Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
1,175 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK

10. Sep. 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

28. Feb. 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 345 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Timothy J N

16. Apr. 2020

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

von Dhruv P

2. Dez. 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

von Jeremy J

24. Juli 2020

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

von fouchereau r

15. Jan. 2020

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

von Aayush K

1. Juli 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

von Carlos N

19. Apr. 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

von Ted S

24. Mai 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

von Steve B

19. Juni 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

von Diogo S

3. Sep. 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

von Gonzalo B

7. Aug. 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

von Ahammed A

9. Mai 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

von Christopher N

7. Mai 2022

Great content and exercises. I learned more about modern astronomy and techniques for working with big data.

von Ka W P N

1. Feb. 2022

A high quality course. You could learn not only Astronomy, but also practical application of Python and SQL.

von Ishita -

26. März 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

von SHUBHAM K

20. Juli 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

von Martin R T

26. Okt. 2020

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

von Caden G

21. Nov. 2020

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.

von John O

11. Juli 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

von Omar R T C

25. Jan. 2022

Superb course. Learned a lot about astronomy, programming, algorithms, and the role of data in science.

von Daanish P

1. Mai 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

von Alexandra B

10. Dez. 2021

G​reat course! It covered a lot of relevant topics, but was still light, interesting, breezy and fun!

von Terence

15. Mai 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

von Daniel N H

19. Sep. 2020

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

von Cecilia G

5. Juli 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

von p v k

12. Mai 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.