Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting and Cleaning Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Getting and Cleaning Data von Johns Hopkins University

4.6
Sterne
7,537 Bewertungen
1,215 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top-Bewertungen

HS

May 03, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

DH

Feb 02, 2016

Easy, mostly instructive Course. The Assignments and quizzes are quite good, and illustrates the lessons very well.\n\nSee the videos for general presentation, but use the energy on the excersizes.

Filtern nach:

1076 - 1100 von 1,175 Bewertungen für Getting and Cleaning Data

von finbar k

Jun 26, 2018

Vague instructions in many of the quizes and the final assignment.

von Lee C W

May 28, 2018

Average. Not useful even to tackle its own quizes and assignment.

von Denis S C

Nov 01, 2017

Explanation could be more elaborated like the earlier courses

von JP B

Aug 06, 2016

Not well explained.... Previous module was better structured.

von Andrew T

Feb 02, 2018

Useful.

Too much talking. Not enough integrated exercises.

von Ryan W

Oct 24, 2018

Mostly just R programming with data science in passing.

von Thomas G

Aug 19, 2016

Very usefull but can be technical and discouraging

von BIBHUTI B P

May 30, 2017

needs little more real time scenario examples..

von Pedro V Q d C

Nov 09, 2016

Course is too simple, should be more extensive.

von madhubalini V

Oct 06, 2020

practices is much needed to complete projects.

von Dr. M H A J

Jul 02, 2018

Amazing, Kindly update the versions always.

von Ahmed A

Jun 14, 2020

I THINK THE COURSE NEED TO BE UBDATED

von Ivo G G V

Jun 20, 2019

It needs an update on some libraries.

von Mario P

Dec 09, 2017

Useful, but a little boring.

von KIM D H

Jul 22, 2017

its so hard for beginner to

von Antoine D

Sep 03, 2016

Interesting but too simple.

von Liliana B S

Mar 04, 2016

Sometimes is hard to follow

von Dinesh B

May 13, 2017

The assignment was tough.

von Hussien E

Sep 11, 2019

A little hard to follow

von Naman D D

Jun 09, 2020

Too much repetittion.

von Sujeet S

Jan 07, 2020

Too tough

von Michael E

Sep 06, 2017

Professors did not do a lot beyond rehearsing what the commands did. More important, there were a lot of small things that would stop progress on the course unless you went deep into the forums - for instance, one of the files in the final project was illegible unless you used the right text editor. Final project was poorly designed in that the data were untidy but intended to stay that way (See "Should I decompose the variable names?" in Thoughtful Bloke's post at https://thoughtfulbloke.wordpress.com/2015/09/09/getting-and-cleaning-the-assignment/ - he is right about jerk and mag but wrong about time/freq, gravity/body, acc/gyro, and x/y/z, which are mutually exclusive members of the same set and thus values that appear in column names). I appreciate that this course, unlike other online courses, actually makes you think, but students should only have to think about topics germane to the course. Overall much more frustrating and time-consuming than it should have been.

von Bill C

Sep 28, 2016

This course is where the material starts to get difficult, and the learning materials fail to provide the structure needed. There absolutely HAS to be a better teaching method than "reading the slides of bullet-ed text that I'm also showing". No functional examples are provided in the lectures and the real learning content is linked out to web resources. You will have to Google your way through this class because the provided instruction will not contain answers to the quiz or exam questions. A real disappointment.

I also think that Coursera knows this, because this was the first course where they ramped up the e-mail encouragement campaign. Their data must tell them this is where people fall off the specialization. Rather than addressing with marketing and messaging, they should encourage the instructors to improve the course.

von Marcelo S

Dec 09, 2017

There is a lot of room for improvement. In an ironic twist, since the course is about "cleaning data," we are left to our own devices figuring out a lot of this very outdated material, broken links, codes that don't work, etc, so we have to google and search StackOverflow and forums to fill in the gaps and create a better course. I was subsequently asked to be a Mentor in the course, but I would rather the author of the course revise it, instead of having us work for free trying to help people get through outdated material. All the help is in the discussion forums already anyway, so I'm not sure why they need more Mentors. The saving grace of this course is that you will learn, if you are desperate to learn, and it is part of a greater Specialization that is worth your time.

von Marc F

May 15, 2016

I believe this course suffers from neglect. Rarely did I see any of the mentors participating in the group discussions even though there were plenty of questions. Furthermore, some of the quiz questons seemed incomplete or confusing. The project was no better. I feel like the course was recorded a few years ago, and not much done after that to fix flaws, even though they are probably well known. The material is useful, but it would be nice to have a set of notes or a text to go with the lectures. You will spend a lot of time searching the internet to compelte the assignments. Sometimes that is good, but other times a guide geared to the course would have been better.