Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
473 Bewertungen
143 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

GM

Jun 30, 2017

Great course with a good balance of code and the rewards to be had from understanding how the code works - proved to be an excellent introduction to Astronomy and confidence builder in Python.

BF

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 140 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Soham S

Jul 17, 2018

A very good introductory course on the applications of machine learning in astronomy.

von Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

von Ross N

Aug 23, 2018

Really Good. Learnt quite a lot actually for a small course.

von Santiago M Z O

Sep 08, 2018

Just finished this wonderful course, it teaches (mostly in Python) the basics of how to apply certain techniques of data handling, processing, and analysis, in the realm of Astronomy, which has vast amounts of collected data and which I've loved all my life as a hobbyist! This knowledge is very useful and can be extended to many other scientific fields. The course has a great mix of theory and hands-on exercises (with a great supporting online coding platform), and encourages people to continue reading and experimenting on their own.

von Stavroula E

Sep 07, 2018

For anyone intrested in Astrostats & Astroinformatics, highly recommended!

von Sourabh D

Sep 25, 2018

Completed the course 2 days ago. It was an amazing experience of learning. I was overwhelmed by all practical examples and implementations. I would recommend this course to everyone in either astrophysics field.

von Gonzalo B

Aug 08, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

von ZHOU Z

Aug 23, 2018

A good intuition to using python to solve astronomy problems.

von hawzhin b

Aug 24, 2018

Very useful course ,

von Craig T

Aug 28, 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

von Adrian W

Sep 01, 2018

Loved the mix of theory and hands-on. Very well balanced. Great learning outcomes. Loved that it went as far as to include simple ML into the syllabus. This has made me want to get back into real computational physics again!

von Arnaud D

Aug 18, 2018

This is real astronomy ! A fantastic approach to current research subject. If you want to learn astronomy from the ground up, take an introductory course before this one. It starts directly to studying pulsars statistics, and most important, how to detect and study it. All the worshops are in Python, using a web notebook. But it's neither an introductory course on Python. So, it' better to have a minimum knowledge on programming and Python language. But, if you have the prequisites, and are interested to do computation for astronomy using large datasets, this is the course. The techniques can also been extended to other computational intensive domains.

von Erin D

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent. Teaching is thorough and concise, the quizzes and external coding problems are challenging enough but not overwhelming. A great course.

von francisco

May 11, 2019

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

von p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

von Lyle D

May 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken. The instructors are fantastic! This course is like a 500 page novel that you cannot put down and now you are on the last 10 pages. I do not want this course to end!! It was such pleasure to go through the videos and problems!!

Sincere thanks to Professor Tara Murphy and Dr. Simon Murphy !! Good on ya mates!! Please have a follow-on course!!

von Afiq A H

Apr 22, 2019

Good stuff. Thanks Coursera.

von Ujjwal J

Jun 13, 2019

best course i ve taken in coursera

von Pier-Francesco R

Jun 17, 2019

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

von Cecilia G

Jul 06, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

von notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

von Paulina

Jul 13, 2019

It is a really well done course, 100% recommended. Simple but with a lot of information to shared. exercises are really well build in order to anyone can understand the main objective (Astronomy and Machine Learning techniques).

von Ondrej M

May 17, 2019

I have enjoyed fully the whole course which helped me to connect my professional skills in coding and data analytics with my hobby - astronomy. The lectures were clear, very well understandable, motivated me to make my own research and the Grok platform is very well suited for getting the "hands on" experience. I also appreciate links to external tools and data sources.

von Yasith R

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course..

von Manoj J

May 30, 2019

This course is excellent for anyone who loves astronomy and is looking to working in the field .The concepts are conveyed effectively and the assignments are the most important aspects as they teach a lot more than the videos . Its was fun !!