from this course, and it requires devoting a good amount of time to let the material sink in.

von Diego A S R

Jul 04, 2020

Good course, but needs an update. Week 2 was really difficult compared to what was explained in the lectures and regex expressions should be explained using R, it was a little hard to learn to use them directly in R. I feel that I learned a lot in this course.

von Randal N

Jan 23, 2018

Very enlightening course. It is the first course where I felt like I was actually doing something data sciency. Would recommend even as a stand alone course because I have now come to appreciate the importance of tidy data in performing successful analyses.

von Keat C C

Nov 07, 2016

Really can learn practical skills! I like that each sub course of data science specialisation just focus on a certain areas and takes only 4 weeks, this way I won't be overburden between work and learning, and also easier for me to absorb the new skills.

von Waleed A

Jan 31, 2018

Another brilliant course from Johns Hopkins University in the data science specialisation. Data preparation is a step where an analyst may spend considerable time before beginning any analysis task. I found this course useful and practical. It provided

von Daniel M D V

Sep 03, 2019

Excellent! From my point of view, this is the best course so far. The general concepts that are thought here can be applied to any programming language you use for data analysis. The specific R concepts really shows the power R has to manipulate data.

von Kunal P

Dec 15, 2019

This was one of the best class. Recommend more side reading material on data. SWIRL has a reading link but the link is not provided anywhere else on the board. Also, it would be beneficial if the links can be made clickable in lecture slides. Thanks.

von Martin H

Aug 14, 2016

Exellent course, which brings you to the next level of a Data Scientist.

Getting and Cleaning data principles can be used in alot of situations. I found the build up of this and the assignment at the end to be very well tought trough and important.