Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting and Cleaning Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Getting and Cleaning Data von Johns Hopkins University

4.6
Sterne
7,589 Bewertungen
1,224 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top-Bewertungen

HS
2. Mai 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
25. Okt. 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filtern nach:

801 - 825 von 1,183 Bewertungen für Getting and Cleaning Data

von Gabriel T d O

17. März 2017

Great course. Could be more interactive and could have more detailed instructions for the Course Project. Last task for the Course Project uses a function that is not covered in previous lessons, which I think is not OK.

von pascal b

21. Feb. 2017

I really started to get interested in R only when I started this course.

Before that, it was just an old, cryptic language that could not do more than what I can do with Excel.

Now I am starting to see the full potential

von Luis G N C

1. Mai 2019

It is a good course. I believe that the final project is challenging but quite extensive and requires dedication to solve it. I would have liked for this course, to establish a formal methodology for data cleansing.

von Lorenzo R

7. Juli 2019

Some files that were used for the examples were no longer accessible. Updates to the xlsx package also were not reflected or discussed. As I noticed on the forums several students had issues with java dependencies.

von Timofan M

29. Aug. 2019

The 3rd course in the specialization was great in terms of the materials presented.

But the "homework" requirements were a little bit unclear most of the times, even though the actual solution was fairly simple.

von Valerie H

24. Nov. 2016

Capstone project is a little ambiguous. Although that's good experience having to find a way to reason out what the objective is based on limited information.

Introduction to chained dplyr is incredibly useful.

von Jesus M S

22. Apr. 2020

Clearly structured course, but as with previous courses of the Data Science program, there is a gap regarding coding skills which the course does not till for those of us lacking a programming background.

von Juan P L R

10. Aug. 2020

Most of the course was interesting, well-designed and useful. Some lectures and links have to be upgraded. This is a really good course if you want to know what possibilities you have to get data with R.

von Sean F

1. Nov. 2018

Good course, instructors are very knowledgeable. Would be good to add more practical lessons and extend the course. As they say, repetition is the law of learning. Thank you for helping me get this far!

von Tony W

5. Mai 2016

The assignment was excellent but challenging, instruction wasn't too clear or obvious though, struggled for a while (good kind of struggle)

The lecture was okay but the Swirl part is always fantastic.

von Carlos G W

7. Aug. 2020

I think that the level of difficulty of the exercises and final assignment does not match with the depth of the lectures; without a textbook, I feel lost, don't have a reference, and have to guess.

von NEVIN T K

19. Mai 2020

The 'cleaning data' part was explained pretty well... I do feel he could've gone into more detail for the 'gathering data' part- especially the webscraping part. Other than that, great course!

von aparna T

20. Nov. 2017

Very interesting and enjoyed doing the Assignment.

but the assignment instructions are not clear.A lot of time was wasted trying to figure out what data is what are what are we interested in.

von Ash G

8. Mai 2020

The course was very helpful & guided but since I don't have a strong coding background I felt myself getting lost often. It would be really helpful if there is some guidance in assignments.

von Joonas S

19. Okt. 2016

The course material is ok - it would really need a book like the other courses have. It is much easier to check something from a book than slides/video when doing the assignments etc. .

von Xiaoyan

15. Aug. 2018

The Swirl practice part is great! But there is a big gap between what we learned from video/swirl and the course project! The project is much harder than what I learn from the course.

von Robert D

9. Nov. 2016

Good coverage of topics. A bit scattered in early slides and assignments were often inconsistent with coursework. Overall a great introduction of what to expect when gathering data.

von Ramon R

9. Juli 2017

I found the last project insufficiently explained. I was struggling in understanding what the task is. A bit more clear task description (as in Course 2) would be really appreciated.

von John S

5. Mai 2016

Actually, very interesting and helpful class. The one area around more complex structures (API, XML) warrants more attention, since I assume those are more dominant access methods.

von He S K

24. Juni 2016

good introduction and practice being given on handling data cleaning. Lesser thought on getting data merely introduction. Still good to give a try if you are new in data analysis.

von Маношин А А

21. Apr. 2020

The course is good, but I have met some inconveniences with week 4 tasks because of bugs in swirl ( they can be met when you in not USA timzone) and not-so-clear course project.

von Sanil S

1. Feb. 2018

learnt a lot of real world applications - fetching data from databases, apis, internet etc and basics of how to tidy data. Addditionally, I am more confident of my R skills now.

von Rodrigo R

3. März 2016

Very good content, but could have more content added.. I had much more free time with this one than what I did with the R Programming. Would be better to have more swirl lessons

von Madanage K P P

15. Okt. 2020

The content was good but to do the assignments you have to search through various other sources. No any assignment can be done by just by going through the lecture materials

von Alexsander L B

30. Mai 2018

I believe that is possible to improve the presentation, because are missing dinamic in the course and it didn't motivate me to explore more information about it and pratice.