Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
431 Bewertungen
126 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

GM

Jun 30, 2017

Great course with a good balance of code and the rewards to be had from understanding how the code works - proved to be an excellent introduction to Astronomy and confidence builder in Python.

BF

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 125 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

von Cooper P

Sep 28, 2017

I have a profound admiration for this course and its professors.

von David B

Nov 02, 2017

Very enjoyable and at times challenging.

von Russell O

Jun 20, 2017

Thank you for a very interesting, educational, and ofttimes challenging course. I suspect the instructors and mentors have introduced me to only the tip of the iceberg - 98% of data-driven astronomy lies below the surface and inside enormous datasets/databases. It almost makes me wish life had taken a different course and brought me to this fascinating subject. I would look forward to any further courses from you.

von Aayush

Jul 01, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

von Надежда

Aug 13, 2017

Thank you a lot for your work and course.

von Gautam D

Dec 03, 2017

First few weeks are challenging, from the coding point of view, but the knowledge that one gains about our Universe is simply fantastic. I've never enjoyed using a Programming language to solve, even though at a beginner's level, problems up until this class. Simply fantastic. If you're curious about Deep Learning, like I am, and are an aspirant in the field of Machine Learning, I highly suggest this course if you're trying to work your way around beginning your journey in Python. I'm proficient in R.

I can't believe this but I've always loved Astrophysics. After 6 years of education and getting a Master's in Industrial Engineering, this course has reignited my love to study our Universe. I will be hungry for more and will be returning to school in the near or distant future for a degree in Astrophysics. Thank You, I love Physics and I really wish I didn't waste my time pursuing what I did pursue.

von Evangelos C

May 16, 2018

Excellent training program for people who wish to combine data analytics skills and astronomy! An entertaining 6-week period with really helpful tips and exercises that I will surely keep in mind in my future work! Thank you!

von Ahammed A

May 09, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

von Carlos M S

May 24, 2017

A great course you may study if you are interested in Astronomy and Python!

von Kris S

Jun 05, 2017

Course follows a very intuitive approach to impart modern astronomy knowledge with big data as a backdrop. Good coverage of materials, well-paced programming instructions, eloquently and excellent presentation of written notes.

von Afiq A H

Apr 22, 2019

Good stuff. Thanks Coursera.

von 唐怀金

Apr 23, 2019

very good

von Ananth S

Apr 24, 2019

Wonderful course and loved every bit of it. My only concern is that I would love to have some form of a certificate even though I can not afford to pay for the course.

von Richard O

Apr 01, 2019

Perfect to brush up my Python skills while studying a fascinating subject!

von Lyle D

May 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken. The instructors are fantastic! This course is like a 500 page novel that you cannot put down and now you are on the last 10 pages. I do not want this course to end!! It was such pleasure to go through the videos and problems!!

Sincere thanks to Professor Tara Murphy and Dr. Simon Murphy !! Good on ya mates!! Please have a follow-on course!!

von francisco

May 11, 2019

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

von p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

von Sara D

Apr 08, 2019

Fantastic! I learned a lot. The exercises were really interesting!

von Ondrej M

May 17, 2019

I have enjoyed fully the whole course which helped me to connect my professional skills in coding and data analytics with my hobby - astronomy. The lectures were clear, very well understandable, motivated me to make my own research and the Grok platform is very well suited for getting the "hands on" experience. I also appreciate links to external tools and data sources.

von Manoj J

May 30, 2019

This course is excellent for anyone who loves astronomy and is looking to working in the field .The concepts are conveyed effectively and the assignments are the most important aspects as they teach a lot more than the videos . Its was fun !!

von Ujjwal J

Jun 13, 2019

best course i ve taken in coursera

von Yasith R

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course..

von Jiqing H

Jun 12, 2019

great course!

von Rohit N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm loving it!