Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
964 Bewertungen
285 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK
10. Sep. 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC
28. Feb. 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 282 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Abel C D

9. Juni 2020

the course is informative. It combines computing theories along with astronomy. It also helps deal with us about how important is data analysis from the perspective of the astronomer. The number of lecture videos are very less. And don't deep dive into the concepts of astronomy itself. We have to read a lot. Also, this course uses grok learning software, even though it's a great method for coding exercise it has many drawbacks of not fully conveying the concepts. Moreover, the course is a bit outdated when compared to current machine learning algorithms.

von Kavan P

25. Sep. 2020

I actually wanted to give four and a half stars but the option is not available. Anyway, this is a great course, teaching us some the best skills about handling the innumerous space data. The only thing is, I found some difficulties to understand the coding in some tasks just because I'd a very basic idea of using Python, and the demand of skills required for a new learner of Python are increasing exponentially. Except that, it was a great experience to learn with this course! Thank you University of Sydney.

von Pavel K

20. Okt. 2018

Overall the course is great, I highly recommend it to astronomers who want to learn some new tricks in data science. Meanwhile, it is not so useful for everyone else - lections are super brief and superficial, coding assignments are very easy and not challenging at all, not only you have a pretty self-explanatory template (do A, do B), but it is possible to view a complete solution right away, which is rather strange approach.

von Rene F

4. Sep. 2017

So far, the first week has been interesting. Challenging because I am new to Python (I am a C/C++, Swift and ABAP developer) . The assignments are well guided - challenging but far from impossible.

I would like the videos to be a little longer or give a little more theoretical background but mostly it has the right amount of info.

von Adam S

25. Juni 2017

I thought this class was a great application of Python Programming to an interesting topic that I otherwise would not have learned. However, coming from a computer science background, the programming was pretty easy. If you are looking to strictly learn more about programming, I would suggest a more difficult course.

von Antoni C M

7. Okt. 2018

I've really enjoyed this course! There are a lot of new things to learn in it. Just to say something not so good from my point of view is that in the exercises sometimes the libraries or code to use could be a bit more explained or documented. But in general it's very good. I recommend it.

von Antonio P

29. Aug. 2020

It is a very interesting course and the way astronomical problems and coding problems are connected is seamless and very interesting. Also, the videos have great quality and the interviews were great. I only wish it was a bit longer and also pandas were part of it

von Doug

28. Jan. 2018

Good course, with fun examples to work with. I'm not an astronomer, and mainly took the course for fun,but the things I've learned here will be useful for my own research. About the only thing I would have liked to see was more background material on each topic.

von Roberto G

30. Juni 2020

Very interesting approach to astronomy, although I would have preferred larger part of the course devoted to strictly astronomical topics and less time spent on basic quantitative notions. By the way, thank you, you gave me some hours of enjoyment.

von Archana B

10. Juli 2020

An amazing course to get started for someone like me, passionate about astronomy and closely related to the field of computer science. Very well organized and nicely explained course with great visuals and mid-tests. Kudos to the instructors!

von K S R

25. Sep. 2019

A really good course covering a variety of subjects in both astronomy and data analysis which is exactly the combination I was looking for. A final exercise covering all the topics taught would have been a fitting end to the course.

von Vibha

8. Dez. 2019

Well-taught, good supporting resources, and heavily rooted in application. The external grading tool exceeded expectations as well. Next time, would prefer more of the code being explained by the instructors.

von Federico T

24. Juli 2017

A good introduction in Data Astronomy with Python. I missed some lessons about python to finish some of the volunteer exercises and some contact with astronomy data from the web, but it is a great course.

von Gautam B

21. Apr. 2017

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!

von Francisco

15. Mai 2019

Interesting introduction to machine-learning techniques applied to astronomical data. I think very adapted to astronomers willing to learn about this topic or to astronomy students.

von GAVIN W

29. Sep. 2019

If you want to learn Python and a bit of Machine Learning in the context of Astronomy then this is a great course to give your skills a boost and learn more about modern Astronomy.

von Rex C

23. Jan. 2021

I am interested in stars, galaxies and black holes. Learning to write simple programs about data processing in astronomy has enhanced my understanding of these fields.

von José L I M

29. Juli 2020

I've been researching on both machine learning and astronomy, this is a nice course to get introduced on how things are being made in data-driven Astronomy.

von John I

31. Aug. 2019

I enjoyed the course.

The only issue was with a couple of the python labs not having the data to try within my own environment.

von Ayush R

15. Mai 2020

One of the best courses on astronomy and coding. So thoughtfully created and explained. I would love if y'all do this course!

von Ignacio d L A G

27. Dez. 2019

He aprendido cosas, hasta ahora, desconocidas para mi. Me ha abierto la curiosidad por investigar

von Anand K

31. Jan. 2020

So the course is of introductory type. Not much in depth. Great for beginners in Data Science.

von Alastair K

7. Jan. 2018

great course with practical python programming. very informative and easy to follow

von Rita A

10. Juli 2020

This course involved a brilliant interplay between theory and application !