Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
896 Bewertungen
267 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK

Sep 11, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 264 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Orlando A M M

Aug 09, 2017

It's been an amazing and educative journey. Besides sharping my Python skills, the Astropy and Numpy library are really a wealth of knowledge that is worth using. Machine learning was new for me, specifically decision trees. I got some knowledge 20 years ago about neural networks and fussy logic, but his was something new. All in all, the instructors and assisting staff showed their expertise both in the programming part as well as in the astronomical domain. Really a recommended course for those who love both domains!

von Chinmaya N

Nov 20, 2019

I enjoy learning about recent advances in astronomy. Since astronomy isn't my vocation, I usually have to settle for a view from the sidelines. Although that may still be the case, I think this course has taken me to a seat in the front row. Moreover, I learned computational thinking, which is immensely useful in my vocation. I couldn't have asked for a better way to marry my love of astronomy with practical knowledge of modern day tools to extract, store, and manipulate data and glean useful insights from the data.

von Vishwa J

Feb 05, 2020

It was a great course. A basic understanding of how python works and few of its modules is enough for this course. Astronomy lovers and a techie must combine their both the skills and learn how to take all the openly available data from different telescope available online and come to their own conclusion from it. Operating a FITS file, image stacking, image processing, DBMS, SQL query, editing database, reading database, taking output from a big database using classifiers, finding distance to stars and much more.

von Richard E

Jan 04, 2019

I enjoyed this fusion of programming with Astronomy topics. Note that the exercises use the Python programming language (no substitutes permitted), fairly generic Structured Query Language (SQL) for databases, numpy (science math tools) Python library, scikit-learn (machine learning) Python library, and matplotlib (math & plotting) Python library.

I highly recommend this course, even if you are already experienced in a subset of the above.

Would be interesting: a 2nd more advanced course.

von Atul N

Feb 09, 2019

What I liked about the course was the graded programming assignments, which help to introduce a person to machine learning techniques and other problems in astronomy data processing. Being a physics student by formal education and a star gazer too, I am familiar with the theory but was always curious about how to they measure distances, how do they measure red-shifts etc when the distant galaxies are themselves so faint. This course helped me understand these stuff....

von Ms. C S Y

Jul 25, 2020

Very good. I like how the course is structured - every week we first learn the basic knowledge of the astronomical objects in concern, followed by hands-on coding practice on solving problems, and learning the programming language and/or machine learning algorithm at the same time. It is really suitable for astronomy students like me, to get to know the additional data science and computational skills necessary for entering a field that uses big data all the time.

von Ravi P B

Mar 30, 2020

Excellent Course.I really really enjoyed my journey throughout the course.Got to learn so much from the course whether its regarding to SQL or to python.Course also offers great insights into developing and structuring Machine Learning Projects.The Science part was absolutely amazing and thrilling ,the lectures were brilliant as well as concise and both the instructors were so good.Its been a beautiful learning journey for me.

von Russell O

Jun 20, 2017

Thank you for a very interesting, educational, and ofttimes challenging course. I suspect the instructors and mentors have introduced me to only the tip of the iceberg - 98% of data-driven astronomy lies below the surface and inside enormous datasets/databases. It almost makes me wish life had taken a different course and brought me to this fascinating subject. I would look forward to any further courses from you.

von Lyle D

May 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken. The instructors are fantastic! This course is like a 500 page novel that you cannot put down and now you are on the last 10 pages. I do not want this course to end!! It was such pleasure to go through the videos and problems!!

Sincere thanks to Professor Tara Murphy and Dr. Simon Murphy !! Good on ya mates!! Please have a follow-on course!!

von Raghav M

May 15, 2020

Its an amazing course. You will get an overview of data analysis techniques and how they are implemented in modern day astronomy. You will get hands-on experience dealing with astronomical data. You will learn how to use data to get physical results and how much data is important in developing an understanding of our Universe. The course is more focused on practical aspects of Astronomy.

von DEBASISH C S

Feb 18, 2018

A solid, compact, no-nonsense introduction to machine learning in Astronomy using Python's rich scientific tool sets. I think the knowledge will help equip the learners to straight away apply some of the skills in practical scenarios not only in Astronomy but also in other ML scenarios. A delicious Apple pie of Computer science, Astronomy and Programming served in a bite sized fashion.

