Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
1,011 Bewertungen
305 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK
10. Sep. 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC
28. Feb. 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 302 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Intentional_Error

13. Feb. 2021

Both of the lecturers present the information in a clear and concise way. If you are used to using an IDE grok has some drawbacks such as not auto completing brackets and quotes; these are easily overcome though. Thanks to Both the Murphys for this opportunity.

von Barun S

11. Juni 2020

it is obviously a wonderful course to learn so much about my favourite subjects got good computational skills, Thank you for making this course so easy and understandable, hope I will get more contents like this, Thank you Coursera, thanks to all the faculty.

von Athul

6. Juni 2020

The course is well defined with clear presentation. From an astronomy prespective, the course provides necessary knowledge for inspiring us to step into data analysis and machine learning. Thank you University of Sydney to host such a course on astronomy

von Nabanita R

24. Jan. 2020

Application consists a lot of basics including using SQL database and programming. This course should be labelled as fundamental. There should another course that emphasises only on the usage and practical applications of ML in astronomical institutions.

von Boris D

17. Feb. 2021

I am an astronomy lover and a programmer, for me this course is the first acquaintance with the work of a professional astronomer. It was very interesting thanks a lot! Could you please make an advanced course with laboratory work from real research? :)

von Erik v P

5. Sep. 2017

Good introduction course to big data. Some prior knowledge of Python is good to have to make it easier to get through the course, The astronomy part of the course is very interesting. It has changed much since I took university level courses in it.

von Johanna B

26. Feb. 2020

The videos are extremely well-done and contain just the right amount of content for astronomy newbies like me. I really enjoyed the use of Grok. Personally, I don't think previous python knowledge is necessary to successfully complete this course.

von Jesse S

30. Aug. 2017

Fun, engaging programming-focused assessments with just the right balance of structure and freedom. Diligent mentors such as Magda on the Forums. All embedded in the wonderful content of Astronomy. Good for practising Python and an intro to SQL.

von Manoj J

30. Mai 2019

This course is excellent for anyone who loves astronomy and is looking to working in the field .The concepts are conveyed effectively and the assignments are the most important aspects as they teach a lot more than the videos . Its was fun !!

von Avinash C

10. Feb. 2020

This course was very useful and insightful for me. I really liked the programming sets. I did feel that there could have been bit more detailed discussion in Machine learning part. I would really love to do an advance course in this subject.

von Akhil P

25. Mai 2017

This course has provide me with great insights in the field on Astrophysics. It has really helped in matching my interests in Astrophysics and Machine Learning. Now, I feel confident to play with data from SDSS and Kepler Exoplanet Archive.

von Toivo S

16. Sep. 2017

Amazing course! I learned a lot about astronomy, quasars, galaxies, machine learning, python and the scientific libraries numpy, scikit-learn, scipy, creating programs that are optimised in memory use and that complete in reasonable time

von Fakhrtdinov R

9. Nov. 2020

A very interesting course containing information useful for practical application. I wish there was a continuation of this course, because there are still many questions regarding the processing of astronomical data. It would be great!

von Chirag M

27. März 2020

The course gives a very deep knowledge on the astronomy and also it encourages us to explore ourselves rather than spoon-feeding us. It also gives a good amount of knowledge on application of machine learning in astronomical fields.

von Paulina

12. Juli 2019

It is a really well done course, 100% recommended. Simple but with a lot of information to shared. exercises are really well build in order to anyone can understand the main objective (Astronomy and Machine Learning techniques).

von Ashish J

28. Aug. 2019

Overall Great course regarding content delivered and the good thing is they kept it short and straight forward; more interesting exercises and programming would have been really great! Looking forward for more advanced courses!

von Dr. K S

5. Juni 2017

Course follows a very intuitive approach to impart modern astronomy knowledge with big data as a backdrop. Good coverage of materials, well-paced programming instructions, eloquently and excellent presentation of written notes.

von Paul L

1. Juni 2017

An optimal course for the type of learning that I am interested in. The programming assignments had the right level of challenge to keep me engaged with the lecture material. The use of Grok Learning tools was a definite bonus.

von Vaggelis C

16. Mai 2018

Excellent training program for people who wish to combine data analytics skills and astronomy! An entertaining 6-week period with really helpful tips and exercises that I will surely keep in mind in my future work! Thank you!

von Adrian W

31. Aug. 2018

Loved the mix of theory and hands-on. Very well balanced. Great learning outcomes. Loved that it went as far as to include simple ML into the syllabus. This has made me want to get back into real computational physics again!

von Jai I

28. Dez. 2020

This was a great course for me, who wanted to start from scratch on data analysis in Astronomy. The scientific concepts of pulsars, stellar classification, galaxy classification were new to me and fun to learn. Thanks!

von Maciej K

11. Dez. 2018

Starting from the basics and going into ml - nice content :) iIloved the idea to solve more interresting problems, not only house-price-predict. I would like to see more of such courses in the future. Thank you :)

von Sourabh D

24. Sep. 2018

Completed the course 2 days ago. It was an amazing experience of learning. I was overwhelmed by all practical examples and implementations. I would recommend this course to everyone in either astrophysics field.

von Cassio F

19. März 2021

Excellent overview of how big data, data visualization, data analysis and machine learning techniques are applied on science fields like astronomy. Hope I can soon apply all these knowledge myself in a project.

von Tanishqa K

8. Juni 2020

In the world of big data this course provides a beautiful blend of astronomy and data science. It is very informative and given me a good enough insight in both above mentioned subjects to start exploring more.