von Tara S

May 27, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. I can honestly say this is my favorite class I've ever taken. What a perfect blend of real astronomy, programming, Python, SQL, machine-learning, and data analysis. Thank you SO much for creating/curating this course, and for all the mentors for their help and insight. I wish I could do this type of work for a living. Well-done!! Five stars.

von Alan M

Oct 12, 2017

Although, I gave a five star, but I have following notes:

It was brilliantly structured on shaping and combining scientific problems with data science to tackle those issue. However, it could use few more examples to add to our current skills. Thank you again. That was the course I was looking for, after taking a course on Machine Learning by Andrea NG, from Stanford University.

von Ruth P

Aug 07, 2017

This course was absolutely fascinating, thank you so much! I especially enjoyed the discussions about actually thinking through the data instead of just jumping in with whatever tool or algorithm you normally use, loved the short astronomical overview pieces and their quizzes, and the bonus material - interviews of people working in the "real world" out there - was great.

von Kao K

Apr 24, 2020

Great Course! The practice section on Grok platform is what makes it especially good, considering you don't really need to setup a programming environment on your own machine. Additionally, each module has a very interesting problem, that you dive into to create a working solution step-by-step to obtain a visible result, which is satisfying and encouraging to go further.

von Ondrej M

May 17, 2019

I have enjoyed fully the whole course which helped me to connect my professional skills in coding and data analytics with my hobby - astronomy. The lectures were clear, very well understandable, motivated me to make my own research and the Grok platform is very well suited for getting the "hands on" experience. I also appreciate links to external tools and data sources.

von Nazarov A P

Jul 17, 2017

Very good intraductional course to modern astronomy that is nowadys more and more science about data. Not so much astronomy theory but good programing tasks, sometimes challenging, especially in the starting weeks. As addition some introduction in machine learning is provided. I would recommend it to everyone interested in data analysis in modern science.

von ÁLVARO N J H

Aug 19, 2019

Un curso introductorio, de dificultad variable (quizás más duro al principio que al final) muy interesante tanto para enlazar teoría y práctica en el campo de la Astronomía, para iniciarse en las técnicas y conceptos clave del Machine Learning, como para desarrollar o refrescar el pensamiento algorítmico-computacional.

En resumen: MUY BUEN CURSO

von Javier H

Aug 27, 2020

Very good course for anybody, with a knowledge about programming with Python and without them, im a engineering student and i love the modules to plot beautiful variables relation graphics and finding the more important values on a big source of data. Qualified teachers and a interesting application to use Python and learn at the same time.

von H S

Jul 16, 2020

The practical approach really enabled me to learn more. Instead of just lectures and quizzes, the programming problem sets challenged me to properly learn different features of python. Since I am new to programming, I had to use a lot of outside sources to complete the code. I had to engage significantly more with the problems posed.

von Roger H

Jun 14, 2020

Very enjoyable and practical dive into astronomy concepts. I think the machine learning part could have been a bit more advanced but now I understand it is meant to be an intro-level practical tutorial in both machine learning concepts/data science concepts and how they apply to astronomy. In this respect, the course does quite well.

von Amit K

May 19, 2020

The course, video, practice, all are really good. But one who is joining this, really need good python practice and knowledge of astronomy. In the discussion forum it may take some time but reply comes. I’ll suggest for making it better further. It is really awesome. One join the course and take advantage of it. Thank you all.

von Alexei M

Aug 11, 2017

A great place to get hands dirty for those who are interested in how modern astronomy handles and does science with observational data. Good for both amateur astronomers and professionals. I enjoyed the course very much. Impressive is how practical part of programming was made available and worked smooth most of the time.

von Andre R

Oct 01, 2020

One of the best online courses I've taken. Dr. T is an excellent communicator. Course is nicely chunked to make it challenging, yet encouraging. First data science class I've taken in which the datasets are interesting - not simulated, no flower petals or handwriting. Fingers crossed for DL class from these instructors.

von Akash M P

Sep 10, 2017

Most of all courses in astronomy and astrophysics are just introduction to subject or provides little advanced theoretical perspective but this is one of the courses which teach us practical astronomy and let us have insights of how astronomers really use physics as well as computers to to get something good out of it.